We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, cool stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Gloucester
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Gloucester
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very comfortable and clean room and bed. Room air conditioned which was excellent. Hotel centrally situated for town and restaurants. Great value for money and idea for an overnight stay en-route to our holiday further south.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 675 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 3 days here and have had the best nights sleep than in any other hotel! Air con fab, bed so comfy, clean room, and the staff superbly friendly! Close to shopping centre and the Quay. Thank you, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The first problem we encountered was the car park situation. Clients are directed to the multi-story car park adjacent to the shopping mall. On leaving the car park, we followed the signs to the hotel until we got to the lift. After leaving the lift (in the shopping mall), there were no further signs to the hotel. This could and should be easily addressed by Travelodge.

After arriving a little early, we asked if it would be possible to leave the cases in our room. Unfortunately, we were politely told by a female receptionist that check-in was only from 15:00 and if we wanted to leave the cases a surcharge would have to be applied.

We returned (for a third time) to the hotel reception in order to check-in shortly after 15:00. We checked in and made our way to the room. It was at this point we discovered that the air-con wasn't working (and this on one of the hottest days of the year). Since there was no phone in the room, I returned to the reception to ask what the problem was and ONLY THEN (AFTER CHECKING IN) i was informed that it wasn't working. That actually would of put me off staying the night and I’d of looked for alternative accommodation. I asked why it was working in reception but not in the rooms and was told that it was a separate system. As a building services engineer, I have my doubts about that statement. Anyway, i asked why wasn't it made clear at the time of check-in that the air-con wasn't working. The answer, from a male receptionist was a very feeble 'Sorry'.

The rooms were supplied with fans to help with the situation but it was still very warm. Also, leaving the windows open wasn't an option due to the traffic noise.

Everything else about the stay was ok. The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean etc., and the first receptionist was very helpful with a problem we had with a lost car park ticket so I’d like to thank her.

Room Tip: Ask if the air-con is working. Get clear car-parking instructions/directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Gloucester travelodge has given us a different veiw of what Travelodge is.
it was clean, it had lifts. AND THE AIRCON WORKED.
At the check in we were told the aircon was not working.
On entering our room I turned it to ON and it worked fine.
there were two very good pillows per person and the bed was very comfy.
having read reports that it was over 200 yards from the car park, I can only assume that exit A was not used. This is the one at the front of the Quays and a very easy trundle to the TL.
spoke to several guest, who said they had trouble finding the car park and had to walk a long way with thier bags .
The car park is in Baker street BUT YOU MUST USE EXIT 'A'

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partintring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

In hot weather you need the air conditioning to work otherwise you will be awakened very early by the noise of the seagulls and traffic as without the window being opened you cant sleep with the heat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed as a family at this Travelodge last weekend during the heatwave. The aircon didnt work and the small fan given was totally useless. The room overlooked the back of the main shopping outlet carpark, which was a trek with bags to the hotel, cheap though £2 for 6PM TO 9AM parking. The room was only made up for one, so we had to ask for extra linen and towels. No washing amenities, ie shampoo. The linen we were given for the sofa bed was soiled. We went to make up the sofa bed and found the mattress to be very soiled so we did not use and had to use the top of the sofa bed which was very uncomfortable. Staff friendly, but would not recommend and wouldnt stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were visiting family in the area and would normally have stayed in the Holiday Inn however this was fully booked so we "took a chance" on the Travelodge. The hotel is right by Gloucester Quays and parking is in the car park that serves the Quays. If you take your parking ticket to reception they will give you a replacement ticket which will cost £6 for your stay.

Check in was quick and efficient and the staff were very helpful.

The room itself was compact but had a very comfortable king size bed, flat screen tv, air conditioning, crisp clean bedding, bathroom with shower and was very clean and well maintained. There are no toiletries supplied but the hotel website is very clear on this.

There is a cafe bar which serves evening meals and breakfast and was reasonably priced.

Check in is at 3pm and check out at 12 noon so no need to rush in the morning.

We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone else. However please do not expect "the Ritz". You will get very clean accommodation with a comfortable bed, TV and decent shower with the option of buying breakfast if you want.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddlestoneTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#4 of 21 in Gloucester
1,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Longford) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#19 of 21 in Gloucester
390 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel
1 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#10 of 21 in Gloucester
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Gloucester

Address: Gloucester Quays | St Ann Way, Gloucester GL1 5SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gloucester
Price Range: $60 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Gloucester 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Gloucester Hotel Gloucester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing