We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas celebration meal and party”
Review of Cafe Rene

Cafe Rene
Ranked #20 of 327 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Come & experience some of Gloucester's Historic Surroundings. Relax in our friendly atmosphere inside and out, with candlelit dining & Chef's Daily Specials. Whether you would like to eat, drink or just have a cup of fresh coffee, Cafe Rene is the place to be! Recommended by The Rough Guide to England Freshly prepared quality food 12.00pm to 9.30pm daily. We do not serve fast food, we serve good food as fast as we can!
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Christmas celebration meal and party”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great venue for a business meal, Christmas meal & party, or just a drink. Also good for a meal anytime of the year, with nice outside seating for,the summer time. Great service and a great selection of drinks......

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    183
    49
    26
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good pub really poor food service”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I really like cafe Rene as a pub but the last couple of times I've eaten there the food service has been a bit ropey.

Today was truly atrocious waited nearly an hour for a potato and a sandwich then the potato was stone cold. The table behind me sent their food back because it was done to death and for about 15 minutes there was nobody eating in the restaurant because there was no food coming out of the kitchen.

Pub food should be hot food on hot plates served in a reasonable amount of time, any commercial kitchen should be able to this fairly easily it wasn't that busy.

The manager was apologetic but service that poor needs a real shake up in the kitchen. Its a real shame because the beer it great and it has a good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joss1085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really interesting looking..good for a night out.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We didn't eat here but the service was pretty fast and everyone seemed really polite.I really liked how unusual the pub looked.The walls are lined with old bottles and there is a well inside,I've never seen anything like it! It has a lovely traditional pub feel and lots of different things on offer,both alcoholic and non-alcoholic.There was live music on the night we went which was good and seemed to pull in a lot of people.The food did look really good though,we'll definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was not a mis-steak”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

What a stunning place. Lovely retro feel with wine bottles on every wall and all over the ceiling. Chicken Goujons were amazing starter, great portion size. I then had the most amazing Rib eye steak I've ever had, Cooked medium with the Stilton sauce, I just didn't want it to end! There was only one girl serving in there but she handled everything very well, only took half an hour to go from seating to eating main course. 16oz rib eye steak was £16.65. No complaints about anything except the 12 year old who was the girls boss who came to explain to us that she was knew and he wanted to know how she was doing. To be fair, she looked like she's been there ages and he looked new! He said much appreciated a lot. Other than him and although he was a trifle annoying he was nice about it the whole experience was wonderful, will go back everytime

Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very friendly service, super coffees (costing less than the big names) and very good food and drinks. Very relaxing ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sovmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rene also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Cafe Rene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing