We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wharf House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wharf House
Ranked #2 of 23 Gloucester B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I was taken here as a Birthday treat by my partner for an intimate evening & champagne dinner. The ambience and the food were excellent and the Staff were friendly. A very enjoyable evening was had. The only thing for us was finding it as its not well signposted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
103
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My son gave me a voucher for the tasting menu as part of our xmas pressie, pleasant atmosphere, very polite staff and lovely spot on the river bank. Now for the food. As stated it was a 6 course taster menu, untill the food was put infont of you, you had no idea what
you were going to be served, not good for people with allergies, portions were tiny, even by taster menu standards, food was well presented, but as you have no idea of what you are getting you cannot request meat cooked to your taste, eg steak. We were not once asked if we were ok, the only conversation the waiter was intrested in related to the canel. I felt the drinks and wine were expensive, bearing in mind our food was paid for our bill was £36 that was for 2 pints of lager a glass of wine and 2 coffees, a service charge of 10% is added to bill, so be aware. not worth the money £60 a head thats £10 a course for tiny portions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrsbake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have stayed several times at the Wharf House. Built by the Over basin, where the Herefordshire and Gloucestershire Canal will meet the Severn once the canal is fully restored, all profits from the Wharf House go towards the Canal Trust. The Canal Trust’s task to restore the 34 miles of canal to Hereford is a daunting one, given that some of the original route has been built on and detours must be found and the land acquired.

Set high above the bank of the River Severn, the Wharf House is quiet and cosy, with warm hospitality and staff who are attentive to detail. Dinner or lunch is an interesting experience with a wide variety of unusual combinations of flavours. The young staff are efficient and pleasant and the décor unfussy but elegant. The wine list is good. Children are welcome especially in the early evening.

Bedrooms are full of thoughtful extras, bathrooms spacious and well appointed. The Breakfast menu offers plenty of variety and is well-presented.

Room Tip: The rooms with the best view are overlooking the River Severn. Dymock, Maisemore and Llanthony are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited Wharf House for dinner having heard nothing about it, the food was delicious and the service impeccable. The waiter (James) was very polite and well mannered and the food was perfectly presented. I would highly recommend the Herefordshire Venison! Thank you for a lovely evening, we will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmt90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

The food was well cooked and presented and the layout and ambience fine, but for a reasonably high cost restaurant you only get the bits you pay for. No bread roll at start, no mints or chocolates when you leave and nothing in between. With no frills and small portions we left after two courses having spent £60 and went directly to a fast food restaurant to fill up. This place could be so good with a little more effort but as it is, this was our first and last visit..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just got back from an overnight stay at this hotel. Room was everything you could hope for - even homemade biscuits in the room. The evening meal was fabulous. We really enjoyed every course and were very full by the end of the meal. Very attentive service and staff were pleasant. Breakfast was lovely too. Highly recommended and we would not hesitate to go back

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms would be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Room was lovely, food excellent, staff friendly except woman who checked us out. She was very abrupt which was an unfortunate end to a good stay. We went on a voucher for taster meal and service charge was 10% of original meal price (before voucher discount) which was a bit of a shock at the end as we hadn't realised this.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSmith16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
1.0 mi away
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
The New Inn-Relaxinnz
#13 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharf House

Property: The Wharf House
Address: Over, Gloucester GL2 8DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharf House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA Red Rosette 4 Gold Star Restaurant with Rooms serving quality freshley prepared produce. 7 lovely ensuite rooms of real character with views of the Canal or River inclucing one ground floor room with independant access which is suitable for dogs and is fully accessable. We would strongly request and advise advance Reservations for the Restaurant. Signature dishes such as Venison rolled in Walnut with a sauce of red currants with a hint of Dark Chocolate and vegeterian and fish dishes that show imagination feature.Please note that we do not have a childrens menu but welcome young diners who will not disturb our other guests and wish to experience the normal a la carte menu. Our menus are designed as three courses, with side dishes available for those who wish, but the option to choose less courses if you wish less. We also offer both an Original and Vegeterian 7 course Tasting Menu. We would recomend bookings at least 48 hours in advance as some dates can be booked weeks in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Wharf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing