We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food & Service every time”
Review of Baburchi Cuisine

Baburchi Cuisine
Ranked #56 of 322 Restaurants in Gloucester
Price range: $1 - $155
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Pakistani, Nepali, Sri Lankan, Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We established in 1988 and has developed into one of Gloucestershire's most famous Indian restaurant, winner of the best indian cousine awards on Central TV, BBC radio and various news articles. we specialised in authentic indian cousine, traditional bulti dishes and our signature dishes.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service every time”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We've been regular customers of Baburchi for many years and in all that time have always received a wonderful welcome, excellent service and fabulous food. We regularly eat in and order take away and the food is consistently of a high standard.

One of our favourite restaurants in Gloucestershire and well recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Franko25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    30
    14
    13
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A very good Indian”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

There are many Indians in the area but this cuts the mustard. There is a need for a little attention to detail with the order but the food was good as well as the conversation with the staff. Recommend the tandoori mixed grill. The chicken is top.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sdw1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Midweek meal for two.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Highly enjoyable evening, with lovely food, friendly staff, good service and a delicious menu. Nice atmosphere, Midweek booking so not too busy, but not empty either. Definitely going back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flamingmoesbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding food if you have the time to wait”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Unfortunately I have to echo the views of the other reviewers here. The food is amazing and the portions are huge but the service is poor. The staff aren't unfriendly, but are very serious. We went there on New Year's Eve and were seated behind a screen which separated our table from the area behind the bar. Bottles were constantly thrown into a corner which was very noisy and sometimes made the screen shake. Our starters arrived fairly quickly, but once these were cleared, it was a very long HOUR before our main courses arrived. Another table left as they had waited so long, but as one member of our group hadn't had a starter and was very hungry, we decided to stay. All of the main courses were delicious, I think it could be the nicest Indian food I've had, but I won't be returning for a while due to the slow service, which judging fron the reviews on here is the norm.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolh656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Curry in Gloucester”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Baburchi is always a first choice when the curry craving strikes! The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food is amazing (good ingredients, freshly cooked), we love the chefs specials and the peshwari naan bread stands out (filled with a mango/coconut butter yum!). Starters are lovely, recommend coming with a group so you can try a bigger selection. The main dish portion sizes are good, we can never manage three courses, so ask for a `doggy bag`, which they are always happy to provide. The deserts are standard indian restaurant fayre (Kulfi and ice creams), nothing special. It is nice to see that they are busy, even mid week, a good sign. Only down side is it is on the wrong side of Gloucester, but worth the trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank engels-heler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baburchi Cuisine also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Baburchi Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing