We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two day break”
Review of The Wellington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wellington Inn
Ranked #31 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Two day break”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Handsome pub in lovely location with great views over the Dales. Room was fine, if a little tired and the bed was rather hard for me. Food can be taken in the bar or the restaurant. Menu and daily specials offered and the Sea Trout that I had was tasty and well presented without being overly messed about with. Bar had good range of local real ale which was well kept and reasonably priced. We enjoyed our stay and will visit again if in the area.

Room Tip: One has its own balcony so if the weather allows you can sit out and take in the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agatraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    95
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
55
137
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed 1 night. Son sailing at Yorkshire Dales.
Nice, light, pleasant rooms though a little cramped. Nothing was too much trouble. Our door got jammed, but was quickly fixed; we left some gear behind, and collected it later from someone who knew all about it. The little things done well.
The food was excellent, but we had a very long wait. They should expect they're guest to eat there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadSupportingSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just had an excellent meal at the Wellington and have already booked to go back tomorrow night. Great service and extensive menu. Everything piping hot, well presented and of excellent quality. We are on holiday in the area and can't recommend highly enough. Good honest establishment and not at all pretentious. I normally grudge £5.50 for a desert but the double chocolate brownie, served with fresh berries was to die for.

Room Tip: Did not stay at the Wellington, only ate there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went here on a whim on a Friday evening. There were four of us, we were seen quickly by the attentive waitress and we were seated in the conservatory. The sun was just setting and the views in the conservatory were marvellous. Our drink orders were taken quickly and we ordered some garlic bread and bread and oils to share. This was nice but the garlic bread was obviously out of a packet and had been in the oven, a little disappointing. Our mains took a little longer to arrive but not exceptionally long and when they arrived they were very tasty and well presented. I had the steak pie, which was a tiny but under-seasoned but had a very generous amount of lovely steak. My fellow diners were also very impressed with their meals. My only complaints about the evening would be that the specials were more widely advertised and there could have been a better selection of bread with the bread and oils. However, overall would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soozwhits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have just been for a meal this afternoon with my family. We were all very happy with the food, very tasty and well presented. I had the goats cheese filo pastry with salad, which was delicious and plentiful. My mum said that the Haddock and Chips were some of the best she's ever tried. My father had steak and ale pie (a classic) that was tasty and full of meat chucks. And my husband had the local steak which was tasty and cooked to perfection. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, they don't try to up sell or hurry you out the place. The atmosphere is great, cosy but not cramped in, with lovely views and nice decor. If there was only one thing one thing I could criticise is that there is a door which leads to the toilets, and every time one of the regular customers used it I caught a waft of the urinal cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyDiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenage
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days as part of an old car rally. The rooms were clean and comfortable and fans were provided during the very hot weather. The breakfast were magnificent and large enough to set you up for the day! Evening meals were of a high quality using locally sourced meat and vegetables with a good selection of wines. The staff were efficient and pleasant , and the atmosphere was friendly. The inn is also the local pub so is always busy.. Have already booked in for 2years time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Regular user as it is my local. Restaurant quality varies. Value for money options for bar meals much reduced and now poor. Kitchen quality varies - steaks generally cooked not hot enough, so rare and medium rare steaks come out consistently under browned. Service dips alarmingly when busy. Always friendly. But could do better.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank toecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
7.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
6.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
4.0 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#54 of 99 in Harrogate
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#22 of 99 in Harrogate
108 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#7 of 99 in Harrogate
536 reviews
7.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#10 of 99 in Harrogate
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Inn

Property: The Wellington Inn
Address: Darley, Harrogate HG3 2QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Wellington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Hotel Harrogate
The Wellington Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing