We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, shame about the table.”
Review of William & Victoria

William & Victoria
Ranked #15 of 383 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An independent family run restaurant and wine bar serving traditional British food in the heart of Harrogate. William & Victoria has developed a reputation for great food served in a relaxed and unfussy style. Hearty Yorkshire portions of locally sourced meat and fish served in a cosy wine bar/bistro that oozes character and personality with a buzz created by it's popularity with locals that you will find any day of the week. The wine bar is open all afternoon serving a variety of drinks along with bar tapas. Owner and front of house, David Straker, is at the 'helm' most evenings and on hand to recommend wines from an extensive and well balanced wine list. More spacious dining areas with seating for 50 people, along with another well stocked bar, is situated upstairs along with a private dining room ideal for business entertaining and private parties. William & Victoria host a variety of regular wine tasting dinners. William & Victoria has recently gone through an extensive sympathetic refurbishment.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been here many times & always book. Today we were shown to a small table in a dark corner. The food was very nice but this paricular table was so cramped & so dark it was difficult to see what I was eating,( I had pork which had some bones in). When the waitress cleared the main course I said I would have enjoyed my food more if I could have seen what I was eating better. At this point they could have moved us to another table. It wouldn't have cost them anything & we would have been much happier,but they didn't. So after desert I left, nice day out spoilt, a very un happy customer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Straker, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We are very upset by your review, especially since when you arrived for lunch in the wine bar you were shown to a good sized table for two, which you chose NOT to take. You then chose to sit on a much smaller table in the main dining room of the wine bar which was the only spare table available (the rest were taken by other diners). You must appreciate and be aware, since you have been before, that we are a wine bar, almost below ground level with low ceiling and therefore little natural light which tends to be dimmer in character with a cellar wine bar.

It was not until your main courses were cleared that you mentioned you were unhappy with the lighting and size of table. If you had mentioned this after your starters, we may have been able to move you to another table that had become available. As way of apology for your discomfort in sitting at the smaller table (which you chose) we gave you free desserts and a liqueur coffee, so I am amazed by your comments on how we handled this! We did offer to move you to a different table for your coffee, once we were aware how much of an issue the table was, but you declined saying you had some shopping to do in town, leaving your husband to drink his coffee. You said you had really enjoyed the food on all the occasions you have been and so we are very disappointed that you have rated us so low on Trip Advisor, which can ultimately be detrimental to our business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

798 - 802 of 973 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Having lived in Harrogate for 7 years and not visited, we thought we should make the effort to visit the place everyone seems to rave about. Perhaps it was all the hype, but we were underwhelmed.

The food was fine, but just fine, not outstanding as we were expecting. The menu wasn’t as adventurous as we had hoped, and the item that did look to be pushing the bar a bit (a pheasant dish) had been taken off the menu as it wasn’t popular enough.

The wine selection is good.

The service was a bit of a letdown. Although we don’t like to be pestered, we felt a bit neglected. Finished plates were on our table for a long time, and we struggled to make eye contact with staff in order to get the bill. We didn’t really want to have to shout across the restaurant to get service.

The environment (we were upstairs) is lovely, pleasant and cosy with a good standard of decoration. You will get a nice meal here and no doubt have a good evening, but don’t expect too much or you will be let down.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Becky_and_Darryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Straker, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

It's nice to hear that you have heard good things about us as we rely heavily on word of mouth and repeat custom. I am just sorry that we have not lived up to your expectations. It sounds like you did not receive the service we pride ourselves on and I apologise for this.

The pheasant dish was unavailable because our supply has stopped due to the shooting season coming to an end and we plan to remove the dish from our printed menus shortly. I hope you will try us again in the future and hopefully enjoy the experience as much as those you have heard rave about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Read the reviews and booked here last Tuesday. Arrived a few minutes early and weren't surprised that our table wasn't ready but the was nowhere to wait comforably, the bar was crowded by a noisy mellee of diners, there are not seats anyway,and we were left standing in the foyer, they did not even offer to take our coats. We were shown to our table and noticed the shabby placemats as we were presented with the menu. Shortly we noticed that the table cloth was damp and wet to the touch, they reset the table but we could not leave it while they did.
Starters were OK and boded well but the Mains!!!! When my wife ordered her pan fried liver she asked if it was to be simply flashed and we were assured that it would be, they asked if I was OK with the venison pink. Shortly after starting to the venison I had to ask for a steak knife and even with that I could make little impression it was so tough and stringy, I could not identify it as any kind of standard cut! It was supposed to come with roast winter veg, I got some carrots and boiled potatoes that had been stuck in the oven for a bit and my dauphinoise side was cooked to mush and had a tough cheddar crust.
The liver was cooked through and tough as old boots. We both gave up.
We told the waiter but his response was not adequate, although he later did concede the veni was tough and took that off the bill.
Throughout the mob in the bar got noisier and noisier, I know that W&A cannot be held responsible for the bad behaviour of the louts but they could have put them through to their tables set in the other room, cleared the bar for others and quietened our dining room.

Not an experience I want to repeat, and I will be wary of Tripadvisor reviews in future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Albanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Straker, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

I am sorry you have not had a good experience of our restaurant. It was unfortunate for you that a large 'walk in' party of conference goers had arrived just before you and their jovial behaviour marred your evening.

I agree some of the table mats have seen better days and we are in the process of updating these.

I am very sorry that your venison (haunch cut) was tough on this occasion and the vegetables were not up to scratch, although I would argue the lamb's liver was cooked lightly and served pink but apologise if this was not to your satisfaction.

At least you enjoyed your starters, which I believe were the fish cakes and chicken livers in a pink peppercorn sauce and I would like to point out to anyone reading this, that we had another 50 or so diners in the restaurant that evening who all seemed to enjoy their dining experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Love the place. A fave for my partner and I, every course is delicious and always spoilt for choice, extensive menu using local produce. The Oysters are a must have!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went as a special treat (kids free) for my birthday. Was told it was a popular place so rang and managed to get a 9pm slot. From the moment we entered it was beautiful Oppulent wallpaper and furnishings in mainly red and gold. Candles everywhere. Such a romantic place (and Im not a romantic normally!). I had the crispy duck and pine nut salad to start with, hubby had the devilled kidneys. Both dishes were absolutely out of this world!!! I then had sea bass fillets with citrus cous cous and a tomato salsa, hubby had salmon ene croute, with a side order of sauteed savoy cabbage and new potatoes. All cooked to perfection. I asked for a mojito cocktail as it was something I had wanted all evening, and even though they dont normally do cocktails they went out of their way and made me feel extra special and made me one. To be honest we were full after 2 courses so didnt have dessert. Will absolutely come again if we ever get the chance to stay for the night in Harrogate again. Thank you to all staff at William and Victoria :) xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank treacleownsthistown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Straker, Owner at William & Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your 'kid free' evening with us and we were able to make your mojito cocktail! We will always try to accomodate special requests, even if it does mean we need to look it up in our cocktail book!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William & Victoria also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to William & Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing