We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Thai Elephant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Elephant
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Had a lovely meal,working away from home, will defantly return, next time with my family, and would recommend to anyone

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks,
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food, but slightly run down”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

First time in this restaurant but as a lover of real Thai food, it will not be my last. The atmosphere and ambiance is nothing like as trendy as the big chains around, but the food is great and authentic. The whole evening was superb value especially if you have a 'taste card' as you can use it here. Forget the decorations and enjoy the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuluNorthYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, tasty food.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a lovely meal with very good sized portions. The house wine was very good and reasonably priced. Would certainly go back. The food was freshly prepared to order and very tasty. Lovely staff too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Usual excellent standard”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I don't eat out that often and when I do the Thai Elephant is one of my favourite places. It may not look much from outside but the food it wonderful and the service always excellent. The meals are freshly cooked and very high quality. There are other Thai restaurants in Harrogate but the Thai Elephant is the original and it has remained because of its good reputation. In this case don't be swayed by the flashy looks of its neighbour the Thai Elephant is the place to go for an excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not as good as our first visit.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We decided to give this restaurant another go after a good experience last year. Service was very good and prices reasonable, but the Weeping Tiger we ordered was inedible. I've never had such a tough, chewy piece of steak in my life! We sent this back, and they were very good about it. Luckily we had ordered starters, another entree and a side of noodles, so we didn't go away hungry. Pad Thai was great, but the rest was not as tasty as the first time we ate there-was just "ok". Probably will not visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snupy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Elephant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing