We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of Thai Elephant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Elephant
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I visited the Thia Elephant Restaurant on Saturday evening 13th April 2013. This was our first visit. On entering the restaurant we were made welcome by friendly staff. The menu was easy to understand and explained. The food was delivered shortly after our order hot and delicious. The place was almost full and yet the atmosphere was serene and yet vibrant. The prices for this delicious meal with a bottle of wine in a lovely atmosphere was very reasonable. We loved it and will visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank johnandchrissiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
“Basic menu, average food but OK for the Groupon deal”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not the best looking place both inside and out, and being next to Sukothai with its elegant facade and more extensive menu doesn't help much. With our Groupon voucher we chose a glass of house rose (rather dry) each, a starter (greasy and deep fried) and a main course (surprisingly nice, but not the best we've had) plus a size of yummy chilli prawn crackers and two coconut rice for which we paid extra. With the Groupon voucher and extras added the meal came to just under £25 for two of us which I can't argue with-you get what you pay for after all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Terrible"”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went with a Groupon and felt that we got a poorer meal because of it. The place is very tatty
and grubby. The food was heat cold and the duck stir fry was mainly green beans and mostly
skin and gristle, just disgusting and I could go on ! The staff seemed to be in a muddle all
evening and the man behind the bar with the pony tail was a waste of space and seemed to
get in the way. All in all never again and would not recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 936SusanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Room for improvement.”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the food, basic/small starters, but tasty/small main courses although no better than other nearby Thai restaurants.
Good quick service.
Restaurant lacking in charm definitely looks in need of an update.
Good value with Groupon, but a bit pricey without.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ianandelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

As the previous reviewer stated, the photo is definitely not the Thai in Harrogate BUT that doesn't matter because it's what's inside that counts. What's inside is food of the highest quality and very friendly and helpful staff. It's not brand sparkling new like the large Thai next door but it is very clean and tastefully decorated. We used a voucher this time but we will definitely go back, next time we visit, and pay the full price because it's worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smithyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Elephant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing