We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

The Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel
Reserve with OpenTable
The Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 441 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $44
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Harrogate
Description: The eponymous Orchid Restaurant, Harrogate at it's inception was one of the first pan Asian restaurants in the UK and is now well established in the North Yorkshire region and beyond.The menu at Orchid Restaurant draws heavily on the influences of true oriental flavours in a modern style. Created by Bokmun Chan, this special setting has been recaptured not only through the menu, but also it's mango and dark wood interiors, separated by Japanese lattice style screens. The brigade is managed under the watch of Kenneth Poon, former Michelin Head Chef of the Dorchester Hotel.The Orchid opened in Harrogate in May, 2001 and has since won many awards and accolades for it's cuisine, presently holding 2 rosettes.The Orchid has become synonymous with excellent quaity pan-Asian cuisine and professional service for many years. Why wait, come and enjoy the experience...
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

First rate cooking packed with flavour, portion sizes on the generous side ,slick service ,it's quite expensive but worth every penny, I will certainly make this a regular ,one small item if the management read the reviews ,please sort your fridges out the beer was not near cold enough, only gripe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    885
    205
    57
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good choice of Asian dishes, freshly prepared, beautifully presented & full of flavours. This was our first visit & we enjoyed every minute of our time there. The staff were excellent, informative & attentive. We will definitely eat here again when next in Harrogate and we now know that a small ordered dish can be more than sufficient for two persons.
Tip: this is a very popular restaurant so book early.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Whilst staying at the Studley Hotel,our friends and ourselves decided to eat in this restaurant, but were told it was fully booked, we later heard you have to book well in advance as it is one of the best in Harrogate. They later phoned us to say as it was a special occasion they could fit us in but we had to vacate the table by a certain hour. It was one of the finest meals we have eaten!! The food was delicious and beautifully presented and the staff were very efficient. The restaurant had a wonderful atmosphere and we would certainly recommend it and hope to return in the near future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexEunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Orchid restaurant is simply the best Thai we have ever eaten! The food is amazing! Excellent service all round from staff. Reasonable prices and great ambience. Advance booking needed, you will not be disappointed .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We visit the orchid on a regular basis as I believe it's the best restaurant in harrogate, superb selection of food & very good service. Not too expensive (although the upstairs bar can be quite pricey) keep up the good work & we will keep returning!

Helpful?
Thank yorkshirebuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing