We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamb and Flag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamb and Flag
Ranked #77 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were staying in the campsite out the back, so cannot comment on the accommodation. However, we had an evening meal which was fabulous! And very cheap. Would def go back to the Lamb and Flag.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbird10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
8
37
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I booked a room here for my friend and I as we were going to a wedding nearby. I assumed it would be 'cheap and cheerful' however we were pleasantly suprised. The pub itself is quite traditional and we ate a great value lunch here prior to checking in to our room.

The rooms are in a seperate block out the back and were very well equipped, beautifully decorated and more than spacious with a modern and clean bathroom.

Carol was very helpful and went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed.

The bed was very comfy and I had a great night's sleep with the exception of being woken early by the couple in the room next door, who were clearly having a good time!

All in all a great stay in a beautiful village setting and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The room next to ours had a private terrace which looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

We didnt stay here but in the cottages next door.
We didnt eat here we ate at the Masons Arms (very good).

We did drink here though a couple of nights.
Yep the Landlord is a grumpy git but in the natural style of an English landlord. His Mrs was much more polite and helpful.

It does get hot in this pub especially when they are serving food, nice seating area out front.
He kept a good pint but his prices for some of his shorts were a little steep.

Worth a visit just for the Landlord experience.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fourtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Visited this pub to have a drink and a meal, sign on door no dogs and children only allowed in if having a meal - should have taken this as a sign. The landlord is not pleasant at all!! most unhelpful person I have ever met, snotty attitude. Needless to say, we didn't get past the first drink stage. Other pub in village much more friendly with super food, don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Farmersdaughter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay here, after reading the reviews on here we were expecting somewhere nice, and we were not left disappointed. On arrival our room was not quite ready so we had a drink and sat out the front of the pub as it was a lovely sunny day, it was a very relaxing atmosphere, and the village itself was very quiet and peaceful. I little stream runs just in front of the pub which is very pretty, and there is a shop within a minutes walk. When are room was ready we were shown to a seperate annex building which was nice as it meant we were not in the pub itself. we were stopping in the 'Fountains' room, which could be 2 twin beds or a king size bed, there was plenty of space and you also get a private outside terrace, which was lovely to sit on when it was sunny and for breakfast. The room is very spacious and has everything you should need. We were told that breakfast was continental and in our fridge ready for the morning, this was a lovely idea as it meant we didnt have to rush about if we didnt too. The breakfast was cereals, bread, cheese ham/salmon yoghurts choc au pain, fruit, coffee tea etc, so plenty to get you going. and this was restocked daily ready for the next day. The pub itself was very traditional and all the locals very friendly, we entered the meat raffle on friday night and won a huge piece of pork lol!! We ate there on friday night and it was lovely and good prices too. The owners were very friendly and always happy to have a chat with you. It is about a 15 minute drive to Harrogate. I would say this is more for couples rather than families as children are not allowed in the bar area. There is another pub in the village which is about a 5 minutes walk which was very busy on the friday night and they had a local band playing. Overall I would recommend this B & B and we would return again.

Room Tip: Fountain's room has private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Our French neighbours were visiting England and asked us to recommend reasonable accommodation in Yorkshire. Without hesitation we suggested the Lamb & Flag and the
delights of Ripon On their return they informed us that it was by far the best place they
and had stayed in and everything especially the food was perfect. I had read the negative comments above before recommending the Lamb & Flag and suspect menopausal problems.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank francotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Just returned from a one night stay and wished it was longer. Situated in a beautiful village, people all very friendly. The Lamb and Flag is relaxing friendly and the rooms are very clean and have everything you require, The breakfast was in the fridge and was excellent nice to have it at your leisure. Would go again and also recommend it without any hesitation. The meal in the pub at night was brilliant and you had a good choice of menu and the hosts could not be faulted, very friendly and made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodgebray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
8.0 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn
#12 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#54 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#29 of 104 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#13 of 17 in Knaresborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamb and Flag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamb and Flag

Property: Lamb and Flag
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Bishop Monkton, Harrogate HG3 3QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Lamb and Flag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamb And Flag Hotel Harrogate
Lamb And Flag Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing