We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harrogate's Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belmont Guest House
Ranked #66 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Belmont Guest House reminds me of home. Its warm, comfortable, and friendly. Jo and Mike are excellent hosts, and the breakfast is fabulous. I stayed three nights. It's an old English home that's been a guest house forever probably. I like this accommodation. There are eight or so rooms. I stayed in room 6 on the top floor and it was very quiet. I'm tall so the toilet and shower were compact, however there are lovely toiletries and the towels and sheets were crisp and clean. Overall, I would happily return because I like people, being "at home", and Mike and Jo are as friendly as they come. Thanks for the enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Ask Mike or Jo if you have specific requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TonyEveritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHarrogate, Owner at Belmont Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Many thanks for taking time to review us Tony. A pleasure to meet you and I hope the business generated form the stay made the trip to Harrogate worthwhile. Apologies for thinking you were an Aussie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 140 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Belmont Guest House is within walking distance of the convention centre and main street, and they have room for a few guest cars in their parking lot. Do walk from here to the town, parking is impossible and so the Belmont should be high on your preference list if you have a car with you. Room good enough, a bit old in style but everything worked, well almost. The shower door was wonky and I wanted to fix it but overall the room was warm, unlike the evenings that were bitterly cold. Like many guesthouses the hallway is cramped, and if you have a lot of luggage it’s a struggle to get it up to the room. Jo & Mike Ganley work hard to make your stay comfortable and they serve a quality breakfast in the morning. Guesthouses are a mixture of compromises and definitely not all the same but as with all the others on our visit the owners were super and their breakfast terrific.
Thornloe Oban, Lairg Edinburgh, Belmont Harrogate, The Old Post Office Swindon, Ibis London City. Use Booking.com as a guide and only book through them if you must.

Room Tip: All well appointed and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudioGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Belmont for the Easter weekend. We have stayed here several times, and love it. Our Room was on the First Floor at the front of the House, it was Comfortable and Clean, En Suite, Tea and Coffee facilities and Television. Breakfast was Delicious, my Husband had the Full English and I had a Bacon Sandwich, Cereal, Fruit Juice and Toast. Breakfast room is Spacious and Airy. Selections of Cereals, Fruit and Fruit juices. Private Car Park at rear. The Belmont is only 5 to 10 mins walk into the Centre of Harrogate where you will find many Restaurants and Pubs. The Park The Valley gardens in Harrogate is must to see all the beautiful flowers and the Walk up to Harlow Carr is not far to walk. Mike and Jo are lovely and friendly the perfect Hosts informing us and other guests places to visit. Thank you for a lovely Weekend. See you next time.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank alisonnurserynurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Great welcoming service. Single room very comfortable and clean with ensuite. Walking distance to center and very reasonable. The owners were very helpful and lovely breakfast. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luisa123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lovely place to stay! Proprietors, Mike and Jo, ensured our party of five adults were well fed and catered for. Easy walking distance to the town centre. Would highly recommend.

PS Although the car park is small, there is ample on-street parking, which is free with a disc. Just ask.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've stayed in loads of B & Bs around the country and this is one of the best. I've stayed here twice now and will definitely be back! There is ample parking either at the back of the guesthouse or on the road in front, which is a bonus in Harrogate! Mike and Jo are really helpful and knowledgeable about things to see and do in Harrogate. The rooms are spacious and well decorated and, obviously very clean. The breakfast is freshly home cooked and more than enough to set you up for the day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrassedmum04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Friendly staff.Great room.Excellant breakfast, but could have been better if some music had been playing in the background.Room was well equipped. Your only 5 minutes walk from bars and restaurants.Only stayed one night, but it was an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
1,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexa House
Alexa House
#56 of 98 in Harrogate
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#6 of 98 in Harrogate
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fountains Guesthouse
The Fountains Guesthouse
#11 of 98 in Harrogate
321 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Guest House

Address: 86 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $75 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Belmont Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belmont is a charming Victorian house, only five minute's walk into Harrogate's floral town centre, where you will find the best Antiques shops, pavement cafes, clothes and shoes to delight the fashionista, restaurants and bars to delight the gourmet. The Belmont has a private car park, so no worries. We have warmth and comfort and super breakfasts and we love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your Belmont Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing