We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed it”
Review of Bed Restaurant - CLOSED

Bed Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BED... Run and owned by a bike nut... Loves talking bikes and all things bike related and is as giddy as a kipper at the impending arrival of the 2014 Tour de France...Cant wait to meet you all :-) BED - which stands for Burnsey Eat Drink - is a superb and super-friendly restaurant on the Kings Road in Harrogate. Spread over three floors in a beautiful Georgian manor, BED has a bar on the ground floor and two separate dining rooms decorated in kooky colours. The cosy, unpretentious vibe and quirky sense of humour woven into the d��cor and the menu at BED makes this restaurant feel like a home away from home. All food is cooked fresh to order, and the restaurant boasts a selection of over 40 wines and Champagnes. We love the burgers; the lime seared scallops; and the lamb marinated in honey and mint served on a bed of crushed new potatoes.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really enjoyed it”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I came to b.e.d restaurant a bit ago with my family because my mum likes this place. It's a quirky place with lots of rooms which is cool and I presume it is the owner that greeted us, he is so friendly and welcoming he does a great job. Cute little menu with Yorkshire slang. Good atmosphere looks like a popular place. My potato skins starter and fish curry main were so so so good I need to come back here again soon!!

Helpful?
Thank Jodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    205
    65
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place ”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My third time back , great food fun atmosphere , real effort put into the whole experience as well as just the food. Really friendly helpful and fun staff topped of with a fantastic menu that you could tell a lot of thought and effort went into it . Really recommend this wonderful place.
Irish girl

Helpful?
Thank IrishButtonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
190 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Very good, one of the best meals out in the UK.”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was a great find, to be honest I did not know what to expect. I have walked by the place many times and I did not get the "BED" thing.. and it looked very small. But it is a multi story large spaces place with a very cool concept. The menu had something for everyone and it was very fresh and good food. Service was the only downfall, there were a few orders that were not correct. They did make good on it and was not a big deal but really just need to train the staff a bit more on order taking. I will be back very good food, could be one of the best meals out in the UK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsey24, Owner at Bed Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Hi there.

Err..wow!!! Thank you for a rather super duper review :-)

Thrilled you had fun and enjoyed your evening with us. All of your points taken on board and will do my utmost...but yer know what these young uns are like....they cant be told as they know it all already :-)))

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Warmest regards and thank you again,

Dave :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had pre-booked a week or so before visiting Harrogate which was just as well as the place was very busy on a Friday night. As others have indicated it is a bit quirky but this adds to the charm - the atmosphere is great. The welcome was warm and friendly with a drink & menu selection downstairs & then shown upstairs afterwards. Despite the downstairs bar being space the upstairs restaurant was spacious and comfortable. All the staff are very friendly. I suggest looking at the menu online before traveling as there are quite a few options. Starters and mains are reasonably priced for a restaurant with the top price just under £15. The food is well presented and very tasty. The food is basically English with modern twists and fresh produce. Portions are good without being too huge to enjoy 3 courses. The wine list is quite long with plenty of reasonable prices However I recommend splashing out on the wonderful Argentinian Malbec at the top end of their prices. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 79Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We went to Bed last night as a group of 10 which included 2 children. Had a fantastic meal and the atmosphere couldn't fault. The staff were great with the children and kept asking if they were alright. It's a few years since myself and husband went to this restaurant (not sure why) but it certainly won't be leaving it that long again. Loved it

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bed Restaurant also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
North Rigton, Harrogate
Brearton, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing