We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedtime stories”
Review of Bed Restaurant - CLOSED

Bed Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: BED... Run and owned by a bike nut... Loves talking bikes and all things bike related and is as giddy as a kipper at the impending arrival of the 2014 Tour de France...Cant wait to meet you all :-) BED - which stands for Burnsey Eat Drink - is a superb and super-friendly restaurant on the Kings Road in Harrogate. Spread over three floors in a beautiful Georgian manor, BED has a bar on the ground floor and two separate dining rooms decorated in kooky colours. The cosy, unpretentious vibe and quirky sense of humour woven into the d��cor and the menu at BED makes this restaurant feel like a home away from home. All food is cooked fresh to order, and the restaurant boasts a selection of over 40 wines and Champagnes. We love the burgers; the lime seared scallops; and the lamb marinated in honey and mint served on a bed of crushed new potatoes.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bedtime stories”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Another relaxing evening with the little extras that make this place special. Food as good as ever and with a slightly different front of house on the night which shows that it isn't potluck who meets you, the whole team are excellent and seem to genuinely enjoy working here. Thanks for making Ellie's special evening that bit more special. See you soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HubyHooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    205
    65
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent quirky place, fantastic service!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience at BED recently. The staff were so helpful and friendly, particularly the owner Dave. It was a hot day and we asked to sit outside. Without a moments hesitation Dave offered to move three tables down multiple flights of stairs just to accommodate us and prepare a lovely table. The food was lovely there were 9 of us and everyone enjoyed their meals. Would highly recommend a visit here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank review_princess2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing - B.E.D”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have been attending the Harrogate show now for 4 years and every year we make sure we go to B.E.D for dinner, the staff are so accommodating, with our big team we take, the food is absolutely amazing, it is a fantastic experience all on its own, and the going to Harrogate show with out going to BED would not be the same, I love it, it is great. Keep up the hard work you do an amazing job.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bron_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Much better than the web site and menu suggest!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Perhaps because we are of a certain age, or from a different region, but we didn't find the schoolboy humour of the web site particularly appealing ("who will you spend the night in B.e.d with?" "we all know that a good rubber is essential in b.e.d.") and the 'jokey' and misspelled menu ("Schmoked Slalom" for smoked salmon, "if ya want it ambient yer know what to do") irksome rather than amusing.

However, based on TA reviews and ratings we gave it a try and we were glad that we had. The food is certainly more serious than the web site and menu suggest.

My "Bok Bok Billy" (chicken, goats cheese, parma ham, sweet potato with a cream, white wine and herb sauce) was delicious. My partner thought the tomato salsa too strong for the delicate flavour of her sea-trout, so left it on the side. Apart from that minor point everything was enjoyable.

Service was very good. Jugs of water are on every table.

On our way out we noticed a banner promoting the early bird offer of 2 courses and a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price "Served 6-7pm Tuesday - Saturday". As we had arrived at 630pm on a Saturday, I wonder why we weren't offered this option?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank selimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were here with four friends on Saturday night and couldn't have enjoyed the experience more. The staff are welcoming, funny and cheeky (in a good way) and we loved the initial banter. The bruschetta and baked brie starters were totally scrummy and the salmon the best we've ever eaten anywhere. All washed down with a delicious Australian Shiraz and followed with some amazing chocolate pud accompanied by curly wurly ice cream. What a superb place. We're going to demand we eat here again next time we're in Harrogate. When you opening a branch in Edinburgh guys???

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaltMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bed Restaurant also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
North Rigton, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing