We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Service, Avg Food, High Prices, No more for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Marten

Pine Marten
Ranked #55 of 436 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An idyllic retreat set in beautiful country house-style surroundings,The Pine Marten serves a menu of gourmet European recipes. Trained in high-class cookery schools in Spain and Italy, the chefs bring a wealth of experience, and demonstrate knowledge of a breadth of classic and complex cooking techniques. Partnering with Rothschild wine merchants, guests can choose a bottle from the well-stocked cellar.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Avg Food, High Prices, No more for me”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Over 90 minutes to have lunch served and they could not even get the orders right. Everything was overpriced. Service was subpar. Not sure if the person taking our order could even understand English. The food was just average. There is a unjustified sense of being upscale; just having fancy words on the menu and high prices is not how an establishment can see position themselves as upscale. The staff was just snobby; they could not be bothered with serving customers. It is clear they put a lot of money in the décor of this place but that has all gone to waste as they cannot execute service, cooking, or customer care.

Do not go, save your money...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    143
    67
    36
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Lovely Hotel with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a lovely Easter break at the Pine Marten, Harrogate. The hotel is within walking distance of Harrogate, with a walk across the park. On arrival we had drinks in the nice garden at the rear of the hotel. The staff were friendly from the start, and were polite and helpful. The hotel is decorated in a lovely style, including our room which was great. The Pub is obviously popular for food, which had a lovely menu, and so it's a good idea to book a table. We would definitely stay here again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Been here a couple of times now and it seems to be getting worse. First visit was a table of 16 for dinner. I appreciated we were in a big group but the service was slow and the portions not huge.

Popped in for lunch last week and it took 1hr20 for two pizzas. Ambiance is lovely, staff are friendly they just don't seem to cope and for the prices they charge you would expect them to. A lovely pub just seem to struggle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just a bit disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We called in for lunch on our way home agreeing we would stop at the first place with a car park.

From the outside The Pine Marten looks Grand. It felt Grand going in. The surroundings are lovely. Then it all just falls to pieces.

None of the staff seemed to want to be there. Charging around busy doing nothing.

The food was good, nice hot sandwiches, but rather overpriced and they took a while to arrive.

The changing rooms are on a completely different floor to the toilets. I only found out after having changed my baby girl in the toilets. I gave the area around the sinks a baby wipe over to be sure I hadn't left a mess behind and it was black!!! They looked clean enough but my baby wipe was filthy. No signage for baby changing with signs for toilets, or if there is I missed it.

Also there was a Baylis & Harding hand wash for each sink, all bottles the same but the colour of the liquid inside different. If you're going to try and pass off cheap hand wash as something different at least do it to all the bottles? It was quite funny.

It was only a quick stop for lunch but the long wait set us back over 2 hours.

What a shame this place could be amazing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlelinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Don't bother. OK at best and over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We are locals who went for the Sunday Roast this week but regretted the decision to go here. The food was ok (at best) but overpriced for the standard. Machine carved meat, a flat unimpressive yorkshire pudding with a bowl of overcooked, soggy, luke warm vegetables. You can get far better food and service, much cheaper, in Harrogate. Don't bother.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda0152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Marten also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pine Marten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing