We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B & B”
Review of The Bijou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bijou
Ranked #6 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked at the last minute for a Friday night so our favourite Harrogate hotel was booked up, which also costs considerably less than the £114 per room including breakfast that the Bijou charges. However we could not really complain about the room except that being on the top floor, we were in the roof space so kept bumping our heads on the sloping ceilings, but on the plus side we had a lovely view. We had a large bathroom with a bath, plus bathrobes and a good range of toiletries and generous "goodies" on the hospitality tray. The breakfast was very good, although if I ran a B & B and someone asked for a full English without a couple of items, I would maybe add an extra egg or slice of bacon to make up for it. The parking could be difficult but if you drive in, turn round and then reverse into the parking space it is not a problem. We still prefer our usual hotel but would definitely stay here again as it is much better than nearby hotels we have stayed in and is very convenient for the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 551 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed in The Bijou recently. We absolutely adore it. The owners Mr and Mrs Watson are professional hosts who completely know how to run a first class hotel! Nothing is too much trouble. We were told that Mr Watson has extensive hotel experience in 5 star hotels around the world prior to owning The Bijou. It shows. He personally cooks the outstanding breakfast every day which are worth checking into The Bijou alone for, Mrs Watson has done a superb job with the interior design love the comfy beds and cotton sheets. If you are looking for a first class establishment just 5 minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate look no further!

Room Tip: Oops no fitness centre or swimming pool pressed wrong button.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anitabowerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Just stated here for a Saturday night.
Ample parking.
Swift booking in.
Room 4 clean and bright.
Comfy bed.
Good shower.
Now the breakfast - wow ! Really really good and plenty of choice. Different options to the normal fayre.
Highly recommend .

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claretcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I booked two nights recently at this hotel to be in Harrogate for a family birthday.
Not liking to sleep in a single bed, I opted for a small double room.
The room was indeed small, but acceptable for one person - I think two people would find it rather too small for themselves and indeed to access their open suitcases. I would suggest a couple book a standard double room.
My room (7) was on the top floor (though a steep climb up two staircases with a suitcase!) and had double aspect windows which gave a nice view. The decor is not to everyones' taste, but was in good condition. The room was well equipped too, as was the bathroom, which contained complimentary toiletries and a bathrobe. It was clean. The bed was comfortable and had good quality white linen.
The staff were friendly and pleasant.
Breakfast, which is included in the room price, included a choice of cooked, from full English, to lighter options. There was also a good choice of cereals, fruit etc.
All in all, a nice little hotel (more of a B&B really) and one I would choose again in Harrogate. The town centre is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Another really enjoyable trip to this great little place in Harrogate. Cosy, friendly, clean and tidy and a great welcome from the owners. Because it is not too large there is a great feeling of being looked after personally rather than being just another visitor. Really handy for the town. Definitely one to to be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

my boyfriend took me here for my birthday ! On entering the host wad very remote keys and your rooms up there?????????
Our room was small dust all over lights and dirty doorways , filthy windows ,,
We kept triping over the very low bed ! It may of been hip when it first open but needs a revamp ! Only saving grace wad breakfast and waitress!i would however recommend van zella restaurant in harrogate !amazing .... there are much better places too stay in harrogate than this! At better rates

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jezabelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneHarrogate, Owner at The Bijou, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

This review has been very hurtful to us as we try so hard to keep standards up all the time. On investigating I find that the filthy windows referred to are not the actual windows (which are regularly cleaned inside and out) but the channel inside the double glazing which would be hard to view without trying very hard. I check the rooms daily myself, our cleaning staff have been with us a long time and I cannot find any evidence of dust on lights or doorways in the room they stayed. The room is fairly small but it is sold as a "small double" and the bed is a bit lower as it is a design feature to enhance the room. It is the only low bed that we have. I am sorry that this guest chose to criticise on the internet, she did not mention any defaults on departure which is a shame as we do like to address and sort out issues with the guest and it is difficult to do this when the reviewer is anonymous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Really nice hotel, rooms all unique with nice decor and accessories, large bathroom with a dressing area.

Excellent breakfast choices, really quiet, great views

comfy bed, plenty of clean towels.

Free parking and walking distance from central Harrogate

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottieKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,348 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#11 of 99 in Harrogate
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bijou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bijou

Address: 17 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JL, England (Formerly Hotel Delaine)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $82 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bijou 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bijou combines elegance and fashion with the intimacy and personal touches you only find in an owner run property. Wooden floors, comfy sofas and contemporary lighting and artwork. Situated in the smart neighbourhood of Harrogate's Duchy Estate, the Bijou is a short walk from town and the conference centre. On-site car parking, honesty bar and a fab breakfast with healthy choices such as home-made muesli, compote and a vegetarian option. Our hearty breakfasts start with a extensive continental buffet, unlimited Yorkshire Tea, Coffee, toast and a choice from the cooked breakfast menu:- Full English, French Toast with Maple Syrup, Italian, Scrambled Egg and Smoked Salmon, omletes and many other choices for just £8 per person per day, this can be purchased on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Bijou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bijou Hotel Harrogate
The Bijou Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing