We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Location Close to City Center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murray House
Ranked #35 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Location Close to City Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Murray House as it is located on a quiet street in a busy town. The house is a short walk to shops, restaurants, and bars. Our room was on the top floor and was very spacious and clean. When I had a problem accessing the internet the owner offered the use of his iPad. There was a nice selection on the breakfast menu and it was cooked to order. My husband was there on business, so I took the day and walked around the city. The owners were very accommodating, allowing us a late check out and letting me keep our bags in the house until we were ready to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
49
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

As part of a group that regularly work on event in Harrogate, we once again opted to stay at Murray House. Once again we were left amazed by the lengths that all of the staff go to to ensure our stay is a fabulous as possible. Exceptional hospitality and an unending desire to please means we'll be back.
Great quality of breakfast with a great selection.
Many many thanks

Chris

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris-Showpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived at 9.30am and the Landlady allowed us to check in before we went off to explore the town. The Landlady recommended a walk we could do and we ended up spending the rest of the day in the park and at Harlow Carr. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was exceptionally clean the beds were comfortable and there was lots of choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallycanwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The owner was the most helpful person and always went the extra mile. She knew I was there on business and allowed me to use the room until 1.pm in order to get changed for an interview. The room was exceptionally clean and very well maintained. For us however it was the service that made it extraordinary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful owners, lovely, spotless room in a quiet tree-lined street a few minutes' walk from the town centre and exhibition halls. The breakfast was excellent, the shower really powerful and the wifi free!
This was our first visit to Harrogate and we have no hesitation in recommending Murray House to anyone planning to visit for business or pleasure.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eastanglian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very friendly and accommodating proprietress. Nothing was too much trouble for the landlady. Rooms very comfortable, great beds and powerful shower. Good choice at breakfast. A qiiet location but still only a short walk to the town centre. Would recommend to anyone looking for an affordable, good quality guest house. Paul, Cheryl, Gill and Shaun.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over weekend and had comfortable room with warm soft duvet. Breakfast was well prepared with delicious bacon. Car parked outside the door with permit cards. Ideally situated close to shops and restaurants but in a quiet road.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wayzgoose110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#56 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#9 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#19 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wynnstay House
Wynnstay House
#20 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray House

Property: Murray House
Address: 67 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Murray House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Murray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray House Hotel Harrogate
Murray House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing