We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor service”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went for a meal at the Pine Marten on Monday 18th March 2013 . The party consisted of 3 adults and one child. It was approximately 1.45 and we ordered drinks in the bar. My husband asked one of the waitresses if she would kindly take the drinks into the restaurant as we were encumbent with bags/coats etc. She did so and in the restaurant there was one another table of four besides ourselves.We waited for twenty minutes for a menu and meanwhile the other party had been served. I went tup to the bar to request a menu. It was another 15 minutes before the first course came. There were two waitresses at the bar chatting and the other party had received their bill and departed but I had to physically get up out of my seat and request a dessert menu. When finished,we requested the bill and the waitress was there before my husband could get his wallet out of his pocket!
We asked to speak to the under manager as we wished to complain as this was the second time I had been a victim of the poor service at this establishment. The manager was pompous,arrogant and extremely rude. He said it ws not in their brief to carry drinks for customers from the bar into a restaurant although the waitress had said nothing at the time. He also said they were not a restaurant, although they apparently serve food and were quite happy to take our money! The food was excellent however and with improved front of house service, would be an excellent venue

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Morag J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    74
    31
    13
    12
See reviews for
54
83
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were part of a large wedding group and the organiser had chosen the hotel and each person made their own booking. We all booked ‘buy two nights get one free’. We had the cost of our accommodation plus our preordered breakfast charged to our credit card about a month before without any notification. All other members of the group paid on arrival. We arrived late on a Friday night when it was snowing heavily. We checked in in at the bar! And were given a receipt for the monies already taken which was put in an envelope and we did not read because it was all paid . When we went for breakfast in the morning the group told us ‘they are looking for you because you have not paid enough’ so much for confidentiality. I produced the receipt invoice which demonstrated they had charged us double the cost of breakfast on each day and ‘you had made a mistake’. The General Manager said he had not made a mistake but reservation had he would sort it out with reservations. When I got home and checked on line I found they had taken further monies for THEIR mistake. I await a refund and to date no apology Then the room. DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 9. There is nowhere to stand up straight except just inside the door. each side of the bed is under a steep slope, and then a huge beam makes you dip even lower to get to the foot of the bed, then the same again past the other side, SEE PHOTOS then wind through a pokey 'dressing' area and then into the bathroom. If you need the toilet during the night it is a tricky journey. Additionally the head of the bed is against the window and with badly fitted windows the pillows are cold as well as your head.
We noticed that one of the rooms had a note on it which said ‘staff stayed here last night please clean’ the door was open so we looked in. It was palatial. So the staff save the best rooms for them and give their paying customers the worse rooms. We noticed this on two of the 3 days.
As for the cooked breakfast it became bigger each day
Day one, one tiny piece of bacon, one sausage, one half tomato, small scoop of baked beans
Day two, 3 rashers of bacon, one sausage, one half of tomato, medium scoop of baked beans
Day three, 4 rashers of bacon, two sausages, two halves of tomato, large scoop of baked beans

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillericayEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The service by the staff was brilliant at all times. the bedroom and bathroom was clean and lovely with tea and coffee available in the room. The breakfast and evening service was lovely and food was delicious. the hotel was not to far from Harrogate there was lovely shopping area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emm77disney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had lunch here with two friends for the first time and was very impressed, both with the delicious food, and there was plenty of it, and also the friendly, helpful service. The decor was lovely and very contemporary, will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieq075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a table of 4 for Sunday lunch, and 1 of the party is a vegetarian. The 3 meat eaters had one of the roasts from a separate Sunday lunch sheet which we had been left but the vegetarian had no similar option and could only choose from the main menu which although showed the v symbol did not seem to have this next to the appropriate dishes? The veggie ended up with quite a bland but pleasant Canelloni dish but it stuck out next to the other Sunday lunch offers. Overall nothing outstanding about the whole experience but nothing that was dreadful enough to stop us from returning just a bit of a disappointment

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadgeBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely old building which has been tastefully decorated and modernised, lots of space and comfy chairs with a great outside area. The food was good albeit on the expensive side for what is essentially a pub, would still recommend. I can't comment on the rooms as we only ate there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Because of the bar and the restaurant and the fact that it is on a main road, I thought the room was going to be noisy but it was very quiet. The building is beautiful and the room was very clean and modern. I have only one criticism: the room was big and yet the bed was tiny, I would hardly call that a double bed! Because of the bed being so small and next to a huge radiator, the sleep quality wasn't great as it was very hot!

Room Tip: Ask for a normal sized double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 217lbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
3.0 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West
Address: East Park House East Park House Beckwith Knowle Otley Road | The Pine Marten, Harrogate HG3 1PR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether exploring the Yorkshire Dales or visiting Harrogate Conference Centre, where better to stay than at an historic hotel in Harrogate?Tucked just outside town in Beckwith Knowle, this characterful lodge is a listed building that puts you right at the heart of some of England's most beautiful countryside. If you book a room here you can enjoy one of the best food-pubs in the area. Expect fresh, seasonal cooking and wood-fired pizzas complemented by a great wine list.Enjoy the blooms and greenery of RHS Harlow Carr Gardens, tuck into the legendary afternoon teas at Betty's or simply admire the sweeping hills of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Harrogate is also great for shoppers and art lovers, with a bustling town centre and a range of intriguing exhibitions at the Mercer Art Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pine Marten (Innkeeper`s Lodge) Hotel Harrogate
Pine Marten Innkeepers Harrogate
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing