We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fountains Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I booked a weekend away for me and my boyfriend and we stayed at the Fountains Guest House! We had a wonderful stay! The owners Mr and Mrs Wells made us feel really welcome and tended to our every request promptly! The room was really cosy and felt like a home away from! We will defiantly be returning for another weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    37
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
157
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at the B&B for a mid week break. Everything is fantastic, from the hospitality of the owners, the cleanliness of the rooms, the breakfast and the location of the property to the centre of Harrogate. i would highly recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank looneytoon1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were fortunate enough to book a room at The Fountains for a brief stop over on the way to Edinburgh in May 2012. I had always wanted to visit Harrogate, having been several times to York nearby, but never exploring outside of that area.

The guesthouse is situated not far from the town centre, which is easily to walk to in about ten minutes. We arrived around check in time and were greeted warmly at the "reception" and shown to our room. Lindsay and John were very helpful, providing us with directions into the centre of town and recommendations for things to do, as we had arrived with several hours to spare before dinner.

The room itself was absolutely beautiful - I'm not sure whether my boyfriend had specifically asked for the room but it overlooked the green, with a big bay window and lovely, luxury curtains. The bed was comfortable and big. There were lots of unique features to the room; ornaments and a desk that looked quite antiqued, but beautiful. The bathroom was also very clean and tidy, with modern features.

We ended up going into town for a couple of drinks and a meal, before returning fairly early to the room as we had a long trip to make up north in the morning, watching the Champions League final!

The breakfast in the morning was fresh, tasty and plentiful; I sometimes regret ordering full english but this one was free from grease and wasn't so huge that you felt required to eat it all!

Checkout was easy, and the price for the accommodation very reasonable. I would definitely stay again should we find ourselves up that way again, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody on-route. The only slight problem we had was that the car park was rather small, especially so if you have large vehicles; but that isn't a slight on the owners, it's just unfortunate and certainly not worth me down-marking for what was, in every other way, a wonderful stay.

I promised Lindsay that I would write a review, and I'm sorry it's so late in coming!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missb1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a lovely B&B. My room was cosy with a beautiful view over the park. You could tell that huge amounts of care and attention to detail had been put into everything from the decoration to the choice of biscuits. It really was a joy. Lindsay and John were helpful, funny, interested and interesting. They cooked an amazing breakfast for me every day and I felt really welcome. The Fountains is a great place to stay a stones throw from the centre of Harrogate. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thirsk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We found the hospitality of the young couple who run this guesthouse to be excellent. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and our "full English" were a perfect start to the day. The room was immaculately clean and very luxuriously appointed. We had booked the "superior" double and the extra paid was well worth it. We did sneak a look at some of the other guestrooms and they were very good but we would pay more and book room 4 again. Harrogate is a great place to stay for a short break even in January! Lots of good high end shopping and attractions like Harlow Carr RHS gardens and good restaurants. The Fountains is extremely well located for town but still manages to be a quiet spot.

Room Tip: Room 4 "superior double" was well worth paying the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frnco1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Once again a lovely stay over at the fountains.
Lindsay & john are superb hosts and they do a fantastic breakfast.
Rooms are spacious well looked after.
Great location for everything in harrogate.
Will be staying again for sure

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munkym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday the weekend before christmas what a lovely b.b.in the center of harrogate the bedroom was very clean and cosy and warm a must as it was cold outside, the breakfast was top quality and kept us full all day .we will come back to stay here again and would recommend to everyone well done

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegrans41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.0 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#13 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#6 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountains Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountains Guesthouse

Property: The Fountains Guesthouse
Address: 27 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fountains Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fountains Guesthouse in Harrogate, North Yorkshire, is an elegant Victorian building dating back to 1891. At the end of an imposing terrace situated on the King’s Road, tastefully and smartly restored and retaining many of its original features, The Fountains is a 10 bedroom all en-suite family run business which is be a great place to stay for both holidaymakers and business trips.We are situated just two minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre and five minutes from the many bars, bistros and boutique shops of the famous Harrogate town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fountains Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountains Hotel Harrogate
The Fountains Guesthouse Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing