We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back.”
Review of Lamont House

Lamont House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamont House
Ranked #29 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We usually stay in a local hotel when we go to Harrogate. Don't know why! This guest house was excellent. It had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable, the room was well equpped, the breakfast was excellent , there was free parking and it's in a good location. Mike and Helen were very friendly and helpful. There was a couple staying there who had been going for years, I can see why!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

Could not ask for a better B&B. We often stay in Harrogate and normally book in to one of the large hotels but will certainly be booking the Lamont from now on. Spacious clean rooms, fantastic breakfast, great location and made to feel very welcome by Mike and Helen.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_T74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Easy to find, not far from Railway Station and Bus Station. Central, close to main shopping area and Betty's. Situated in genteel Montpelier area.

Room was spacious, clean, light and airy.

Mike and Helen were very good hosts, with plenty of local knowledge, all given with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talbotcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Another enjoyable stay here, very clean and comortable with lovely hosts mike and helen and superb breakfasts. Also in one of the nicest and convenient area's of town.
M Butterfield

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtripper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just returned from a great bank holiday 2 day break in Harrogate. We enjoyed a lovely stay at The Lamont Guest House.We were made very welcome by owners Mike and Helen . Rooms are very clean and bed really comfy.There was a great choice for breakfast keeping hubby happy with fruit juices ,cereals , plenty of fresh fruit and i enjoyed the porridge and the superb freshly cooked breakfasts. The Lamont is in an excellent location and is only a few minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and bars ect .We hope to return soon, thanks Mike and Helen for looking after us so well !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimandy_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were up in Harrogate for a friend's wedding and were very pleased with our accommodation. The location was great, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic! We choose to stay here over a more expensive bigger hotel and we weren't dissappointed. Mike was even kind enough to lend me his iron! Thanks for a lovely stay, Mike and Helen.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeaAddictLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Nice house & convenient, quiet location. However the twin room was spacious with 2 lumpy mattresses, & it had the smallest en-suite I have ever been in!. My husband could not get any hot water from shower & I found another shower-room, on the landing, which was supposed to be for the use of another bedroom apparently which was vacant. I managed to have a shower there. We told owner who seemed surprised but didn't offer any reduction or apology.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamontHG2, Owner at Lamont House, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2010

We were sorry to learn from your recent review of your dissatisfaction with Lamont House.

We do recall a problem with the hot water in the shower but we must confess we did not offer a reduction as you had showered elsewhere in the meantime and the cause was a twisted shower hose which was easily resolved.

Our ensuites are small, yes, this is one of the problems one finds in a Victorian property which is converted. You are limited as to how much space you have available without altering the layout and the feeling of the house significantly.

We do however try to make amends in other areas, for example an excellent AGA cooked breakfast , catering for special dietary needs, free parking and also free high-speed internet access to name a few.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
323 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,763 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamont House

Address: 12 St. Marys Walk, Harrogate HG2 0LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lamont House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing