We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money. Clean and comfortable. Super Breakfast.”
Review of Lamont House

Lamont House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamont House
Ranked #35 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very good value for money. Clean and comfortable. Super Breakfast.”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Easy to find, not far from Railway Station and Bus Station. Central, close to main shopping area and Betty's. Situated in genteel Montpelier area.

Room was spacious, clean, light and airy.

Mike and Helen were very good hosts, with plenty of local knowledge, all given with a friendly smile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talbotcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    20
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
43
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Another enjoyable stay here, very clean and comortable with lovely hosts mike and helen and superb breakfasts. Also in one of the nicest and convenient area's of town.
M Butterfield

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtripper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just returned from a great bank holiday 2 day break in Harrogate. We enjoyed a lovely stay at The Lamont Guest House.We were made very welcome by owners Mike and Helen . Rooms are very clean and bed really comfy.There was a great choice for breakfast keeping hubby happy with fruit juices ,cereals , plenty of fresh fruit and i enjoyed the porridge and the superb freshly cooked breakfasts. The Lamont is in an excellent location and is only a few minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and bars ect .We hope to return soon, thanks Mike and Helen for looking after us so well !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimandy_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were up in Harrogate for a friend's wedding and were very pleased with our accommodation. The location was great, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic! We choose to stay here over a more expensive bigger hotel and we weren't dissappointed. Mike was even kind enough to lend me his iron! Thanks for a lovely stay, Mike and Helen.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaAddictLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Nice house & convenient, quiet location. However the twin room was spacious with 2 lumpy mattresses, & it had the smallest en-suite I have ever been in!. My husband could not get any hot water from shower & I found another shower-room, on the landing, which was supposed to be for the use of another bedroom apparently which was vacant. I managed to have a shower there. We told owner who seemed surprised but didn't offer any reduction or apology.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamontHG2, Owner at Lamont House, responded to this review, July 5, 2010
We were sorry to learn from your recent review of your dissatisfaction with Lamont House.

We do recall a problem with the hot water in the shower but we must confess we did not offer a reduction as you had showered elsewhere in the meantime and the cause was a twisted shower hose which was easily resolved.

Our ensuites are small, yes, this is one of the problems one finds in a Victorian property which is converted. You are limited as to how much space you have available without altering the layout and the feeling of the house significantly.

We do however try to make amends in other areas, for example an excellent AGA cooked breakfast , catering for special dietary needs, free parking and also free high-speed internet access to name a few.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We have stayed at a number of B&B's in Harrogate but this is by far the best yet. It is a 3 minute walk into town; quiet location but with on street free parking; Mike and Helen were excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them, they gave us a discount voucher for a nearby pub meal/drink; breakfast was scrumptious; the rooms were well equipped and clean. We are 4 x 50 plus year olds and will definatly be returning to the Lamont. Thanks for a great 2 day stay.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lancashire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2010

1. BY THE WAY the biscuits which were in the room were stale as the expiry date was MARCH 2010.
2. it takes about 10 minutes to get to the railway / bus station ( brisky walk)
3. the breakfast was ok if I disregard the fact that you get few spoons of cornflakes . I asked for one youghrt and I received the cornflakes and I suppose it was a tiny youghrt as it was scarce.
DON'T FORGET THAT they do not change towels . I stayed there for 4 days and one towel needed cleaning.NOTHING happened.Actually Helen folded it and put it back.
The walls are so thin and even if one moves around the room, there is some noise.
It is overpriced as it just offers a place to sleep.
IF I had the possibility of choosing again, I WOULD NOT STAY THERE.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank stranger58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LamontHG2, Owner at Lamont House, responded to this review, April 17, 2010
I cannot contact 'Stranger58' personally, as I can only guess their identity. I am sorry that they did not mention their unhappiness on departure or earlier.

The comment about 'stale' biscuits i cannot understand, as our hospitality trays are checked and changed daily and we have never and will never provide out of date foods to our guests, March 2011 yes, March 2010, no.


We are a ten minute walk to the train/bus station as stated on our website, it is not a brisk walk ,but a normal paced 10 minute walk.

Regarding the comment about the small portion of cornflakes for breakfast - had one asked for a greater amount this could have been provided, and as for the yoghurt comment, i am unsure what you mean here?I am assuming you had yoghurt and cornflakes then a choice of the various grills of the day, which i believe is an extremely well provided breakfast and we rarely get any comments in this area of the business.

Not changing the towels is not strictly true! We have an environmental policy which IS detailed on a laminate card in our bathrooms AND on the website stating that if you should like your towels changing to place the used ones in the shower tray so we are aware you require clean ones. If this is not followed, unless the towels are heavily soiled, we do not change them.

As for the 'thin walls' and 'even moving around you can hear things'...i find this unjust. We own a Victorian property which has the usual creaks any property of this kind has, thin walls - i am not so sure?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
1,600 reviews
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrogate Luxury Studios
Harrogate Luxury Studios
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 100 in Harrogate
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#6 of 100 in Harrogate
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamont House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamont House

Property: Lamont House
Address: 12 St. Marys Walk, Harrogate HG2 0LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lamont House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing