We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be back!”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel in a great location and secure parking. We were upgraded to a very nice room on the second floor. We decided to eat in the restaurant for Sunday lunch. I have to say the lunch was excellent. I had the beef and my friend had the lamb. Both were cooked to perfection as were all the vegetables. It was delicious!! The public bar was pretty lively and there was a quiz on. We joined in with some local people. They then served hot sausages and pork pies which was a very nice surprise. Will definitely go back - super!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
It sounds like you had a super time at the Hotel and made the most of both the Restaurant for our Traditional Yorkshire Sunday Roast and Pub Quiz on in The Fat Badger.
Keep an eye out on the Facebook page as there maybe a Sunday Special Rate appearing soon !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    480
    352
    164
    89
See reviews for
169
781
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I wish my partner had taken an extra day off work. The hotel is doing three nights for the price of two. We stayed Bed and breakfast, excellent breakfast fresh fruit plus the usual full English and additional choices e.g. poached haddock, smoked salmon, the room was functional clean and very comfortable bed. A central location and car park to the rear £6.00p and late check out. Drinks a little pricey in the very lively bar. We didn't use the gym and the pool was not connected to the hotel. It is an old building, the staff were very helpful but some upgrading is necessary. However the overall package for the cost was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Please keep an eye on our facebook page as this is where we normally place our Special Offers and Deals first.
We are in the process of completing the maintenance and refurbishment programme for the Hotel in preparation of the upgrade on the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful, good size clean room. You have to pay £6 for overnight paking, but can add the charge to your hotel bill. Perfectly situated to have a walk around Harrogate. Will definately stay once again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments, please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel for your next stay as we now have special rates available for returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Perfect location for a weekend getaway, central and close to the attractions of Harrogate. Beautifully decorated. We were told our room wasn't one of the newly refurbished ones but it didn't disappoint as it was freshly decorated, clean and comfortable.
We were upgraded to a room on the third floor as it was a particularly busy weekend and the pub was quite loud. This was understandable considering there was an event booked and the hotel doubles as a conference centre. This upgrade was greatly appreciated as we were looking for a relaxed weekend break.
Would definitely recommend and look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better to avoid weekend noise from the pub below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
I am glad to hear that you had a relaxed weekend away.

We do always try and ensure that all our guests are well looked after during there stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel was a bit tired looking unfortunately as it is in a good location. The room was a bit on the cold side and there was no heating in the bathroom which was draughty. The bed was comfortable enough. The shower was fine. The wi-fi signal was non existent. The walls were quite thin and I could hear the conversation of the man in the next room. There were 2 different menus in the room for the restaurant and pub downstairs, but I was informed that both places were serving the same. Second night I found Betty's instead (excellent idea!) Also had to pay for 2 nights parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We are currently in the process of arranging a refurbishment programme for the Hotel to ensure that we are keeping the rooms up to date.
We have just had a new booster system fitted to the Wifi in order to strengthen the signal throughout the hotel but I apologies that this was too late for your stay.

The two menus in your room would have been for The Fat Badger Pub which serves from 12 Noon until 7pm and The White Hart Brasserie Menu which serves from 6pm onwards although you are more than welcome to have The Brasserie menu in The Fat Badger during your stay.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for midweek break with husband and my brother and sister-in-law.
What a lovely hotel.
We stayed in 218 right on the corner of the building. Unfortunately over the pub.The noise wasn't too bad.
The room was a little cold on arrival. Turned heating on full blast. Still cold but when we went reception we were given a little heater which made a big difference.
Room big with nice view to the Main Street and up the side street. Clean and bath with shower to the on suite.
We had a meal in the restaurant which was really nice and service very good. Breakfast next day was plentiful and again could not fault the service on the two days we stayed.
Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Front of hotel nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suealFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you thought the hotel was lovely.
You did stay in one of my favourite rooms 218 (Executive Room) with the beautiful views over the stray and I am glad to hear that you were not disturbed too much by The Fat Badger we do try and ensure that the noise is kept to a minimum for the guests staying.
We do hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The White Hart is fantastically located and externally is very nice. Room 212 (a suite) is, at first view, lovely but a closer view reveals very tired decor and the need to be updated. The adjoining pub has a good range of beers and serves nice snacks at ridiculous prices (£7 for coronation chicken sandwich). The breakfast menu provides plenty of options and was very satisfying. Found it a bit strange when paying over £100 for B&B you have to pay to park your car on the on-site car park.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms at the Hotel and can assure you that the points raised have been noted and will be addressed. As I am sure you can appreciate it is on going work in progress for a busy 53 bedroom hotel.

Unfortunately Car Parking spaces in Harrogate are at a premium and therefore the charging for parking is quite normal, I can assure you that we are with the prices charged by our competitors and in some cases we are cheaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing