We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay at the White Hart Hotel in Harrogate. On arrival parked in the hotel car park .£6 overnight charge but well worth it as the car park is well laid out, secure, covered and yards from the hotel. This is a bonus as Harrogate is not the easiest place to park overnight . The hotel was really nice starting with the reception staff being really friendly and helpful. Our room (no.215) was nicely decorated and modern furnishing also very clean with a lovely view of Harrogate shops and green area. We did not eat in the hotel but had a drink in the Fat Badger bar. Good buzz about the place and trendy with again good and friendly service. We passed the Brasserie restaurant which was full of happy looking people which is a good sign. The breakfast was good and served to your table. We shall return to the White Hart again when we next visit Harrogate.

Room Tip: Only know the 2nd floor but 215 is well located for a pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaughan2885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    470
    348
    162
    89
See reviews for
166
768
48
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have recently stayed here twice in the last 3 weeks.
We live close enough to go home but as we were on social evenings and drink was to be consumed we booked a hotel near the restaurant we were going too.

By chance we got the same room both times.
Our room was spotlessly clean in all areas of it.
The bedding and towels were of good quality.
Our room was spacious in the main area, the bathroom however was a tad on the small side.
Hot water was plentiful at all time and the Melton Mowbray complimentary toiletries are an added bonus.
I like the 'shabby chic' decor going on in the rooms, I presume that how a room is decorated is to ones own personal taste though, I like it.

Checking in and out was very quick and simple and all staff were perfectly fine and friendly on both occasions.
Parking seems safe and secure and at only £6 a very fair price.

We will go back again and will try the onsite restaurant next time.
Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatnamecaniuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aylesbury
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Older style hotel, lots of wood pannelling - stayed here one night on business. Bathroom and bedroom were clean and bed was comfy. Didnt eat there so cannot comment on food. One major major gripe - parking is charged for at rear of hotel. This place looks impressive and established enough not to have to charge. Yes I know Harrogate has parking problems but in todays competitive world you have to watch what you do - and this will put me off staying there again (I stay in Harrogate at least a dozen times a year). Management please note - you are making a mistake with such a small item.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtrout42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the hotel from the 30th dec to the 1st jan. Overall the stay was average. The staff were the real problem, rude, inexperienced and unnecessarily pompous. Firstly they tried to charge us for a pre-paid breakfast and didn't apologise when they saw their mistake, then upon checking out they were abrupt and lacked any sort of decent customer service. In terms of the room, it was basic. Upon entry the sheets were dirty and there were foreign bodies in the bed. The main issue here was when the "cleaners" had been in they failed to replenish the coffee making facilities, empty the bin, replace the toilet roll or re-arrange the sheets. Generally the stay was ok but that was due to the town Of Harrogate being excellent and having great company, not the hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loren-tom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We pre-booked a festive afternoon tea after receiving an email. The experience certainly lived up to expectations and was the best afternoon tea experience we'd had outside of London. The only criticism we would have would be that our early booking discount that was offered in the email was not applied and we did not feel able to ask for it being the only guests in the tea room.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxineKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel joins on to the fat badger pub which wev been in many times and is one of our favourite places to drink in harrogate.everything on the ground floor(public toilets, restaurant, hairdressers, entrance into hotel, fat badger pub) is beautifully decorated and then it stops.the room wer a joke.not even a foot to squeeze between bottom of bed and wardrobe , scratched and marked wooden creeky bed that kept us awake every time we moved, with a thin poor, roll to the middle matress. The only full length mirror on the back of the door wer thay wer no light(useless) the room wer badly lit.the bathroom wer horrid n needed modernising badly .stained carpet in room .chipped doors .overall very run down we would not stay there again. And to top it off very noisy people next door slamming doors at all hours.not a pleasurable night what so ever. You do get to park round the back of hotel for 6pound on top of the price of the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradfordpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is a joke! Not quite sure how it got a 4* rating. We spoke to 3 members of staff 2 of which were new to the job (I wonder why!), although helpful couldn't even answer a simple question! We changed rooms 3 times in 24 hours. 1st room was dark, dingy and dirty. 2nd room was just as bad with stains on the carpet and bed linen, the disabled bathroom was terrible just like a dirty hospital bathroom, broken toilet seat and shower was useless! The superior room was slightly better but had no view other than a brick wall outside the window. I suggested to the management that the hotel have a facelift and they put on the website that the hotel is in need of renovating! Good location and good food.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a superior room and not a standard one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing