We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A nice hotel and very central in Harrogate. The room we stayed was not set out very well and was dark. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night and the bed was very comfortable. The worst thing was the creaky floorboards from the room above and the noise the doors make when closing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    510
    367
    168
    92
See reviews for
191
835
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum for one night. We arrived a little early to check in and reception was very helpful and asked if we would like to leave our bags while we went shopping.
The decor of the hotel is very well done and very cosy.
The bedroom was spacious and adequate space for clothes etc.
breakfast was ok !!! Bit disappointed if I'm honest.. The breakfast Buffett needs more choice - maybe a mixture of fresh fruit some natural yoghurt and a bigger selection of pastries, meats and cheeses. The cooked breakfast however was lovely.
I would stay here again as very central location and staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessYork84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us I am delighted you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. I have passed your comments on to the staff and they were very pleased.

We are currently in the process of reviewing our breakfast buffet offering.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Ian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

MY wife and I stayed at the White Hart on the 10th of August the room was fine and had great view of Harrogate.
We ate in the Fat badger for lunch which was good and had drinks there later in the evening which was very vibrant,The outside patio heater where very welcoming the staff where very helpful and efficient.
It has plenty of parking and is well located for exploring Harrogate.
I will definitely visit again.
Ian the general manager was especially helpful.

Room Tip: Parking entrance is next to the Fat Badger pub, if you miss it you can caught in the one way loop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed in particular the Fat Badger.

I am pleased that you found the staff to be efficient and helpful the corner stone I believe to any good stay. I look forward to seeing you back in the near future and I am pleased you found myself to be especially helpful during your stay with us.

Kind regards

Ian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I Think that the price we paid for the room with breakfast was outstanding value. Read some of the reviews after i had booked this hotel and it goes to show its really what you make of it. My partner and i had a lovely time in Harrogate and were very pleased with booking this hotel. The decor was very tastefully done and the staff were spot on. Cheaper than premiere Inn and loads more charm with breakfast thrown in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipadvisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel.

I am especially pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Ian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at the White Hart Hotel.

We travelled with our one year old daughter and usually stay in a serviced apartment when we visit Harrogate.

On our last trip, we were very impressed with the hotels location after visiting the Fat Badger pub on our way back to the apartment. Having found there was a suite available on our date of travel, I decided to book into this hotel for one night.

Fair enough, the last minute tariff for the room was only £75 including breakfast, but the "suite" turned out to be, in our opinion, nothing more than a normal sized room which was very tired and in need of some TLC.

On arrival, we were impressed with the entrance hall and reception area, however it all went downhill from there!

We got to our room, number 212, having emailed AND telephoned in advance to organise a cot and cot linen, only to find there was no cot in the room.

In every other suite I have stayed in, it was a room with a bedroom and separate seating area, which was exactly what we required.

We walked into the room to find a mirror and wardrobe on the left hand side, and the door to the bathroom on the right. Then a four poster bed filled the rest of the room, with a small desk, and one chair in front of the window. How did this constitute being a "SUITE"!

The decor was very tired, with holes in the Walls and cracks in the ceiling. The bathroom wasn't big enough to swing a cat in, and the bath wasn't as big as our kitchen sink.

Disappointed was an understatement!!!!

I immediately went to reception to organise my daughter a cot, and to attempt to be moved to a bigger room, only to be told the hotel was presently full.

When the cot was delivered to the room, there was a folded sheet to cover the base, but no sheet or blanket to cover my child. Luckily I had a spare blanket in the car.

On departing, the receptionist didn't even have the courtesy to ask if we had enjoyed our stay - maybe she saw the looks on our face and decided against it!

In our opinion, this was a blatant misrepresentation of a "SUITE" and room 212 should not be described as this. Unless of course, room 212 was not indeed a suite, but actually a normal room, with no suites actually available at the time.

Anyway, we don't really care anymore, as we definitely won't be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Ballingry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night on august 2nd. Appearance of hotel was nice, reception staff were helpful and family room was decent . Bed was comfy, towels were fresh and clean and enjoyed our stay. 2 very minor points to report. Room was on top floor and was very warm, we had to sleep with window open as far as it would go and had to use a mirror to keep it wedged open. Then had to endure various street noise throughout the night but we were so tired we had no problem falling asleep each time. We went for breakfast and the food and choice of food was excellent apart from the milk being off which was quickly replaced. We found the minor faults werent going to detract from our stay and would like to thank all the staff at the hotel for great service

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Delighted to read your recent review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night while at a conference in Harrogate - I picked it because it was the cheapest hotel on the list we were given.

I should have gone for the next one up the list - my room was a reasonable size, but very shabby. There were extension leads all over the place, and the bathroom was very shabby. The Molton Brown toiletries were a lovely (but incongruous) touch.

I also complained to the front desk, as at some point during the night (between 10pm and 5am, not entirely sure) someone was rolling kegs from the bar to the bins, and emptying the empty bottles into the recycling. EPIC racket.

My single bed was extremely hard and tipped about 5 degrees to one side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StowmarKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor. Naturally I was disappointed to read your comments and will of course investigate barrels being moved about late at night.

I accept your comments regarding your room and am pleased to state that we our about to begin a refurbishment program for the bedrooms. However I understand that this does not help you and would ask that if you our in the Harrogate area again, contact me directly and I will make the arrangements for your stay personally.

I do hope to welcome you back to the White Hart in the near future, and would like the opportunity to restore a little faith.

Kind regards

Ian and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing