We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

had one night stay for birthday treat,having read reviews was expecting pub with a few rooms and was really pleased to find a very nice hotel with great atmosphere with a bar that didn`t need any music to create a happy vibe.good staff and breakfast added bonus no grumbles at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Happy Birthday !!!
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The White Hart and made the most of your stay including The Fat Badger.
It is always great to receive feedback and we will ensure that this is passed on to all of the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    470
    348
    162
    89
See reviews for
166
768
48
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a business trip and found the room we stayed in to be of poor standard. I have emailed and written a letter to the hotel but had no reply to either. Next time we will go to a premier inn. Room small, but ok, bathroom a disgrace! Extremely stained blind, cracked toiletries tray and over all shabby, looking back on here I've even found customer photos of the same problem, you would think if the complaint had been raised before then it would be sorted out? Only our opinion of our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smashin99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am so sorry that you are still awaiting a response from the hotel. However, we have just had a change of management and we are sorry to say that we have not received your letter.
I have sent you an email requesting for an outline into the issues that you experienced during your stay in order that we can rectify this as quickly as possible.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

NIce hotel for a weekend in Harrogate. Very helpful staff and the room was very comfortable if a little on the cool side (couldn't find any thermostat). The Fat Badger pub attached to the hotel was very popular and full of 'grown ups' which was a nice suprise, average selection of beers. Breakfast was first rate. Shame that the hotels feels the need to charge guests £5 for parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eviladj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback, I am sorry to hear that the room was on the cold side, at the moment the heating is controlled by a main computer system at Reception. However, we are currently looking at the possibility of upgrading the system to allow for our guests to control the heating in the room themselves.

I am sorry that you did not appreciate paying the £5.00 parking charge but feel that I must justify this to all, unfortunately Car Parking in Harrogate is at a premium and we have taken into consideration the prices charged by our competitors in Harrogate and we are in line with the other Hotels if not slightly cheaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I booked this hotel for my friends hen weekend and I have to say I cannot recommend the hotel enough. On checkin we spoke with 2 lovely ladies who could not have done more to help and informed us that we could use The Academy Private members gym should we wish to use their swimming pool, sauna or spa facilities which certainly was an added bonus to the weekend. Moving on having heard so much about The Fat Badger Pub we of course had a cheeky drink....actually 2,3 or 4 and what a laugh it was. Thank you to all the staff and we will be back to celebrate post wedding and WHEN im engaged ;) I will be in contact to book my wedding with you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Hen Weekend and made the most of the Hotels facilities including the Academy Spa & Gym along with my favourite The Fat Badger Pub.

I wish you all the best for your friends Wedding and we look forward to your return after. Please keep a close eye on our facebook page for any special offers as we will post them on here first.

Fingers crossed for your engagement, I know that Anna our Wedding coordinator would be more than happy to assist you with your special day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night at the white hart. Looks like they are gradually refurbishing but have only got so far! We didn't have any hot water in our shower, when I called reception I was told that 3 other rooms had complained and that she would speak to her manager! Not really helping my need to shower!!
After a cold shower we went out for dinner choosing not to eat in house as it looked like a cattle market!
Returning at midnight the bar was still packed and luckily for us or room was directly above the bar!! Single glazing didn't help either!! The room was done up on a budget, very poor wardrobe painted to match the room, curtains in need of more hooks and the bathroom was just awful!!! Felt like we were in an old ship cabin! No plug sockets near mirrors to dry hair, no nets or blinds so anyone could see in. Breakfast was limited, everything looked tired. The tea and coffee pots need a good soak! The meat platter consisted of 2 slices of salami, the cereals were lacking variety.
I brought a few issues up with the receptionist on check out who said "I'll tell my manager, do you want a token for the car park?"
Never saw the elusive manager! Not impressed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your valued feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you had a problem with the Hot water unfortunately this situation had to be rectified with an emergency plumber an unforeseen circumstance which could not be avoided.
We appreciate all of your comments and I would like to assure you that they have been passed on to our new General Manager which has just started with the Hotel.
We are also in the process of looking at all of the rooms within the Hotel and planning a refurbishment and maintenance programme to start within the next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed on the Sunday night over the recent Bank Holiday weekend. From the moment we arrived everything was faultless. Good car parking space [I know some reviewers have mentioned the charge, but try parking in Harrowgate!], a warm welcome at reception with our room already allocated. Room was on floor 2 which appears to have been recenltly refurbished. It was spotlessly clean including Moulton Brown toiletries.We had booked for Sunday lunch which turned out to be superb. At £12 for the main course it might seem expensive but the choice, quality and quantity easily justified the price. Service was first class! The breakfast is probably one of the best we have had in any hotel [and we've stayed at quite a few]. Cooked to order and once again served very efficiently by friendly and attentive staff. We will have no hesitation returning and we both would like to thank the hotel team for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 2 near to the lift facing the front of the hotel. You will then be away from the Fat B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Hotel and I can assure you that your comments and thanks has been passed on to all of the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the White Hart over the Spring Bank Holiday weekend. Our first encounter on arrival was lunch at the Fat Badger, which we found to be excellent, made better still by the provision of a voucher giving us a 25% discount on our bill. We ate in the Brasserie in the evening, and were sufficiently impressed with the food in both venues to eat again in the hotel for the remainder of our stay in Harrogate. The breakfast served to us each morning was well prepared using very high quality ingredients, and there was a good selection of cooked breakfast items as well as a buffet style continental breakfast. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel and we could not find fault with any aspect of the food served to us.

Our room was impeccably clean and had plenty of towels and good bedlinen. There were beverage making facilities in our room and an ample supply of tea and coffee and also some rather tasty biscuits.

Our two day stay was perfect in every way. It is difficult to see how our stay could have been better. We found the staff most engaging and eager to please. A completely delightful experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanthierry1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Mr Thierry,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The White Hart Hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Louisa-Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing