We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy City Centre Hotel but Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
“Busy City Centre Hotel but Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel was booked for me as part of a business trip and hence usually a little anxious when the booking is not in my control. In the event this worked out well. The hotel was centrally located, the room I had, whilst small, was perfectly acceptable. We used the restaurant for the business dinner. We were offered three different menu options which was great. There were eight of us and each had a different menu option. With Scottish lobster as a starter and a lamb madras for the main course I was very pleased. The meal prices were very fair and competitive.

Room Tip: I would always request a quiet room...the front of the hotel could possibly be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfab777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your time at The White Hart. The menu's have just been recently changed so I will ensure to pass on your feedback to Chef. Please feel free to make requests at the time of booking for a quiet room we will do everything possible to try and ensure we can fulfil your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    470
    348
    162
    89
See reviews for
166
768
48
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

this is the second year we have used the White Hart for a short break.The first visit was really good so we went back again this year and we were not disappointed ,the staff are polite and friendly,the food is excellent and the rooms are very nicely furnished.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments I am glad to see that you keep returning back to us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Augustus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just returned from staying at this little gem of a hotel on a 'room only' basis. Would have given this hotel 5 stars if the price of the breakfast wasn't so expensive - £12.95 per person - couldn't warrant paying that and parking at the hotel was charged at £5 per night. Staff were very friendly. Fab location minutes away from the famous Betty's Tea Rooms and the centre of the town which hosts many restaurants and tea/coffee houses. Harrogate is a perfect base for exploring north yorkshire - if you like ruins Fountains Abbey is just 20 mins drive away is well worth a visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0mL1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, although you were slightly disappointed by the price of Breakfast. We have compared other Hotels and the price of Breakfasts around Harrogate and can confirm that we are priced very competitively within the Harrogate Hotel Market. Because of this reason we do often give our guests the choice of either a Room Only Rate or a Bed and Breakfast Rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Would have had 5stars except for poor service of meal in Fat Badger -server had poor command of english and couldn't even correctly describe what she was putting on the table - food was excellent and great portion sizes.
Pefect location near Betty's , the shops, the museums and the Turkish Baths.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moncann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your valued feedback.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the food at The Fat Badger - we have only recently changed the menu ( after taking a lot of guest feedback into consideration). So it is great news that it is going down well.
I am sorry that you felt the service let us down but I can assure you that your comments will be passed on to the relevant manager to ensure that the team is fully trained and confident with presenting the food to our guests.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

After a disappointing first visit at the end of March, we e-mailed the manager who promptly replied and offered us a free return visit, and gave us a room on the second floor, which has undergone a full refurbishment. It was excellent and we couldn't fault anything about this stay. The staff were lovely, the breakfast was really good, and the second floor is well worth checking out!!

Room Tip: make sure you book a room on the second floor at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is refreshing to see as sometimes we do get it wrong, we are only human after all but we will always do what we can to rectify the situation and at least we have shown you that we can redeem ourselves. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

this was our first joint outing for 4 years, and we could not have chosen a better hotel. Being disabled I was a bit reluctant to go, my fears were unfounded as everything and everyone was very helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The disabled persons room had everything I needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Robert,

I am glad to hear that you choose The White Hart Hotel for your first outing together after 4 years, it is always beneficial to get feedback and to hear that our specially adapted rooms had everything that you needed to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay is great. I hope you wont leave it as long next time before your next outing. We hope to see you soon.

Thanks

Louisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

just came back from a week-end at this hotel not worth 99.00 per night. food not that good hotel could a with a lick of paint breakfast staff not very helpful. friends of ours stayed at the crown which was across the road 20.00 more but well worth it. the hotel is in a prime spot shame the hotel didnt live up to that.

Room Tip: none of the rooms at the back have windows you can see out of they are all frostd glass, also you he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brennans091822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay at The White Hart. Although we do value you taking the time and trouble for your feedback.
I can assure you that all comments are taken very seriously and we are now taking a pro active response to these points raised. We are in the process of completing a schedule of works to ensure that the hotel is kept up to standard and using all guest feedback to assist with the collation of this, including painting.
I did notice the tip that you left that stated the rooms at the back of the hotel all have frosting so you can not see out - I just want to advise that this is not the case with all the rooms on the back and that only a minority of rooms ( I believe 5 in total have the lower part of the window frosted)
We do try and accommodate all of our guests requests so please ask if you would like a room overlooking the front of the Hotel or one without the frosted glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing