We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fat badger....bar of hotel.”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fat badger....bar of hotel.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Had a couple hours to kill, late afternoon Friday, already quite full and all having fun. This bar is so popular, wide mix of customers too, so you meet interesting people over a beer. Whilst many pubs are struggling, this place has got it right,...plenty customers and therefore plenty of atmosphere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ladiesabouttown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    480
    352
    164
    89
See reviews for
169
781
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked the White Hart as our final one night stopping post on a six-day tour of the Lake District and the North East. We had never previously visited Harrogate, although we had in the past stayed in various North Yorkshire hotels, and opted for this as we had heard good reviews of the area along the way. Certainly, our first view of the hotel was favourable as we approached from Montpellier Street. The outward facade of the building looked almost regal, but the word facade, used in its less positive sense, was sadly applicable throughout our stay. Having arrived shortly after eleven, we learned that the rooms would not be available until half-past two - this is not a criticism, as I realise that this is normal practice across the country. Nevertheless, it left us somewhat limited for choice, as my mother is ninety years old with limited mobility, and the temperature outside did not really lend itself much to exploring. My wife and my mother whiled away some time with tea in the attractive Brasserie area, while I took advantage of a pint in the well-appointed Fat Badger Bar adjoining the hotel. The ground floor reception area was ornate, but cold, both in temperature and from a point of view of staff who, whilst very polite, seemed somewhat sombre. After braving the conditions and visiting Betty's Tea Rooms, around a ten minute walk from the hotel (beware the steepness of the hills if you have elderly people in tow), we returned to the hotel at around four finally to check in. I was somewhat surprised to be asked to pay for the rooms up-front - not something I am used to. I was also surprised and less than impressed to be given a surcharge of five pounds for the car-park, on the grounds that it was owned by an independent body. Rather a case of being over a barrel, as there was no discernible public parking close to hand. We were allocated two rooms more or less adjacent on the third floor. I had mentioned my mother's lack of mobility when booking and had requested a room catering for such a guest. Whilst it would be churlish in consequence to be picky, the disabled facilties bore more resemblance to those in a geriatric hotel ward than to those anticipated from an established hotel. My mother's room contained dilapidated and shabby furniture, with no spare socket for the kettle, this necessitating either switching off the televison or the dressing-room light in the event of her requiring a hot drink. Her exterior view was almost completely nullified by the presence of a wall which extended up to within four or five inches of the top of her window, adding to the general gloomy atmosphere. My wife and I experienced the same drab conditions in our room across the corridor, and the same problem finding a spare socket for the kettle. The furniture was tired and surfaces scratched, with a half-smoked cigarette outside on the window sill. The bathroom was cold, with an ancient heater working only spasmodically during the course of our stay. The bed, admittedly, was comfortable. Possibly as a result of accumulated tiredness after five days of travel, none of us was in the mood for dinner, so we are unable to comment on the standard of the fare, other than to say that it looked adequate. With my wife retiring to bed early, my mother and I tried the bar for an hour or so during the course of the evening. Clearly a popular haunt for the locals, but the continual opening and closing of the entrance door reminded us of how cold North Yorkshire can be. A charming and friendly young barmaid smilingly assured me that the said bar could cater for our every need drinkswise - a pity therefore about the unavailability of Angostura bitters, Benedictine and any Brandy other than bog-standard Courvoisier. Not really a criticism, just an observation. The following morning saw us reach the breakfast room at 0916 hours, fourteen minutes before the advertised closing time. Having read and been impressed by the extensive breakfast menu the day before, we hoped that the hotel might redeem itself accordingly. Sadly not. My mother is in the habit of starting with a bowl of fruit and some yoghurt. The latter was advertised, but not to be seen. Fruit existed in the form of a few slices of tired-looking pineapple on a dish. I enquired of the waiter whether this would be replenished in view of the fact that breakfast was still officially running, and he informed me that the chef would make the necessary provision. This he did to the extent that the pineapple was supplemented by a few slices of water melon, most of which had already gone by the time we returned to the buffet table. My wife had fancied some cold meats by way of starter - a few slices were to be seen, but with no bread or similar to accompany them. Tea and coffee were ordered, with a waitress presenting us with a milk jug less than one quarter full for the three of us. I summoned her and requested that it be filled, whereupon she waved her hand to the buffet table, announcing that I could get a refill there. And there I was thinking that it might have been her job instead. My mother ordered two poached eggs, and that is exactly what she got, as apparently toast for the said eggs is an optional extra. Absurd. My kipper was minuscule and swimming in a variety of liquids, none of which enhanced its flavour. Maybe we were just in the wrong place at the wrong time. It was a delight to leave, car park fee notwithstanding, and I am not anticipating a return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duc161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I visited this hotel on business in November 2012. The location and the outside of this hotel is very pleasent as was the welcome from the receptionist on arrivale. The hotel was clean and in very good decrative state and had a relaxed atmosphere. The main problem was the size of the single room I was given. The bed was along one wall which was a little clastraphobic also there was not a lot of space to move. The breakfast was tasty and enjoyable.
A single room overnight for a business trip would be acceptable but not for a longer period.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights over Christmas with my husband.
Fantastic hotel was initially slightly concerned as never stayed in a hotel previously at Christmas. Hotel was great, excellent food, service was great and very friendly and relaxed atmosphere.
Great value for money.
Would stay again.
Only comment would be rooms could be a little larger - ours was small but we didn't spend much time in it.
Great hotel for a Christmas break.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGB115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We found this hotel to be really lovely. The staff were friendly and everything was nicely done. We ate in the restaurant and the food was great, breakfast was super too.
The Fat badger has a great atmosphere and we met some really nice people who added to the feel good factor.
I would recommend this to anyone, its great value for money and just a bit different from other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square, some of the side rooms don't have a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent but the hotel itself could be so much better. Very impressive from the outside and receptionist at check in was very polite. Our room on the second floor was very bright, however it was in need of decorating and was very dusty.The bathroom was small, had powerful shower but was dirty when we arrived. Bed very large but so hard. Breakfast was ok, had to ask for several items and staff not very happy. We visit Harrogate on a regular basis but have stayed in much better equipped hotels. This hotel could be so much better if money was spent on decorating the rooms and updating bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was in a convenient location to the exhibition venue

However, the single room was small , dank and dark . Done up prettily but a ruffled lampshade is no compensation for a hard mattress. The WiFi was terrible . Free WiFI means no wifi! Maybe solo travellers dont get the best of both worlds !

The breakfast laid out was miniscule with bare minimum of choices . My order of scrambled eggs was probably just one egg .
Overall, was ok for a night on a business trip . Wouldnt stay with family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MST77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing