We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - good base for a night in Harrogate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Hart Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for a night a couple of weeks back. A good value hotel if you are looking for a good quality hotel in central Harrogate. Room was tidy and breakfast was very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Used room service late at night after a night out and service was very quick. All in all it was a great place for our stay in Harrogate. Would definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quakerpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,537 - 1,543 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is in a great location it has easy walking distance to the shops and local amenaites, very friendly staff, the restaurant is rather pricey but excellent service and food, lively bar, very nicely refurbished.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockchickNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights (March 2013) at this hotel on a business trip. The hotel is in a great location and has parking (parking in Harrogate is expensive and not easy to find in the town centre). As everything we needed to do was walking distance a £5 charge for a 3 day stay was excellent. All the staff were great. We felt they all actually enjoyed working there. They were friendly and chatty and the receptionist (Georgia) recommended a very good Indian restaurant. The public areas were clean and tidy and overall very well maintained. Our room was number 317 at the front of hotel which had great views and was surprisingly quiet. The room was a fairly good sized room that was clean. The only fault was the bed. It was metal framed, noisey and not the most comfortable (but we have had much worse). We ate in the Brassierie on the first evening and it was very good. The portions could have been bigger but all the food was well cooked and presented very professionally. Afterwards we went into the Fat Badger bar, it was very busy and as there was no seating took some drinks to our room. Another reviewer mentioned the need of a residents lounge and this would be a really good idea as we would have stayed up longer and had more drinks if we could sit in a nice lounge. Cooked breakfast the next morning was good. On the second morning it had snowed overnight and when we went in for breakfast the only tables unused were away from the window. We asked if there was a window table and the waiter offered to clear and reset a table for us before we asked. Overall it was a very good stay and we would recommend the hotel, restaurant and bar. We are probably back in Harrogate again in September and will undoubtedly stay at the White Hart again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dobby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Love love love this hotel! Just cannot rate it highly enough!
Service, friendly helpful staff! outstanding food & just good value for money!
Travelling twice a year on business I would rate this the best by far!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iluvmakeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I ate here on Mother's Day - The food and service were very good. I have no complaints. What leaves a bitter taste is the £5 parking fee. Three of us spent well over £100 for the meal. I just feel it is wrong to charge for the parking. We were in 3 cars, so the cost of the day is boosted by another £15 for 2 hours parking. It's just wrong. This is not central London!

I feel ripped off! Having read other reviews, I am not the only one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Iwasthere07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night with hubby as a treat away from the kids for my birthday. Was a bit unsure through some of the negative comments on trip advisor but was wanting to stop in the MONTPELLIER QUARTER so decided to give it a try. Asked for one of the refurbished rooms and the lady on the phone, Georgia, was extremely helpful and polite but did advise it could not be guaranteed as they don't allocate the rooms until the day before you arrive but would put a note on our booking order. Came in through the back door as we used the hotel car park and the corridors were as gorgeous as in the photos. Couldn't believe I had picked such a winner!!! Our room turned out to be one of the refurbished rooms and was room 218 so as it was on the second floor and right on the corner we had brilliant views of the front and side. It had 2 twin beds made up as a king size bed but you could NOT tell the difference. Beautiful colour scheme of beige, mocha, cream, golds, "distressed" cream furniture and "natual" wood accessories. BEAUTIFUL !!! Staff were all so helpful and happy. We were there on a Friday night and The Fat Badger pub which is part of the hotel was absolutely heaving. Thought there may have been noise when we tried to go asleep but could not hear a thing from downstairs. Went for an extra special meal to "William and Victoria" which was just up the road - less than 30 seconds walk. That too was fabulous. Breakfast the next day was downstairs in the Brasserie. Just a beautiful setting and wonderful cooked food alongside a continental buffet. Even though it rained our whole stay we could not have enjoyed ourself more. My only one little tip would be to have extra sockets around the room...as nowhere to plug in mobiles, hair dryer, straighteners, tongs etc. Had to unplug the light next to the TV as this was the only visible "spare" socket....but my curling tongs would then not reach where the mirror was hung, so had to balance the mirror on a table. Also the windows were not double glazed so quite draughty....but I did solve this by closing the lovely heavy curtains and tucking them behind the radiator. I did not see an issue with paying £5 for hotel parking as you would have to pay in a car park not on hotel grounds . The hotel still have the upkeep of the barrier, tarmac and roofing to maintain so I feel it's only fair that residents who are using the facilities pay for them. A separate lounge for residents would be of benefit as when we returned from our meal out we just went straight to our room as The Fat Badger was so busy - no room to sit down and hubby doesn't like places too busy/crowded. Overall we would without doubt, stay here again and will recommend to all our family and friends. Thank you to all at The White Hart. :) x

Room Tip: Second floor....and ask for a refurbished room - if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treacleownsthistown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

stayed here in January, Loved the shabby chic theme in bedroom. Breakfast was excellent, and food in the bar was nice, although a bit expensive for the amount you got. The only thing missing is a residents lounge, there is nowhere to sit apart from the bar. This hotel is right in the center of Harrogate, handy for all the restaurants, bars and shops. A really lovely stay was had by my husband and myself.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,078 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel & Apartments

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $62 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Hart Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel & Apartments Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing