We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great stay!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, dinner, bed and breakfast. We had a great stay the food was of a really good quality. The restaurant was busy on the Saturday with the usual Christmas parties happening BUT you could not fault the service. It was a great meal.

The room was clean and NOT too hot like you can find in other hotels. It was clean and had the basic amenities.

Location the hotel is great to the leave the car in their own car park for £5 for the duration of your stay (great value unlike other hotels) and is a lovely walk in to he town centre

Above all it was a great stay and we would definitely would return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleater1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    501
    363
    167
    94
See reviews for
183
817
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

When we arrived we were told the car park was full with conference guests who wouldn't be leaving until later. We were given a disc to park on the roads nearby and was told, by the Receptionist, that if we parked outside, she would send somebody to help with the luggage. Less than a minute later we pulled up outside and started to unload the car whilst the same receptionist watched disinterestedly . We ended up leaving the luggage literally dumped in the porch, together with our 84 year old mother whilst we went in search of a car parking space.
When we moved the car later, the "car park full" sign was still on display even though the car park well over half empty .
There were four of us staying in two rooms .Both rooms had been refurbished in "shabby chic" colours (think Farrow & Ball). One was overlooking the esplanade at the front of the Hotel and one was overlooking the back of shops / houses and a brick wall . I know everybody cannot have a room with a view but the second room was very disappointing compared with the first. The bathroom in the second bedroom had a large window, but no radiator and was very cold. There was a blow heater on the wall, this however, only came on sporadically . There was also signs of damp on the walls
We asked to be moved and were given keys to a second room that had not been refurbished & had a view, again of the back of shops , though in this room the windows are partly obscured by a brick parapet wall.. We decided to stick with the first option .
The public rooms are very tastefully decorated & the breakfast was waitress served which was a nice touch, though in common with most hotels, the filtered coffee was only luke warm .
The hotel is in a good position & because of its location i would stay again .I would however make it a condition of my booking that i has a front room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliewoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on our way home from a family weekend wedding to enjoy the pleasures of Harrogate and extend our short break. I booked a 'Lazy Sunday' special and upgraded to a exec. suite, from the moment we checked in till the late check-out Monday lunch time the hotel and staff were superb.
Car parking is at the rear (small fee) the room we had was on the front and was very clean and spacious, the hotel bar was great and busy with 'locals' and offered a great choice of food and drinks.
We ate in the brasserie on the evening as part of the deal and the staff and choice of food was superb, this is a 'must call again' type of hotel and we will definately use this hotel next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was a regular visitor to the bar, the fat badger, but i'm not going again now that i have to pay £5 to park in their car park!! It's ridiculas, i only want a couple of beers, maybe some nibbles, occasionally a meal in the restaurant but i.m not prepared to be ripped off to park!!! Not very good business i'd have said Mr Barker!!!!
Cheers, Chris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

What a find. Great welcome friendly staff on arrival. Stayed for 4 nights whilst working at the Country Living Show. Found all the staff very helpful. Amazing hot full cooked breakfast every morning. Fran even went the extra mile to book the taxi to be ready and waiting for us after breakfast. The standard of service nevered failed us they even looked after us after work. Quality of the food in the Dining Room was high we also enjoyed room service food late at night. Can't wait to bring the menfolk back with us for a weekend stay.Absolutely fantastic stay.

Room Tip: On the third floor no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Director of Sales at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Julie for your comments. We are currently training the Team at The White Hart in customer service to ensure that our staff are always friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile to ensure you enjoy your time with us. Its great to hear that the hard work is paying off. We hope to see you again. Please let me know when you are returning to the Hotel and if there is anything you need during your stay you can contact me on sales@whitehart.net.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

4 of us stayed here last night in 4 separate single rooms. The hotel was perfectly located for a spot of Christmas shopping, situated just a stones throw away from Betty's tea rooms. It is exceptionally well decorated and the big lit lanterns and shabby chic furniture was a welcome we weren't expecting. Our rooms on the second floor mirrored similar styling. They were warm and comfortable with extremely fresh and well laundered sheets. We ate in the hotel restaurant and nothing disappointed. Perfectly decorated with warm beige and cream interior every alcove was trimmed with angel wings and real, well lit Christmas trees. Our waiter (marios?) went out of his way to delight, and the fish and chips and the rib eye steaks were cooked to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble and the value for money was great. The restaurant was busy and we were kept informed at every stage, again the warm ambiance meant any wait was pleasurable. Breakfast in the same restaurant was also perfect the following morning. We will definitely be returning to this hotel again. Perfect :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingthelakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had stayed here some time ago, and the food in the brasserie made it for me then.The hotel rooms have since been refurbished and are now airy, comfortable and a pleasure to be in. If anything, the food and service have got better. The local Pheasant Wellington went down a treat! There is such a pleasant feel about this place, with an eclectic mix of modern and old-fashioned. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolsyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Director of Sales at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
The local Pheasant Wellington is one of my favourite dishes too. !!! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. You may want to take a look at our special offers on the website for when you do decide to return, as next year we will be running Beer Club & Wine Tasting nights with accommodation if required, these nights are a great opportunity to taste a selection of Beer or Wine that has been chosen to compliment and enhance the flavours of the specially selected menu which has been created by our talented Head Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing