We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to being really good, but lets itself down on easy to get right things.”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Close to being really good, but lets itself down on easy to get right things.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

A hotel in a great location for all that Harrogate has to offer. Let me start with the good points. An on site car park for a small fee. A great pub with an exceptional choice of well looked after beers and real ales. Bar meal at lunch time was great! The room was just ok. Clean but too hot and the toilet didn't flush properly. The bed was far too soft for my liking. The main restaurant let itself down each time we went in. Food was good though even if the choice was limited, but missing a side order for dinner and taking 20 minutes to take a breakfast order were minus points. I wouldn't go as far as to recommend this hotel to a frufnd, but I would stay again if the price was right. Just some fine attention to detail would make this hotel really good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleBulgaria15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Director of Sales at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments both constructive and good. I am sorry that the room was too hot for you, as I am sure you can appreciate an old building like ours takes a lot of heating but once warmed through it tends to hold the heat, we are in the process of addressing this matter as to best accommodate all of our guests requirements.

Please feel free to comment at Reception any matters that you are unhappy with such as the toilet not flushing or the bed been too soft, as we do have a team of staff who will be more than willing to try and rectify your issues whilst you are staying with us . I would appreciate if you could email me your Surname and date of stay to sales@whitehart.net so I can double check the mattress that you had in that particular room, as of yet I have not received any comments about the beds and I know how important they are for a good nights sleep.

We are currently in the process of training all of our Staff on customer service and standards to ensure we are meeting all of our guests needs and to make sure they are getting the order right first time and also not to keep the guests waiting.

Thank you once again for all of your valuable feed back, as always it is appreciated and I can ensure acted upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    510
    367
    168
    92
See reviews for
191
835
49
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just hope that nothing goes wrong for you whilst you stay there. The duty manager is the most unprofessional member of hotel staff we have ever met!!! Don't complain afterwards, absolutely nothing gets done and he will probably just carry on being as unprofessional as ever. Will not return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa-Jane B, Director of Sales at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I sincerely apologies for the way that your complaint was handled during your stay. I would like to take the time to discuss this matter further with you. Please feel free to email me on sales@whitehart.net with your details and I will call you at a time that is convenient to receive your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Very good location right in the middle of Montpellier quarter.lots of real ale pubs around and the fat badger pub which is part of the hotel is one of the best and reasonable priced too . The room was a bit dated and on the top floor round the back with a rubbish view of a brick wall not worth £120 pounds for the night. Apparently the middle floor been renovated which would have been better.breakfast was really nice and staff friendly would go back again but only in a renovated room .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

A fantastic hotel in a great location with good food, good bar with a great selection of local ales. Rooms are of a good standard comfortable and warm especially during the cold periods. The addition of the Harrogate Christmas market across the road from the hotel made a wonderful extra which was not expected. Well worth staying here for any event in Harrogate

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPTigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Went to the fat badger pub part of the hotel for a reasonably priced wine and guinness. interior devor was retro and very good. Cool lights over the bar. staff pleasant and helpful. good atmosphere. a real mixture of furniture but worked really well. some very odd art work on the walls

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just had 2 wonderful nights in this beautiful hotel. Fantastic location for shops, right in the middle of town. The hotel is a tad querky too!! Very busy in the evenings so if you want to eat in....book!! Breakfast is supurb and i recommend the scrambled eggs they are the best ive ever had. The staff are amazingly friendly and helpful for such a big and busy hotel. Afternoon tea at the hotel is a must too but its very popular so once again book! Lastly if you get the chance go and visit Betty's Tea Room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipgloss26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A shabby chic style hotel
staff very friendly
rooms a little dark and lack of electric sockets for kettle breakfast very nice
great position within walking distance of shopping areas in Harrogate
Parking on site £2 for 24 hrs
A little expensive at £75 but it is Harrogate

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,298 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing