We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor afternoon tea.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
White Hart Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We took the in-laws here today as a treat. We ordered afternoon tea and were SO disappointed! The tiny pots of tea came out 20 minutes before the cakes/sandwiches which meant we had finished our tea before any food arrived. The service was poor and rude, and when the food came I was extremely disappointed by the TINY portions. 3 bitesize boring cakes, 1 scone and 3 tiny finger sandwiches...hardly £16 worth of food. The food itself was ok at best but not very exciting - definitely missing the special occasion or treat factor you would hope for. The general experience was poor....avoid if you can. It is overpriced and the quality/service is rubbish.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmcoopz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,652 - 1,658 of 1,726 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2011

My partner and I have just returned from a relaxing 3 days break at the White Hart and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the new decor and the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. What was a surprise was that the quality of the food we ate in 'The Fat Badger' bar was far better than we would have expected in a bar or 3* hotel. I'm still swooning at the memory of the chocolate brownie desert - so beautifully presented with a cone of home-made ice-cream, milk sorbet and sour cherries, that we took a photo!

It seems that the locals appreciate the new ambiance of the Fat Badger, in a town that does not seem to have many pubs - this means there's a lively atmosphere but there can be noise from customers outside the bar at night if your room is above it.

Our standard room was just that - a typical hotel room. Plain, modern decor, new carpet and comfortable new bed and modern en-suite with strangely shallow bath (eco-friendly water-saving measure, maybe?)

Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and it was great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room - ie at the back fo the hotel to avoid traffic and bar noise. Windows are origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footsoreinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Took my 10 year old son for afternoon tea at the White Hart. Tea room is beautifully decorated; we sat at a window seat which was lovely but the window sills should have been dusted.
George ordered a small salad Nicoise which arrived within 5 mins. The salad was topped with two small tuna steaks which was incredible value. George told the manager that it was the best Nicoise he'd ever had and I have to say that it looked fab. I ordered afternoon tea but this didn't arrive until nearly 25 mins after George's salad. The tearoom manager was very apologetic and said that this was very unusual. She offered complimentary drinks and was about to offer a complimentary afternoon at a later date, when my tea arrived.

Tea consisted of finger sandwiches (delicious), 6 small desserts, fruit scone/jam/clotted cream (very generous offering of the latter two) and a "Fat Badger". The scone and the pistachio cake were still warm. Everything was just delicious. Given that I shared (a little bit of!) the dessert with George, we were both stuffed full.

The staff were very, very friendly and were genuinely apologetic about the delay in the arrival of my afternoon tea. Before we left, the manager presented us with a huge concoction of ice cream, fruit, marshmallows, jelly which they said was from the kitchen by way of an apology for the delay in serving my tea. We struggled!!

Many people who visit Harrogate make a bee-line for Betty's, particularly for afternoon tea. I love Betty's and find it hard to fault but you can't book and, regardless of time of year, you will have to queue for a long time to get a table. I would seriously suggest that you head for The White Hart. No queues, great food and service. You can always call into Betty's afterwards and buy something from the shop in order to say that you've been. Spend the time you'd have gained from not queuing looking around the lovely shops down that end of town. For those of you who are arriving with a coach tour, the White Hart is adjacent to the coach drop-off point.

Would also add that the tea room wasn't busy. Two ladies at another table had three babies with them. The staff were brilliant with the babies and, I feel, made the mums feel very welcome.

Would have given a five if it hadn't been for the delay in service of my tea. Had we both received our food at the same time, I'd have no hesitation in awarding a 5 rating for the White Hart tearoom.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iggymarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

we stopped for 3 nights along with two doddery OAPs and the staff were wonderful with them really helpful and caring. the location is superb with the entrance to valley park just around the corner and a green area right in front of the hotel yet its right on the edge of the shopping areas,our room was absolutely fine quite cozy and comfy as was the singles booked for the OAPs, breakfast was waiter service with quality ingredintsand beautifully cooked .will definitely consider this hotel again if we go back to harrogate

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel have nice views over a green area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to visit my mother in law and celebrate her ninetieth birthday.
Our room on the third floor did not have a great view but was spacious, warm, comfortable and clean. The bed was a little hard. The bathroom was standard European. Breakfast was continental and / or full - tasty and well served. The breakfast room was airy and well appointed - decorate in a French "shabby-chic" style.
We had booked a room for a family lunch time celebration for 17 for my Mother in law's party on the Staurday. Having foregathered in the Fat Badger - the very popular lunch time bar - we were shown into a large and airy separate dining room with a table set for lunch. We had superb service and the food was really good. We were allowed to decorate the room with banners and balloons. One of the waitresses went home to pick up a i-pod speaker stand fro our music - because the hotel had mislaid theirs - how's that for service. We finished with cakes and candles. Everybody stayed on after the meal not wanting to depart. We weren't charged for the room and the bill - was a great surprise - really good value for money.
Well done White Hart - we'll come again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROZNBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The White Hart is in great location with excellent free parking. All the public areas look lovely. Good restaurant and food great in the bar. Our room was however hideous and all rather like being in a care home. Nothing at all like the photo of a standard double on the website.It was clean but very scruffy.Bare mattress on show as there was no valance, bare walls painted a sludgy colour, scratched and chipped furniture and a bank of sockets and plugs behind your pillow as no headboard. The bathroom was kitted out for the disabled with a red emergeny pull cord and hand rails by the toilet and bath and no blind at the window. We had to erect a towel as although the glass was frosted your silouette would still be visible from outside. All in all very dreary. We asked at reception to move rooms, but were abruptly told that none were available as it was 'a Saturday night in Harrogate' and when we commented on the bathroom the receptionist said they were the same in every room.She was most unhelpful and with hindsight wished we'd asked to speak to the manager

Room Tip: NOT room 224 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

small dirty room with shabby furniture.Far too expensive for what it offers,Location is good

Room Tip: ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel & Apartments

Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $59 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel & Apartments Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing