We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

on arrival i thought the hotel looked lovely although the receptionist was not over friendly .
the room was small and basic but appeared clean . however after returning from a meal with my colleagues and going up to bed , i pulled the covers back to a large wet yellow stain !!!! not rocket science to see the bed had been urinated on . i immediately got my colleague to my room along with the night staff who offered me another mattress as all rooms where full . i was so angry i had to share a single bed with a female colleague .

In the morning i went to reception and without any apology got told there was no more rooms and i had to wait for general manager . On speaking to him i STILL got no apology or explanation , they just said they had no idea how it happened ???

customer service , shocking . they were as friendly as rottweilers and this hotel made Fawlty Towers look like a 5* .

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly_morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    470
    348
    162
    89
See reviews for
166
768
48
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We booked the hotel 3 months ago fortunately we only live twenty miles away. Arrived in harrogate and was suitably impressed with the imposing exterior, we were then given the keys to room 104 a standard double. Worst 3- 4 star hotel room have EVER seen. Small dark dirty and with the joy of a scenic view - a wide array of open waste bins (you could actualy just about touch them through the open window). The shower was a minute pre fab cubicle i am six one and my head was just about touching the roof and my arms were rubbing up the sides. The soap dispenser was empty the enclosure had dirty marks both in side and out, the offwhite towels were shoved at random in an untidy heap on a rail, we wont talk about some of the other things that were wrong with the rooms. We asked for another room - when we went to reception we were told they didnt have another room - when asked if one 104 was typical and i quote "we do have some nice rooms - some not all and we clearly didnt warrant them!!! Looking at the general state of the room bin area and kitchen staff we saw outside would be very wary of eating anything that came out of the kitchen
You have been warned !! peter the guy that owns the place clearly has no idea - i work in leeds and had heard so many good stories about the revamped badger - i will now counter in every firm of lawyers , accountants and insolvency practituiners i visit

Picture attached and the camera doesnt lie

save your money or stay at one of the other excellent hotels in harrogate

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevincharles3995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Can't complain about anything. The room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was good and made to order. Staff were good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Service a lot better now after a few teething problems ,just finished a lovely meal in the brasserie

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a wonderful time here. The hotel has been beautifully refubished. The restaurant has been updated and is lovely. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive. I would recomend it without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186411Flower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I took my dad last night for his 65th birhday where we were joined by 11 other family members and friends., What can i say, Amazing. The food was fantastic the service was excilent they could not do anymore for us, we were all blown away with the whole evening so thank you very much to the whole team for giving my dad a great night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewartBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddieCambridge
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

The rooms are shabby and dirty. More like a youth hostel than a hotel. Tiles in the bathroom cracked. No shampoo. No wi fi in the room - you have to go down to reception - in a town that relies upon conference visitors this is just unacceptable. Very poor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: Cold Bath Road, Harrogate HG2 0NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Harrogate's elegant Montpellier Quarter, this historic hotel offers both bedrooms and serviced apartments and is just a few minutes' walk from Harrogate International Centre. It has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. Many rooms overlook The Stray and all benefit from complimentary toiletries by H2K of Harrogate, a flat-screen TV and 24 hour room service. The Fat Badger Grill boasts 2 AA Rosettes and offers an a la carte menu featuring classic British food with a contemporary twist. The Fat Badger Pub serves real ales and modern British pub grub. The majority of bars, restaurants and shops in Harrogate's town centre can all be reached within a five minute walk. Harrogate Rail and Bus stations are both within 10 minutes' walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing