We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & convenient - 3 C's couldn't want better”
Review of April House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
April House
Ranked #28 of 101 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & convenient - 3 C's couldn't want better”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Large room with modern en- suite shower room, I agree with other reviewer that two easy chairs in the bedroom was very welcome, the room itself was very clean and well presented and a view of flowering horse chestnuts out of the large windows pleasant given the close proximity of the town centre and the International Conference Centre. Very quiet location with good free parking outside.

I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
105
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Recently stayed at April house, Ruth was a very genuine lady and very down to earth can not fault ruth she is funny too and goes out her way to make conversation however David got a bit snotty when an accident occurred due to a medical problem! Then were charged for it, the breakfast was nice although no beans not sure if that's just the way harrogate eat there's mind! I was told before arrival that smokers were allowed in the garden out the back however were sent on the front not a good look for advertisement, if your a young couple and may stay out a little later than usual please stay somewhere else as this is a very quiet house and I can imagine we were loud when coming in so not nice for the owners plus you can here everything in a morning from people to leaving the rooms to the dog barking , if you are just wanting a peaceful getaway and are a little older then this Is ur ideal place as its very quiet, I felt a little uncomfortable when leaving due to the small talk David was giving and my fiancé was very unimpressed with the way he spoke to him the night before over an accident.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshirebird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aprilhouse, Owner at April House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
What can I say? Rather than respond at length to this review, I will let the reader form their own opinion of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed with Ruth and David. They were once again welcoming and helpful. Our room was bright and clean and included really comfortable chairs which I do not often find in bed and breakfast rooms. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. It is an easy walk into the centre for restaurants etc. I would certainly recommend April House and stay there again when in Harrogate

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My partner and I took my parents on a 3 night break to Harrogate - 25th to 27th April 2013. We could not have made a better choice of a place to stay than April House. Ruth and David are a charming and most welcoming couple and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The rooms were spotless, tastefully decoratied and furnished. If you can, book the bay fronted superior room as it is light and elegant with a lovely view down the tree lined residential street. David went out of his way to make my mother feel 'at home' by organising a newspaper for her each morning at breakfast. The location of April House could not be better: in a quiet road of grand Victorian houses, yet only a few minutes walk to the town centre with its wide choice of restaurants, shops etc. Thank you Ruth and David for helping make our stay in Harrogate most enjoyable.

Room Tip: The large bay fronted Superior Room is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecoadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've never written a review before, but I feel compelled to. As a couple we are used to staying in travelodge holiday inn etc places, but April House lovely charm to it that has added to our experience of Harrogate in an unforgettable way.

Lots of positives
Friendly service, tidy and clean room, easy car parking, quiet area, short walk to town (5 to 10 mins) with a brilliant breakfast included. Certainly beats any travelodge/ holiday inn etc experience as April House has a certain loveable character and charm to it.

No negatives to think of.

Hope this all helps,

Stephen

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

April house was clean and comfortable, ensuite, with a kettle in the room too. David and Ruth were very welcoming and straightforward to deal with. Quality breakfast cooked to order. I will come back next time I'm in Harrogate.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

An absolutely BnB, friendly people and wonderfully cooked breakfast.
The house has great features, lovely ornaments and interesting paintings.
Close to town and on a quiet street, it was lovely to sleep in a big comfy bed with an electric fire by my side!

I visited for work, but if you are looking for a place to go Harrogate is a lovely town with plenty of things to do and this is the perfect place to start your morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Shannon Court Guesthouse
Shannon Court Guesthouse
#22 of 101 in Harrogate
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#4 of 101 in Harrogate
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fountains Guesthouse
The Fountains Guesthouse
#14 of 101 in Harrogate
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wynnstay House
Wynnstay House
#25 of 101 in Harrogate
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#18 of 101 in Harrogate
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray House
Murray House
#32 of 101 in Harrogate
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to April House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about April House

Property: April House
Address: 3 Studley Road, Harrogate HG1 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — April House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your April House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
April House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing