We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many Thanks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexa House
Ranked #61 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Many Thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I have just had the pleasure of working in North Yorkshire for a few months, and I was based in Harrogate at The Alexa House. Sandra is the perfect hostess, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean, and tidy with Freeview TV and free Wi-Fi. Car parking is secure round the back of the hotel.Breakfast is great, and served with a smile!! North Yorkshire is a beautiful county, especially The Dales, and I would definitely recommend visiting. Make Alexa House your base, and you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The stable accomodation in the car park is handy if you're a smoker!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thanks Martin
It’s been a pleasure having you here... a friendly guest first thing in a morning has made my day.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay... and yes this part of North Yorkshire is beautiful isn’t it.
Looking forward to seeing you again hopefully
Kind regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    36
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
15
69
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed one night, the room was really nicely decorated, clean and spacious. We had a few drinks from the bar, sat in the garden and enjoyed the evening. The host was very welcoming, breakfast was superb, and in all we would definitely recommend Alexa House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vik145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am pleased you enjoyes your stay... fantastic weather, lovely to be able to sit outside wasn't it.
Hope to see you both again
Kind regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Needed a place to stay at short notice and found this on expedia, nice room very private in an annexe at the rear of the hotel. Great breakfast, all in all a little pricey for what it was but I did book through expedia, will book direct next time and get a better price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Am am glad you enjoyed your stay... I try me best for every guest... your remarks are important to me.
Harrogate is an expensive place to stay but as you know the best rates are by phoning me directly
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Booked at the last minute during the week of the GY show . Our room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. I am only 5 foot but couldn't lie down in the bath!! .However it was clean and nicely furnished and the owner and her staff were welcoming .Breakfast was good with a wide choice and service was prompt with out being rushed .Food was clearly cooked to order ,but arrived surprisingly quickly given the numbers eating .We were able to walk into the town in a few minutes .We were in the attic and the room was very stuffy ,opening the small window was not much benefit and let in the noise of the traffic on a busy road. I think when we get our rare heat waves a fan or some form of cooling device is needed .Perhaps a little overpriced for the accommodation but we were there at a premium time & so understandable. On the whole would recommend and would return . Would rate as good .

Room Tip: I suspect avoid the 2 attic rooms and you will be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I am sorry you felt that your room was small
You did book a standard double not a king or superior room.
I know it was warm... it was for once a hot and sunny day for the Great Yorkshire Show
Sad as we spend last year complaining about how wet it was to have to complain about the heat this year
Enjoy the rest of the summer
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our short stay at Alexa Guest House while up in Harrogate visiting friends.

Our on-suite double room was small but perfectly formed. Flat screen TV, Taylor's tea and White Company toiletries were all nice surprises.

Breakfast was excellent with all locally sourced ingredients. Highly recommend the poached eggs!

My reason for not hit the 5th star was the size of the bed. Slightly too short for me (6' 2) so had that ankle overhang thing going on. This is a minor point and we will be staying here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eppingphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
So glad you had a great time
Do come again soon
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night break to the Alexa House in Harrogate 30/05 - 01/06. The day before we arrived an email was received to explain that the host would not be able to greet us on arrival as she had a meeting to attend but gave us instructions that our key would be in the key safe next to the front door. Our room was a deluxe double on front of house, small amount of road noise but didn't bother us, you have a great choice for breakfast, fruit juices, cereals, fruit and full cooked English, tea or coffee. The lounge had a bar where you helped yourself and just wrote in the book what you had. Our host was very informative of local area and the centre of Harrogate is just 5-10 minutes walk away where there's plenty of shops and restaurants. We had re-booked an afternoon tea at the Old Swan Hotel just down the road which was delicious and well worth the money, we also visited Harlow Carr RHS gardens on our second day and was a great day out, we spent over six hours walking round the gardens stopping arond lunch time at Betty's cafe within the actual gardens but if you miss this one there is another Betty's as you leave next to the entrance. Our hosts name was Sandra who we would like to thank for our very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justice01Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Harrogate
I hope you have a lovely summer
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brewood, staffs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Sandra who advised on breakfast times and the honesty bar. The guest house itself is located in a brilliant location and a gentle 10 minute stroll takes you to the heart of Harrogate (just turn left out of the front gate and not right like we did!). We enjoyed just one night at the hotel and our bedroom was very clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. The ensuite was again spotless and the shower worked perfectly. Breakfast was superb - no complaints at all. On the whole we enjoyed our short stay and would definitely recommend Alexa House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna and paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am pleased you had a lovely time.
I wonder how far you would have walked in the wrong direction? Ripon is lovely but perhaps the shops would have been closed by the time you got there.
Thank you for the review
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Camberley
The Camberley
#10 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Lodge Guest House
Spring Lodge Guest House
#60 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#57 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#8 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#5 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acomb Lodge
Acomb Lodge
#55 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexa House

Property: Alexa House
Address: 26 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexa House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexa House is a beautifully restored detached Victorian property with ample free parking, situated just a short stroll from the town. The Conference & Exhibition Halls are close by so it is the ideal place to enjoy a visit to Harrogate whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alexa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexa House Hotel Harrogate
Alexa House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing