We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Alexa House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexa House
Ranked #59 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night break to the Alexa House in Harrogate 30/05 - 01/06. The day before we arrived an email was received to explain that the host would not be able to greet us on arrival as she had a meeting to attend but gave us instructions that our key would be in the key safe next to the front door. Our room was a deluxe double on front of house, small amount of road noise but didn't bother us, you have a great choice for breakfast, fruit juices, cereals, fruit and full cooked English, tea or coffee. The lounge had a bar where you helped yourself and just wrote in the book what you had. Our host was very informative of local area and the centre of Harrogate is just 5-10 minutes walk away where there's plenty of shops and restaurants. We had re-booked an afternoon tea at the Old Swan Hotel just down the road which was delicious and well worth the money, we also visited Harlow Carr RHS gardens on our second day and was a great day out, we spent over six hours walking round the gardens stopping arond lunch time at Betty's cafe within the actual gardens but if you miss this one there is another Betty's as you leave next to the entrance. Our hosts name was Sandra who we would like to thank for our very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justice01Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Harrogate
I hope you have a lovely summer
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

On arrival we received a very warm welcome from Sandra who advised on breakfast times and the honesty bar. The guest house itself is located in a brilliant location and a gentle 10 minute stroll takes you to the heart of Harrogate (just turn left out of the front gate and not right like we did!). We enjoyed just one night at the hotel and our bedroom was very clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. The ensuite was again spotless and the shower worked perfectly. Breakfast was superb - no complaints at all. On the whole we enjoyed our short stay and would definitely recommend Alexa House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna and paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

I am pleased you had a lovely time.
I wonder how far you would have walked in the wrong direction? Ripon is lovely but perhaps the shops would have been closed by the time you got there.
Thank you for the review
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Had been looking forward to staying as it had been my family home as a small child in the early 60s and although I couldn't really remember any detail it didn't disappoint. Very clean and comfortable rooms and very relaxed atmosphere. Sandra had advised us in advance that she may be out when we were due to arrive but left very clear instructions on the key safe and all worked fine. As others have said great breakfast and also great location, only a 5min walk to the town centre.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you Martin

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Your old home is still a beautiful house and I will continue to look after it carefully.

Come again soon

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights 11 - 15 April 2013. Clean and comfortable but being in the front 1st floor room broadband did not reach, due to a problem probably with interference from next door. If having broadband is important to you check first. They may have solved the problem by now.

The en suite shower water flow was weak and on the Sunday morning when the B&B was full the water reduced a a dribble. In fact I had to abandon my shower as the little water that was coming out was cold!

However for accommodation in Harrogate overall our stay was comfortable with a good freshly cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broomfondle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Yes you are right we have sorted the WiFi... Apple to the rescue so we now have full signal again all over the house.
I'm really sorry you struggled but if you hadn't told me I would never have know so thank you.
Kind regards from all at Alexa House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Relaxing. Fantastically well appointed. Even down to cotton buds in the bathroom. Beautiful breakfast. Amazing service. Would definitely stay there again. Made our stay truly wonderful. Even allowed us a late check out to the minute as the bed was so comfy

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misbehavious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Harrogate is a lovely place to chill isn't it.

From all at Alexa House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Alexa , when we arrived Sandra introduced herself and asked if we had been to Harrogate before and as we hadn't she gave us a map and directions advise about what to see and where to eat that was very helpful . The room was light and airy with a very comfortable bed , I do not normally sleep well when away from home and was out for the count ( could have been a combination of lots of walking and good food ! ). Breakfast was good a full selection of cereal and fruit followed by a cooked breakfast I had the kippers and would recommend .
Free car park and a stroll in to the town very convenient location .

Thank you for a lovely stay we will be back next time we come to Harrogate .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyM154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

I am so please you both enjoyed yourselves.
The food at Mirabelle is delicious but as you found out there are lots of lovely places to eat so I hope we will see you again in the near future.
Thank you for the lovely review from all at Alexa House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a one night stay at the Alexa House, the room was very comfortable and clean , the staff very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent. A good location, only a 10 min walk into town.
The only negative was the shower, not much power and not very hot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the house get a lot of sun but some road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneH732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexa_HouseHarrogate, Owner at Alexa House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I am please you enjoyed your visit to Harrogate and Alexa House
I really sorry about the lack of hot water on the morning of your stay. This was due to having a new gas meter and the engineer failing to re-light the water heater boiler. Luckily after having a cold shower early in the morning myself we found out and lit it immediately, it does take a bit of time to get back up to temperature.
All the best Alexa House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,452 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yorkshire Hotel
The Yorkshire Hotel
#21 of 30 in Harrogate
1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#64 of 98 in Harrogate
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The George
The George
#27 of 98 in Harrogate
63 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Market Tavern
The Market Tavern
#9 of 15 in Knaresborough
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Harrogate Brasserie Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexa House

Address: 26 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $77 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexa House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexa House is a beautifully restored detached Victorian property with ample free parking, situated just a short stroll from the town. The Conference & Exhibition Halls are close by so it is the ideal place to enjoy a visit to Harrogate whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alexa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexa House Hotel Harrogate
Alexa House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing