We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Ranked #2 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The B&B was clean and tastefully decorated, our room was lovely with a great whirlpool bath. The host and hostess were very helpful and the breakfast was also good. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 461 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic bed and breakfast situated in a quiet tree lined avenue within walking distance of the town centre. Rooms are beautifully decorated with plush linen and lovely jacuzzi bath. First class hosts who make you feel at home the minute you arrive. Book direct for the best price and consider choosing some of the extras to make your stay even more memorable. I very rarely stay in the same place twice but will certainly return if I come back to Harrogate.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank unfitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I try to get away as much as we can for short breaks in the UK, and have often tried to assess what makes a really great place to stay. I think we have found the answer in Acorn Lodge, and a big part of that is Phil, the owner. It’s hard to put your finger on what makes him such a great host, but it is a combination of warmth, friendliness, efficiency and a genuine desire to ensure that his guests have the best possible stay they can. Acorn Lodge is a real home from home, and is comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the Jacuzzi bath in Room 6 is a really relaxing way to spend half an hour or so (just be careful not to drop your book in like I managed to!) The location is perfect: a short walk in to Harrogate on a quiet street with some lovely houses nearby to nosey at! Phil is attentive and knowledgeable, and was happy to recommend a few places to see and eat, and we ate in one of the local restaurants, Bed, which is heartily recommended. Despite eating out each night, we managed a full English breakfast every day we were there, as after tasting it on the first morning we couldn’t resist. Local produce, expertly cooked and Phil is happy to amend it to match your exact requirements, which is surprisingly rare in the B and B world (or certainly rare to get it right!). Phil, we will definitely be back, and have already recommended you to a number of family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Acorn Lodge in the superior suite . The room was clean, warm, and had a homely feel to it . The furnishings looked fresh and luxurious and the jacuzzi bath was extremely welcoming after a long days shopping ! Everywhere was within walking distance with plenty to see and do . Our hosts were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The breakfast menu was vast with plenty of choice and was cooked to perfection .We will definitely be staying there again as soon as we can and have had no hesitation in recommending Acorn Lodge to our family and friends . Thank you both for a most enjoyable stay .

Room Tip: room two has a two person jacuzzi .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

My daughter and I spent a weekend in Harrogate for Christmas shopping. We were in Room 7 on the top floor in a twin room. Everything was presented beautifully, was clean and the room had everything one would need for a weekend break. Beds, duvets etc extremely comfortable and very home from home atmosphere. Excellent location near town centre (walking distance) but in a quiet cul de sac with the added bonus of parking space. Phillip was a great guy - the perfect "host". Will definitely come back to the town and stay here next year with my husband.

Room Tip: We were on the front of the house but as cul-de-sac very quiet. Will book double when come again so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Acorn Lodgefor two nights recently and we cannot speak highly enough of this great little guest house which is situated in a quiet area of Harrogate. Phillip and Abi made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast menu had everything you could wsh for. The town is within easy walking distance and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Me & my wife stayed at the Acorn Lodge for 2 nights in room 7, which is on the top floor and is accessed via two flights of stairs that may be difficult for those with any mobility problems. The room was reasonably spacious, had twin beds, an accommodating wardrobe and an en-suite shower unit, all presented in a very clean condition. The Lodge is in a quiet location above the town and about 10/15 minutes walk to the central shopping area and many quality restaurants. Breakfast includes fruit, juices, cereals & freshly prepared hot dishes using local produce For those who have never visited Harrogate before, it is a beautiful town, with quality shopping & restaurants (over 130) serving food to suit any palate. It is also an ideal base to visit North Yorks, & York City is an enjoyable 40 minute train ride (£8.00 cheap day return). So, if you are tempted try the Acorn Lodge, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#7 of 83 in Harrogate
565 reviews
2 mi away
Hazel Manor
Hazel Manor
#1 of 83 in Harrogate
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#10 of 83 in Harrogate
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Lodge Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Lodge Harrogate

Address: 1 Studley Road, Harrogate HG1 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $90 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Lodge Harrogate 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philip, Alison and family offer a very warm welcome to Acorn Lodge and are pleased to offer you a relaxing stay at our beautiful guest house located on a quiet tree line avenue just minutes walk from the heart of the historic Spa town of Harrogate, and a short stroll from the International Conference Centre. The delightful Yorkshire Dales, Moors and Coast are right on our doorstep as are the bustling cities of York and Leeds. We pride ourselves on high standards of friendly service and so ensure you have a relaxing and pleasant stay. We believe that a few things to make your stay relaxing and comfortable are key - relaxing decor, comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms with power showers, some with whirlpool baths, fluffy bath sheets and a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice all in a convenient yet quiet location. All this - with the essential ingredient of a welcoming, high standard of service - is what Acorn Lodge is all about. We look forward to welcoming you to Acorn Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn Lodge Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Lodge Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing