We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Colmenar, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The welcome by the receptionist was outstanding, I know Harrogate well as I lived there for many years before moving away. The room was very good, however there should be two easy chairs in the room. Very clean and we suffered NO noise. The restaurant was very good and value for money if decided on the special of the day, the staff were very attentive and nothing was to much trouble. Premier Inns should be wary as the price whilst high, one could similar B&B's in the area which can offer the same value.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRPMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was everything and more you expected it to be. we pride ourselves on providing a friendly and preofessional service. I hope you enjoyed your stay in Harrogate, and that you will return one day to see us.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    261
    79
    23
    13
See reviews for
213
342
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and this is a lovely clean modern hotel with the typically spacious bedroom, nice bathroom and with friendly helpful staff. The hot breakfasts were always cooked to your choice and the service by the breakfast staff excellent.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from Hornbeam Park rail station for access to Harrogate/Knaresboough or in the opposite direction to Leeds.
My only negative comment is that sometimes noise can be heard from corridors/adjacent rooms.Otherwise very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidL952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us, and that we met with all your needs for your short break.

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

From check-in to check out everyone was lovely, helpful and genuine!!
The location was fab for Harrogate centre! The reception staff were very knowledgable and the evening and breakfast staff in the adjoining reastaurant fab!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsheedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here, and that the staff were able to provide the service and friendliness with which we pride ourselves on.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds ,UK
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Whoever is responsible for turning the Premier group into its present format deserves a Knighthood. They took a group of cheap and nasty hotels in grim locations and turned them into destinations. Genius!
The Harrogate building is from the old era and so is not very good at soundproofing, you hear the late night revellers coming in! The shower is feeble, no air-con. But it is spotless, the tradesmen do a great job at fit and finish in the rooms and they supply everything a visitor needs without the bells and whistles that bump up the price. On a September Saturday they were pretty full.
Breakfast is a bargain and the staff were brilliant.

Room Tip: 101 near the kitchen, you can hear the fans if you want an open window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 enjoyable nights over a weekend in the middle of September. The location of the Inn is very convenient

for Harrogate and the surrounding area. Harrogate itself can be easily reached using the local train station but we

decided to walk and that proved to be no effort and we were in the centre of Harrogate within 30 minutes. The staff

at the Premier were very helpful and were most helpful with any enquires that we made and nothing seemed to be no

trouble for them. The Check In/Check Out process was carried out with the minimum of hassle.
The rooms itself were clean and basic and just suited our needs and the breakfast next door in The Park was also

most enjoyable and was enough to keep us going until the evening meal.
I liked the little communications (emails & Text messages) that we received prior to the arrival date and this with

the personal service made the stay a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind response. It sounds like we were able to offer you a most enjoyable stay as you well deserved.

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having stayed at many Premier Inns all of which have been more than acceptable I would commend this particular Inn.
Location is good, standard of cleanliness and decoration good but above all the staff in the Inn and it's adjacent "TableTable" restaurant were exceptional in making one feel that the customer really is king!!
For a chain operation this site takes some beating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyN278, Manager at Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were made to feel so special.

We very much look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards
Emily Nutton
Premier Inn Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We're regular users of Premier Inns, this was our first visit to this hotel and we found it a little below the standard we usually get.

The location is great, close to the Hornbeam Park rail station which serves the York-Leeds line - trains every half hour into Harrogate (one stop, less than 5 minutes). There's plenty of parking in front and to the rear of the building (entrances on both into the hotel). The hotel is just off Hookstone Road, a busy minor road - some rooms face this (ours did) and with open windows you do get some traffic noise - not to a level that bothered us, but if you're easily disturbed avoid this side.

Staff were welcoming on arrival, followed the usual formats of "just in case you change your mind" over breakfast being declined and did offer & book a table in the attached restaurant.

Our room was fairly standard in fitments, though the one real annoyance was the television which was an old-style small screen Philips (the last few have been Samsung, wide-screen format even when the size has been small). It had an on-off switch on the top (a label had been put in front of it - just as well as it was above my head height so I couldn't see it, only feel it). As usual there was one upright chair and a settee - the settee was such a distance from the TV (at least 10 feet) that binoculars would have been handy!

The bathroom was a little odd in layout & fittings - the toilet flush buttons were behind the seat lid when that was raised; the shaver point was next to the basin rather than the detergent dispenser which was on the opposite wall to the other side of the toilet (the dispenser over the bath was nearer the basin).

On arrival there was only one towel in the bathroom - the single hand towel was with the second larger towel on the wardrobe shelf (all previous PIs have had both sizes in the bathroom). We also realised that the bathmat was badly frayed and very thin when we came to use it - if we'd spotted it before we would have asked for a replacement. Both used towels & the bath mat were changed after one day despite the "green" tag attached to the towel rail & us hanging the towels up.

Overall the room was clean though the decor was getting past its "best before" - the joint in the bedhead cover was beginning to split open and the actual head a little loose on one side. The mattress also was different to our usual PI experience - each separate spring could clearly be felt & one would occasionally "ping" which at first was a bit alarming. I don't know whether it was old or a different make, but I prefer the ones we've had elsewhere!

Overall I had a good stay, just felt it was a bit below the PI norm based on recent stays elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CheresX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
Address: Millen House Hornbeam Park Drive | Hornbeam Park, Harrogate HG2 8RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of beautiful Harrogate, including events down the road at the Yorkshire Event Centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Harrogate Hotel Harrogate
Harrogate Premier Inn
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing