We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punjab cuisine at its best!”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Ranked #19 of 446 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Punjab cuisine at its best!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I were visiting from Manchester on business. We chose the Shalimar based on it's mainly positive comments on Trip Advisor and close proximity to our hotel The White Hart. Jamil and his team were extremely welcoming and great fun. I was recommended a spicy traditional punjabi dish served on a hot plate with fresh chile and ginger, a firework display in my mouth! Gorgeous fresh flavours. It was the nicest curry I have had in a long time and most importantly the staff were light hearted and humorous giving us a most enjoyable all over dining experience. I would recommend this place to any curry lover without hesitation. Can't wait to go back! (Maybe tonight before we travel home!)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    675
    129
    55
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Place Superb Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a meal in this restaurant on 4th March and it was superb, the staff we warm and friendly the place is spacious and nice atmosphere. The menu has varied choice and the food is great. We order there special menu off the board outside the restaurant we had a mixed starter and mains. The food was the best i have tasted for a while. The restaurant is easily located in the centre of Harrogate so wasn't far to walk. Definitely recommend this restaurant to any one visiting Harrogate would go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food with great staff”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant food, fresh, tasty and buckets of choice. The Staff made a great effort and were very friendly. The menu is varied with spice for all. We had the fish starter and the fish was beautifully cooked to perfection. I will definitely be returning soon to try more.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shalimar restaurant”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

6 of us were out in Harrogate Saturday 1st march we decided to have an Indian meal and visited the shalimar restaurant we were greeted by all the friendly staff and had a lovely meal.all meals served together no problems and very reasonably priced
Excellent do try this restaurant if in Harrogate


Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gareee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

In a town which has far more than its fair share of good restaurants and an abundance of quality Indian restaurants within a stone's throw, I am amazed that this dump survives!
From the tired to interior to the bland, flavourless food, to the staff who clearly don't want to be here, Shalimar disappoints in every way.
We had the mixed platter starter and every bit of tasted the same. Smothered in pepper and chilli to give it heat, all the meats tasted identical and there was simply no other flavour.
Worse still you don't even get a plate and no salad or accompaniment in any way, just meats served on a dish of raw onions. We were forced to use our side plates for our starter.
Pilau rice? No. Just white boiled rice with a tiny but of flavour added, pretending to be pilau rice.
Both our mains were just awful. The chicken bhuna tasted more like over cooked chicken with a jar of Italian sauce poured over it and bit of spice added to hide what it really was.
The lamb karahi was just inedible. I can't begin to describe what the meat tasted like but it certainly wasn't lamb.
The staff spent the entire evening leaning against the wall with the arms folded waiting to be able to clear up or serve the next round of slop.
The one saving grace was an excellent peshwari naan.
Would I go back? Not even for a free meal!!
Do yourself a favour and cross the road to cardamom black or the Jinnah which are both light years ahead in quality and service and with several other Indians so close which are not far behind those two, there is simply no need to subject yourself to such an awful place

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank NigelM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing