We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without doubt the place to go for a curry inHarrogate”
Review of Shalimar

Shalimar
Ranked #19 of 442 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Without doubt the place to go for a curry inHarrogate”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I'm a very regular curry eater in Harrogate and have tried all the Indian restaurants many times. The food, service and atmosphere is excellent, including a big pickle tray! I would recommend you try here first if you like good curry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    117
    53
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food with fabulous service!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Don't be fooled by the fact this place isn't as "shiny" and "posh" on the outside as some of the other Indians... it is truly outstanding! The selection of pickles that come with your poppadoms is a real treat, the karahi chicken spinach is divine and the service absolutely impeccable! And a bargain price too! Faultless!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely takeaway.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Last minute decision to have some takeaway, so ordered on Just-Eat (although we have eaten-in before here). Everything really nice, price very reasonable, and the fella who dropped it off was very jolly. Very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant service authentic food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We love Indian food and visited the Shalimar for the first time because of all the great comments on Tripadvisor. The friendly service and helpfulness of the staff was outstanding. If you know the kind of curries you like you can order just what you want and the owner Jamil will make sure that's what you get and that you are happy. We can't wait to go back again and experiment with some more regional dishes. The food is fresh and full of spicy flavour. Excellent! It happened to be our wedding anniversary and when the staff found out they brought us an ice cream with a sparkler which was a lovely thought. The ice cream was home made with Indian ingredients in it and it was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Discovery of a local gem!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a cracking place! After deciding to try somewhere new we were not disappointed! We were waited on hand & foot and had a meal prepared which was not even on the menu to suit our taste. The meal took longer to come than expected but we were happy to wait with the reasonably priced drinks & extensive range of poppadum dips! The wait was more than worth it, the food was amazing. To top the night off we were given a complimentary bowl of home made Indian icecream after the staff discovered we were locals....we will most definitely be back. Great food at a great price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shalimar also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing