We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club like athmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here 3 days with my wife.Having just booked a standard room expectations were not overly high.However got a lovely room overlooking the park.The room was very well appointed and very comfortable.Food at the hotel was excellent,especially the breakfast.The hotel feels like a private club and there is no hustle and bustle normally associated with hotel check in/out.Staff very good.Two minor complaints,a 10% service charge is included in the midst of the food description and a tip column is at the end of the bill ,I do not like this practice.Also given the name of the hotel,the wines were very expensive by the glass which does not encourage social drinking.All in all a very good experience

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Frank D,

Great to hear you had such a comfortable stay with us, hope next time you are visiting we can accommodate you.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

From the moment we arrived the hotel felt like home. The lounge downstairs had a very homely feel, the room was fantastic and the bistro was excellent.
Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel du Vin, Harrogate and will definitely return.
Home from home.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Mike C,

Fantatsic to hear you had a great stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Recently stayed at Hotel du Vin while on a business trip, great service but the room a little on the small and looked a bit tired, if your staying make sure you have a room on a higher floor, ours was on the first floor at the side and the noise from the bar next door was loud.
No air con in the rooms so very stuffy as the windows only opened a little for security reasons.
Great location in the heart of harrogate.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a high floor at the back or top at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear Andrew A,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will update your profile to ensure next time you stay will be allocated a different room.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Disappointed to see Hotel Du Vin join in the sleazy practice of trying to bill foreign credit cards in the original currencies..thus giving the unwary a 5% or more mark up on their bill. I do dislike having to watch for every trick....almost didnt notice the service charge on the bar bill either...
Otherwise a pleasant stay...great location,,spacious room with excellent bed and good bathroom ...furniture was a bit battered ..maybe this was antique charm...doesnt work for me.
Nice lounge area with proffessional bar staff and good restaurant.

Room Tip: decor seemed same in all rooms...front rooms lighter but traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nation99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear nation99,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, i will feedback your comments to my superiours in regards foreign currency charges. The service charges on our bills are totally on a discretionary basis. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Having stayed here several years ago it was excellent. We have also stayed in Winchester and York HDV a few times. We could not believe how this hotel has gone downhill so badly.
Receptionist sounded like a recorded message, no mention of the usual banter ie how was your journey, would you like a table for dinner ( would have been more appetising than the food), can we assist with your luggage etc etc. We had to go out of the hotel, walk along the public footpath and down very steep steps to what looked like a hostel from the outside, to our basement dungeon. White exterior walls covered in mould greeted us. Room was dark and dreary. The blind covering the window to obscure passers by in the street was grubby. As we lifted it was filthy behind, spiders dead and alive, thick dust, flaking pain, disgusting .Various places in the room had been bodged up with paint. The bathroom equally gross. Black mould along the sealant around the bath, thick limescale around the shower, ridges in panelled door thick with dust, towel rail dirty, robes and towels very old, hard and scratchy.
We went down to reception and asked the Duty Manager to take a look at this dreadful unhygienic room. As we ordered drinks she said she would take a look. We were given a menu as we sat outside and barman said he would be back to take our order. 40 minutes later we just went into the restaurant to order as he hadn't bothered to come back. The hotel and restaurant was not busy in the slightest, so no excuse for ignoring us. Waitress also like a robot. All she kept saying was not a problem, not a problem, no social skills at all. One of us ordered bouillabaisse, looked like tinned condensed tomato soup with four random fishy objects in it. I had sole, no beurre noisette in sight, just half a jar of capers thrown over it, too salty to eat.Our side order of chips arrived when main courses has been finished, These were also forgotten as was the water we repeatedly asked for. The only good thing about our whole stay was wine which we chose ourselves. Why have a sommelier when everything else is falling apart.
Breakfast was a thick wedge of smoked salmon with sloppy egg splattered on top.
This establishment needs to be closed for complete refurbishment and a fresh new team of staff.
I do actually feel for the General Manager, there is too much to fix for just one person.
This brand used to be known as Boutique Luxury. Will never come back to this hotel in this state.
We were given another room in main building which was better, but still shabby and grubby. This hotel is not a cheap option.. A 300 mile round trip for what shoud have been a lovely break for us both turned into a disaster, very upsetting.

Room Tip: Basement room awful, but so is the rest of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VEUVE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Veuve2013,

thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us in Harrogate. Please do accept my apologies to have not met your expectations, if I could ask you to give me a call please in order to resolve this.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

I have stayed at other hotels in the group and have seldom been disappointed. An almost flawless stay with fantastic service at reception and in the bistro. The room was spacious and comfortable and worth the £20 upgrade.

My only gripe was the car parking facility but this is the norm in Harrogate.

I would definitely stay again and urge travellers to look at the offers to get VFM.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Jon E,

Great to read you had a fantatsic stay with us. We hope you return soon.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

On arrival we had been upgraded to larger suite which absolutely stank of air freshener, floor was unswept and coffee cups grubby. We asked to be moved. New room ok but furniture and furnishings very tired. smell of urine in shower/loo area but decided best not to complain in case we got more air freshener! Meal in restaurant disastrous. Food tepid and looked as though it had been thrown on plate. Person at next table served mussels which weren't open. Aware of others being served things they hadn't ordered. Staff appeared to be untrained. Next morning no hot water!! Manager said they were aware of problem and they were in process of remedying. Then why not let guests know before they find themselves standing in freezing cold shower? Vastly over priced - we spent over £500 for the whole experience. Over the years we have stayed at a number of the H du Vin hotels which used to be great, but no longer. Last time for us I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian v, General Manager at Hotel du Vin and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear hjsage,

thnak you for your review, I am very sorry to hear you did not ahve a great stay with us. Could I ask you to give me a call and resolve this.

Kind regards,

Brian van Oosten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
350 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,789 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin and Bistro

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $103 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created from a row of eight Georgian-styled houses that have been used as a hotel since the 1930s, Hotel du Vin & Bistro Harrogate features 48 bedrooms and airy loft suites. Located close to the town centre, the Harrogate hotel overlooks The Stray, a magnificent 200-acre common, and offers a billiards room, cellar snug, a Spa du Vin with its extensive range of treatments and alfresco dining in the courtyard during the summer months. Famous for its healing waters, this Victorian spa town oozes cosmopolitan charm, smart streets and quaint mews. Enjoy fabulous shopping, atmospheric cafés, fine restaurants and plenty of green open spaces. Browse antiques and unusual gifts in the stylish Montpellier Quarter or watch the world go by in Betty's Tea Rooms. Hotel du Vin Harrogate provides the perfect combination of luxury and great food and wine within the cultural and visual setting of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Vin and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro Harrogate, Yorkshire
Du Vin Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing