We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,116)
Filter reviews
2,116 results
Traveler rating
378
749
561
255
173
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
749
561
255
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews betty's tea rooms old building fourth floor a bit tired central location fantastic location fire alarm up to date centre of town large room bars and restaurants evening meal buffet style short break plenty of choice a lovely stay bed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 2,116 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2017

I can only add what a number of other reviewers have reported, the hotel is tired and well overdue for a makeover. Our room was OK, a decent bed, plenty of space and very clean, all the main ingredients for a decent stay. The management have said they are looking to renovate but as yet no signs. The public areas are tatty and the lounge does not have any comfortable seating. Decoration is chipped, faded and well past their sell by date. All these things can hopefully be solved by some financial investement, the building structire itself is great and perfectly located so well worth it in our view. One area they can improve upon without investment is the breakfast. Soggy hash browns, undercooked bacon, over cooked black pudding and a 20 minute wait for a couple of poached eggs. This is basic stuff and needs to be decent in a hotel like this.
All that said, if you modify your expectations and don't spend more than £85 for a night then the location for central Harrogate will balance the negatives.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beasles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantel T, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Thank you for your valued comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

The outside of the building is historic and you have a sense of anticipation that the inside will live up to expectations....... How wrong can you be?! Up to the third floor you leave behind the grandeur of the hotel to be met with tired,empty corridors. Opening the door to our room we we're expecting their description... 'A tad smaller than feature rooms, our standard rooms are located on all floors, include comfortable beds, plush linen, and are decorated with a modern flair.
With new beds, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, toiletries and Wi-Fi, there’s no excuse not to enjoy a great night’s sleep.' What we got was a pokey, drab, dated room more akin to a cheap b&b. The only plus was that the bed was clean. We had a dinner reservation at a restaurant in town so decided to 'make do'. I didn't realize this would also require me to clean the shower head!!!! It was disgusting, mould coating the outside flagging up a head full of gunge. I dread to think what bacteria were lurking in there but with the clock ticking and dinner beckoning I had no option but to do the job myself. I host students and would have been embarrassed to expect them to use facilities this dirty. We did report the lack of cleanliness and the overall disappointment with the room when we returned later that evening but as far as we're aware the report went no further than the receptionist. There was no electrical check sticker on the hairdryer, a big 'no no' for health and safety! Breakfast on both mornings was no more than OK, out of all the hotels we've stayed at this was the bottom of the heap. Harrogate is lovely, with great places to eat but don't stay here!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, my husband has started at the crown and the swan, both were lovely!
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DaphOxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear DaphOxford_UK,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities and service to all of guests, I am sorry that the hotel did not match your expectations, we are currently updating the hotel and we plan to address all the comments you have made. With regards to the portable appliance testing this is carried out every 12 months at the hotel so I can assure you that all items are checked, if the hairdryer in question did not have a sticker the only explanation would be that the one that was in there must have failed when the appliances were tested this month and a new hairdryer would have been purchased and would not require to have a sticker as it would have been checked at the time of manufacturing.
Thank you for your feedback.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located very central to Harrogate. We arrived at about 1:15p and got a parking space straight away, and there were plenty available. We couldn't checkin to our room until 2 so we had a walk around town.
We were given a room on the third floor looking out over the park from the front of the hotel which we were pleased with. The room decor is a little dated but I don't think it warrants some of the reviews left on TripAdvisor. The carpet on the main corridor does need replacing, it's a bit drab. The room was clean, tv, hairdryer, wardrobe, plenty of tea/coffee. The room and the bathroom were both quite large. (One thing I will say, one of the bath towels had a used plaster with blood on stuck it which was neither of ours) and that was disappointing, but obviously not happened purposely.
The breakfast was really good, plenty of choice and seemed like good quality ingredients.
We found all the staff to be friendly, and we would stay here again if they price was right.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Tim E,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay even though you found the room on the tired side.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon, please remember to keep an eye on our website for seasonal offers.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night in Oct '17.
This hotel looks distinguished from outside and in the foyer / reception with period architecture/ pillars and mouldings, quite nice really, staff were welcoming and courteous and gave us a parking permit for the front of the hotel parking area.
We had booked a 'feature' double room. The feature being, I assume the double aspect corner room with a large double bed.

The rest of the room was to be frank - featureless.
The furniture was dated and a little tatty. The sash windows didn't fit properly with gaps in the sides letting through the bitter wind. These would benefit from secondary glazing. We had to close the curtains to maintain the heat generated by the disappointingly inadequate electric heaters.
The en-suite bathroom was drab and white painted with no colour - or pictures - or flowers to alleviate the forlorn appearance.
The bin wouldn't open on the pedal and had to be opened by hand by lifting the lid.
The floor tiles were cracked with some of the grout missing. There was no heating in the bathroom apart from the towel rail.
That being said we did sleep comfortably enough but the traffic noise in the morning was a slight problem (courtesy of ill fitting windows).
Breakfast was fine with a good selection of cold and hot choices and staff were attentive.
All in all this stay was a bit disappointing considering we paid nearly £100 for two people for one night. I suppose the cost was in keeping with the central location of the hotel.
In all honesty this hotel is an old lady a lot past her prime and could do with a lot of updating and attention to detail.
I wouldn't stay again at that price and in colder weather.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear mark a,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities and service to all of guests, I am sorry that the hotel did not match your expectations, we are currently updating the hotel and we plan to address all the comments you have made.
Thank you for your feedback.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We stayed here from the 8th to 11th of October.

The location is excellent.

The hotel is looking a bit tired and the public areas could do with a make over.

Our room was a good size looking out to the front of the hotel. The paint on the ceiling in one corner was a bit flaky but apart from that everything was fine. The bed was massive and very comfortable and the shower was powerful.

There was a good selection for breakfast of fruit, cereals, croissants as well as bacon, sausage, beans, scrambled eggs etc. I was surprised that they did not have fried/tinned tomatoes or fried eggs to pick from.
The scrambled egg was strange. It might have been powdered egg. On our last day we did ask for poached eggs which were good.

We were woken up yesterday with the fire alarm going off for five minutes at 7.05am. People were wandering around in the corridors not knowing what to do. Two fire engines turned up but it was a false alarm. No idea what had happened.

Over all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel but would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shuey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Dear Shuey77 ,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay even though you found the room on the tired side.
Thank you for your comments
Kind Regards
Robert Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews