We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One night stay...”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I read some reviews which were less than complimentary. Well my experience was very different with welcoming and helpful check in staff. Room was fine, bed fine and a great shower. Good value and would go back without hestitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulbZ1664PO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Paul B,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    633
    478
    209
    133
See reviews for
172
1,028
42
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Room nice and clean. Evening meals delicious and well presented. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Free parking outside the hotel via a permit a bonus in the middle of Harrogate. Floral gardens in front of hotel beautiful and well maintained by council. Bus stop about 50 metres across the road from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Linda H,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Very dated old and past it's sell by date. Staff very helpful but nothing they can do about a hotel that needs a full refit. We moved rooms and after 4 days here never again. Would have left on the first night but were tied into a pre paid deal. Breakfast just ok but hear in rooms and noise from the bars beyond a joke.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leg016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Nigel K,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the noise issues from the street that you encountered although our location in the heart of the town is great it can at times lead to this type of issue especially when the weather currently is so warm and you need the window open. I do wish that during your 4 day break you had raised these concerns with me as I would have done all that I could to have made your stay more comfortable.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you are going to flog a room for £100 plus a night at the rear of a grand looking hotel, be honest with guests . The rear road has a number of bars, meaning shouting, glass and noise. Not what one really wants in a visit to Harrogate. The rooms are ok, bar the mattress which should be far better quality. Very hot room, which even a fan would have improved. At reception guests should be told what they are in for with noise or sell the rooms at rate which equates to the big drawbacks of these rear rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Roholden,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the noise issues from the street that you encountered although our location in the heart of the town is great it can at times lead to this type of issue especially when the weather currently is so warm and you need the window open.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked an midweek overnight stay for my partners Birthday, i chose a featured room overlooking the front of the hotel and i wasnt disapointed with the view. i had requested a high room when i booked and after reading the reviews that the room size varies i rang central reservations to ask for large room like was advertised on the website. The receptioninst that was on duty when we arrived was very nice, we arrived early and couldnt check in. I had taken cake, bubbly, baloons, presents etc to decorate the room and she said she would make sure they were put out for me and put the bubbly on ice with glasses. The room was on the 5th floor and was very large and spacious, and she had decorated it lovely for me, however because the room had sash windows they had a height restriction but unfortunaly slid down when we tried opening them, i did however have the cake and candle box to wedge them open, the room was very hot but when we requested a fan they obliged. The furniture in the room could have done with abit of modernisation esp the bathroom, (again very spacious but dated and basic and the windows were painted shut so we couldnt open them). Overall we had a lovely stay, it was very reasonably priced for the location and the staff were very helpfull. The hotel was perfectly located for the shops, bars and parks.

Room Tip: Book a high featured room overlooking Harrogate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear anne h,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the Tour de France for 3 nights - we were on the third floor, a small creaky corner room, but which gave a great view of the road and a lovely war memorial. It was a good location, and met our needs as we were there for the race and had no transport. But - it was very hot at night, the toilet leaked, and it was also very noisey with locals and police outside at night. The food was ok, but the service was amateur, bordering poor. A cheese board was served with lots of nice cheese - and only 3 small crackers, I asked for some more but they didn't arrive. This happened again on our third evening meal, and after asking for a second time for more crackers, received some. Breakfast was self service buffet style, with only scrambled eggs available as 'they were too busy' to do any other style, but was hit and miss temperature wize - ran out of cornflakes and went off to get more but did not come back! I can accept that Yorkshire was busy at this time, but surely this should be taken into account when accepting bookings? Wifi was down for a whole evening and this was most inconvenient. For the price paid, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: Away from the lift, and if a light sleeper, away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs_n_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Debs_n_Gray,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of meals you had whilst staying in the Hotel I can assure you that these are not our usual level of service and I will be taking this up with the F&B team so thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I hope you enjoyed the Tour de France here in Yorkshire and hopefully be the time the tour de Yorkshire comes in May 2015 you will give us another chance to prove that the issues you raised are a thing of the past.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I have just spent two nights at the Yorkshire Hotel and we were very happy. Started off in room 314, so hot and ooppressive and wwe didn't sleep well. Reception changed our room to 313 - fantastic. Staff were really lovely and polite. Very happy stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear margann,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing