We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older style hotel in the centre of Harrogate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Pershore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Older style hotel in the centre of Harrogate”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

If it's all about the location then this hotel ticks all the boxes. Less than a five minute walk from the station (ignore the google map directions) - exit left out of the main station entrance, turn right down James St then turn left at the end on to Prospect Place and the hotel is on your left. The hotel is an old building so there are creaky floorboards and yes the lift is compact and bijou and does jolt to a rather alarming stop at each floor but for what the room charge is here its absolutely fine. My room was very spacious, rather sparse in furnishings but had a lovely view of the Stray and out over the town to the moors beyond. (unfortunately for me some rather drunken young men decided the Stray was perfect for a game of very loud football at 4am in the morning but that's not the hotel's fault - although I did wonder if the front Stray facing rooms may be noisy of a weekend) It was comfy rather than luxury but this hotel is not promoting itself as luxury. The bathroom was large and yes could do with a refit but it was spotlessly clean and did everything it needed to. Free Wi-Fi is a bonus and for me a hairdryer which is not nailed to the inside of a drawer is also a godsend! Harrogate was gearing up for the Tour de France and many roads were being closed but the hotel did their utmost to minimise the disruption. The staff were friendly, the location superb and I would definitely return. If as another reviewer has mentioned you are expecting the Dorchester you will be disappointed if you want location, tradition and a warm and friendly welcome then it is perfect.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are spacious but sparse, fine for a business trip but I think one of the signature r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Bridie73
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    615
    467
    202
    132
See reviews for
171
1,003
39
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 28th June for part of my 40th birthday celebrations. We arrived just after 2pm checked in fine girl on reception was quiet welcoming, We had booked 2 rooms, 1 twin room and 1 superior double room. After a cosy joyride in an ageing lift which as with previous comments does creak and stop abruptly at your floor. We were on level 4 we got out of the lift to be met with a musty smell of the 40's (or what you'd expect a hotel of this age to smell of) upon entry to our room we found a smallish twin room, none of the 4 poster bed or separate seating area as promised upon booking. We then thought we'd got mixed up with the other room so headed down a floor to the other room to find a smaller twin room so clearly no mix up there, so downstairs to reception we headed complete with booking reference to show we'd booked a superior. After 2-3 minutes playing on her computer the receptionist advised us we had booked 2 twin rooms but after showing our booking was still advised we'd booked 2 twin rooms. I was then told that somebody would go up to our room after we had gone out the explore the town and zip the beds together. So basically I paid £110 for a standard twin room when the going rate was £80 and no compensation was offered nor did I get my superior room. On the plus side the bathroom was stupidly huge but I would warn anybody to put the bathmat in the bath before trying to get in!!! Would I stop here again? possibly not unless a major revamp was had.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Martyn S,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bedroom you had whilst staying in the Hotel. I wish you had raised these concerns with me or a member of the management team as we would have tried to resolve the issue. We took over the operating of the Yorkshire Hotel in the early part of 2014 and we certainly over the next few years know we have to invest a lot of time and money so it will finally set us apart in Harrogate.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I bought this break for my wife as a Christmas present. We were to stay at the Yorkshire hotel for two nights the 19th and 20th of June. We arrived at the hotel and parked right outside the hotel door. The hotel front is lovely and the location is superb.The hotel receptionist was very helpful and gave us a two day parking pass which was free of any charge.We had been allocated room 415. The lift to the fourth floor creaks and groans and is a little worrying but got us to our destination in one piece.The corridor to our room had thread bare carpets in places and was just a little gloomy.We opened the door to a tiny room which was an immediate transportation to the 1980s.The floor leaned from left to right and consequently so did the bed. Walking across to the bed every floorboard creaked and groaned. The mattress on the bed was out of the ark and you could feel every single spring, besides the fact that your feet were higher than your head.The room was a complete joke with furniture from the eighties and a musty smell. We immediately looked at tripadvisor to find that our comments were common place and that even if we had complained it was unlikely that any better rooms exist. We booked in three doors away at the hotel du vin and did not bother to use our room. This is the worst hotel I have ever not stayed in and was a huge disappointment and a total waste of a hard earned Christmas present.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Stuart h,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bedroom you had whilst staying in the hotel I wish that you had raised this during your stay as we always try and resolve any shortfalls that our customers raise.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Take no notice of negative reviews..this hotel is fine. For what we paid it was a bargain.The room was clean with big flat screen tv and very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant especially the guy who served breakfast and Natasha on reception and the hotel is in a great location. If you want the Dorchester then pay their prices!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 963review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear 963review
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us recently on this website. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can continue to enjoy all that the Yorkshire Hotel has to offer in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our booking for three nights was done in February to avoid being disappointed as we were attending a wedding in the town.On arrival we were allocated room 214 at the rear overlooking the noisy kitchen extractors, it was small,dark and dingy. Also extremely hot due to the hot water pipes under the floor. Good in December not in June.We joined the queue of fellow guests all trying to exchange their equally shabby rooms, not possible as the hotel was full. However we were put into room 417 ,marginally cooler due to it's elevation but just as dark. There was hardly any natural light and the lights were hopelessly dim.At bedtime we found we would have been more comfortable on the floor as every spring in the ancient mattress could be felt in any position.Allocated hotel parking is a joke unless one waits all day for someone to vacate a slot.No alternative but to drive the streets looking for a "pay & display".The receptionist's comment to this was " It's Harrogate" and it's free from 6pm to 8am !!!We were assured that a manager would contact us, of course no one did. On checking out we insisted on speaking to her. She gave us all the usual excuses which can be read on other reviews on this site.She agreed to one night's recompense which sadly did not make up for our lost sleep or disappointment .In summary this hotel requires a complete renovation , new furniture, carpets and most important MATTRESSES. Do not stay here until these renovations have been completed.Here you will be paying hotel rates for a building on a par with a youth hostel.

Room Tip: In it's present condition I would not advise anyone to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toulousain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear toulousain,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bedroom you had whilst staying in the Hotel. I can assure you I did try and contact you whilst you were here but you were attending a wedding so this was not possible. We took over the operating of the Yorkshire Hotel in the early part of 2014 and we certainly over the next few years know we have to invest a lot of time and money so it will finally set us apart in Harrogate.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This is quite possibly the worst place I have stayed in for years. Its a throw back to the 80's when there were a lot of tatty overpriced hotels around. The room smelt dreadful, still had old cigarette burns on the carpets, the bed creaked every time I moved, the fans from the service rooms are noisy and have kept me awake all night, the bathroom is vile..I havent seen such cheap nasty fittings in years. This hotel needs a major overhaul to bring it up to scratch. This type of hotel should not be in the centre of beautiful Harrogate.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Cheryl R,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the standard of bedroom you had whilst staying in the hotel I wish that you had raised this during your stay as we always try and resolve any shortfalls that our customers raise. We took over the operating of the Yorkshire Hotel in the early part of 2014 and we certainly over the next few years know we have to invest a lot of time and money so it will finally set us apart in Harrogate.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a voucher deal. Not sure if this is why we were given such a small and poky room! Could hardly breathe in there let alone move around. Bathroom was so small you could wash your hands whilst sitting on the loo and after a shower had to go back into the bedroom in order to dry yourself off! Window opened onto an internal area surrounded by other rooms and blank walls. Parking is very difficult and on arriving back at 8.15pm from a day out we were unable to get into the hotel's car park so we asked the receptionist for the best place to park overnight, she directed us to a local multi storey car park. Having then negotiated the horrendous one way system in Harrogate we eventually found it to find out that it closed every day at 7.15pm!! Hotel staff should have this sort of information readily available as it must be an everyday occurrence. Breakfast was fine with a help yourself buffet and was well cooked and plentiful. Hotel was well situated within Harrogate and I suppose it could be ok if you got a decent room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dickofthefens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-GManager, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear dickofthefens,
We are really sorry to read about the way you feel about your recent visit as we aim to provide great service and facilities to all of guests. Apologies for the mistakes we made, the service you received was not to our usual levels and was out of character. Having only started at the Hotel recently your comments are really appreciated. We are all sorry to read about your experience however I hope you can return to Yorkshire Hotel again in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Robert Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing