We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Deal Monster' offer visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“'Deal Monster' offer visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights using a 'Deal Monster' offer. This place is slap bang in the middle of town, but is more than ready for a re-furb, our room and the comunal areas were tatty but clean enough. Buffet breakfast could have been hotter. However, the staff were brill! Would we stay there again? possibly, but only on some sort of offer. A big plus was being able to park our car right ouside the hotel F.O.C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 110416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay with us.It gives me particular pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    608
    462
    202
    132
See reviews for
170
991
39
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Yorkshire for two nights in early September, and first impressions were a little disappointing, The bedroom was adequate and clean but a bit dated.
. Our breakfast (full English) came with a wonderful selection to choose from in addition to all the usual cereals, juices etc. Dinner came with the same quality and choices and all our meals were most enjoyable. Our experience at the Yorkshire was topped off with service that could not have been bettered, this came from smiling pleasant and accommodating staff, who could not do enough to please. All the points mentioned added up to a very enjoyable stay and we will be returning.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours and hopefully dispels some of the negative comments we receive.
It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Typical 3 star hotel. Clean with friendly staff.

Good location.

Bar area was nice but did not sell any edibles like crisis or nuts.

No atmosphere in the lounge area.

Old hotel, free parking.

Prob would go back and stay for 1 night due to its location but not a hotel I would like to stay in for longer than 1 night.

There wasn't anything wrong with the hotel however if you have a back facing room on a weekend night I believe it would be very noisy as it looks right down onto bars and restaurants. I stayed on a Monday night and it was quite noisy, with the bars bottle bins getting emptied in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KELLS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the tripadvisor website .I am sorry that you felt your stay not an entire success for which I can only apologise.I certainly take on board some of the other feed-back you have given thank you for providing a review of the Yorkshire.It is worth noting we do offer a range of bar bites from our menu on a daily basis.
I do hope that the negatives aspects of your stay deter you from visiting again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

stayed at the yorkshire for one night,
the bed was comfy,the room clean although a little tired, the bathroom could really do with an uprade as the tiled floor had grout missing,
the room was spacious,
the breakfast was self service which was a little dissapointing the beans and scrambled egg had dried out ,it wasnt an unpleasant stay but for what it cost it should have been a lot better

  • Liked — spacious room
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the Tripadvisor website. I am sorry that your stay was not a success, for which I can only apologise. I am sorry that you felt the room showed signs of wear and I admit some of our product is in need of updating. I was however surprised and disappointed by your comments relating to breakfast in particular the lack of quality we do always try to replenish items ASAP I am sorry that on this occasion we have not.
I do hope that this does not deter you from returning as I would very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms are large but sparse. They are so uninviting, there is nothing in them!

This was only the second thing that struck me though upon entering the room, as they bed looked HORRENDOUS - see picture. It basically was 2 singles pushed together, both of which were completely sunken in the middle. They did not make for a comfortable nights sleep.

The bathroom was ok, though was not clean with hairs in the shower / bath and toothpaste left on the sink.

Locks on doors do not at all feel secure. As a female staying alone, this is never a reassuring thing.

Location is the single redeeming feature of this hotel, as the rest of it was pretty shocking really. I would rather stay at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobs_head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor website. We always try to offer the best value for money for a 3 star property and thus do not compete with the Holiday Inn on price or standard. It is always disappointing to read that someone has not enjoyed their stay for which I am genuinely sorry. After an investigation with my Duty Management team it is regrettable that your disappointment does not appear to have been highlighted or addressed by the Duty Manager visiting your room. I wish to assure you that if the Duty Manager had been made aware they would have endeavoured to provide an alternative room .

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Room 101 (checking out tomorrow) was slightly worried due to negative reviews on Tripadvisor. Had nothing to worry about, upgraded to a fabulous room. Only complaint would be the windows in our were FILTHY & such a shame when the views over the Stray were so amazing. Can't wait to come back !! Thank you very much

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alitart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly look at cleaning the windows in 101 which are easily accessible others unfortunately are not. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a great party in the excellent Roof Tops function room. Great room with separate lounge and bar area. Take a camera for the views across the Harrogate skyline. We also stayed overnight, bed and breakfast was excellent.
The experience made al the better by all the staff being available and attentive, and actually seemed as though they enjoyed their jobs, all friendly smiling and helpful.
No problem in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 501 very nice suite but no view. If staying in summer, you may want to get a front facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay and function with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing