We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband end of April. Went on a buy a gift deal which included breakfast. For what we paid we got excellent value. Hotel nice and clean. Staff really friendly and always smiling. Breakfast was lovely. I agree possibly a little manic at busy periods but not really anything to spoil your stay. Don't let previous negative comments put you off coming here. I think some people expect 5 star accommodation for 3 star prices. would return again. Thanks for enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickyfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours and hopefully dispels some of the negative comments we receive.
It also gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,343 - 1,349 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had booked in at least a month in advance of our stay for some close friends' joint 40th Birthday. They had hired a bar area and room on the 5th floor of the hotel. I've got to say for a dominant, hotel in the centre of this historic, tourist hotel I was quite surprised at how tired the place looked.

The staff are genuinely friendly (in the main), apart from the barman for the private function, who clearly did not want to be there! On arrival we were given a set of keys to a room that was already occupied. Reception were very apologetic and gave us drinks vouchers for our troubles.

At £90 per night for a double am I wrong to expect a certain 'wow' factor. The room was comfortable and the bathroom large, but it lacked any kind of love and affection. The bed linen, although clean was tired and clearly old. The pillows a deep burgundy colour, the curtains quite dark and oppressive. The bathroom could definitely be modernised and given a bit more of a luxury feel. Even simple things, like a broken ironing board makes you think, this place needs an uplift!

That said, we all enjoyed the hearty breakfast, and check out was efficient and all in order!

Could do better, as it is a beautiful building in a lovely setting....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I must apologise that you felt the general standard of the hotel was not to your liking. I appreciate we are not the most modern hotel. I am sorry that you felt the venue your friends had chosen for their party did not meet with your expectations.
I thank you for highlighting the fact that the majority of staff provided genuinely friendly service. I was however surprised at your comment relating to the barman and I am sorry if this was your experience. However in contrast I did receive the following feedback from the organiser of the event. "We had a fantastic night and everyone enjoyed themselves". "The venue was perfect for what we needed it for." "XXXXX the bar manager was great, really helpful and accommodating”. I am extremely proud of the team at the Yorkshire and for the level of service they provide despite any shortfalls in our product.
It is clear that from the remainder of your comments our product fell short of your own expectations for which I am genuinely sorry. The room you were allocated lacked the "WOW Factor " I admit some of our product is in need of updating, we are currently working through a redecoration programme. It is worth noting that we do offer a wide variety of room types and standard and we always try to offer the best value for money based on availability.
It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to improve our standards and service.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked this hotel from a 2nights for the price of 1 asda gift voucher. We chose this over others as it was the only one in the offer in Harrogate. After walking around and seeing the outside of some other hotels I think we got a great deal. The room we got was quite small with a comfy double bed, 4 pillows, a hairdryer, tv and tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom had a large bath and they provided soap and shower products.

The reception staff were friendly, we arrived 40 minutes before check in time and were told we would have to wait. (3pm).
We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was a buffet style hot with choice of cereal and fruit. The guys sat you down quickly and brought tea or coffee. We didnt eat dinner or use the bar here as we ate in the close by wetherspoons bar (best steak ever!!)
Hotel is close to many bars and restuarants including spoons, revolution, pizza hut and smaller bistros, chinease and indians.
The main shopping centre is only a 2 minute walk away!

All in all we had a great trip.
***The turkish baths near weatherspoons is definatly worth a visit!!!***

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessam0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your frank and honest opinions.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location of this hotel is the best thing about it. Located right in the heart of Harrogate, all shops and restaurants are right on your door step, its also directly opposite Betty's tea rooms (added bonus). The staff are also very friendly and very helpful.

In terms of the hotel its self, its ok for a short stay if your not going to spend much time in your room. The rooms and bathrooms are a great size and they are kept clean, but they are very tatty, paint peeling off, every door looks like its been badly bitten by an angry swamp creature, when we locked our door we could still push and pull it a good few inches so it didn't feel very secure. I think we could have forced it open with a push if we really wanted to. There is also a car park at the hotel but be warned the spaces are VERY tight so if you have a car that you value dearly, park it somewhere else. The hall ways smell funny too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauriePotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a good stay and that you felt looked after by the team. I certainly take on board some of the other feed-back you have given thank you for providing a balance review of the Yorkshire. I was very concerned at your comments relating to your bedroom door and I have now discovered that a practice of placing the security chain in the door jamb to allow the door to be held open thus enabling guests and staff alike to more easily negotiate the heavy doors e.g. whilst getting luggage in and out needless to say this practice has stopped internally and door jambs will be subsequently repaired.
I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were in room 205 which appeared to be a room for disabled people - I think we got it because the hotel was fully booked otherwise. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and large with plenty of hot water. It was nice to go into a hotel room and find that there were two easy chairs so one of us did not have to lounge on the bed when we wanted a few minutes to read or relax.
It must be a nightmare trying to keep the decoration up to scratch in old hotels like this where there has been a lot of structural alterations - this room was no exception - how the dark wall in the bathroom became chipped is a mystery.
It would have been nice to have a socket near the bedside table to charge phones etc on the other hand the WiFi reception was good.
Breakfast was pretty standard - those conveyor belt toasters drive me nuts though.
If you are visiting the town for its attractions this is a convenient hotel to stay in but don't count on a car parking space. If you use the other hotels car park (recommended by The Yorkshire) it cost £5 every time you take the car out. We just left ours there for three days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed dining experience and that you felt looked after by the team. I certainly take on board some of the other feed-back you have given thank you for providing a balance review of the Yorkshire. I am pleased reception were able to give you details of a longer stay car park. This provides a good value for money option if you intend on not using your car for the period of your stay.

I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a lovely break at the yorkshire hotel, lovely staff so helpfully,nothing too much trouble, beautifully clean and cosy beds. Brilliant location right in the centre of Harrogate, lovely breakfast and plenty of choice cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenttoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours and hopefully dispels some of the negative comments we receive.
It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in March this year. We have never been to Harrogate before, and would certainly return, what a beautiful town. The Yorkshire Hotel has seen better days, but we had a comfortable couple of nights. The rooms do need a refurbishment, but it was clean and warm. The shower was great, with a lot of power from it. The breakfast was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. We walked up to the 5th floor, where they were setting up for a wedding, great views from there, take your camera!

Didn't venture into Betty's tea room, a bit pricey! but found a great Wetherspoons, which is bit further down the hill from Betty's in the Winter Gardens, what an unexpected surprise we got when we walked in, it is absolutely lovely, so of course had to stay for a wee aperitif. We shall return to Harrogate and would return to the Yorkshire Hotel as it is very central for everything, and we enjoyed our stay very much and we even managed to secure the very last parking space at the end of the hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed breakfast. I certainly take on board some of the other feed-back you have given thank you for providing a balance review of the Yorkshire.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.


Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing