We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great break great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yorkshire Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great break great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a lovely break at the yorkshire hotel, lovely staff so helpfully,nothing too much trouble, beautifully clean and cosy beds. Brilliant location right in the centre of Harrogate, lovely breakfast and plenty of choice cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenttoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours and hopefully dispels some of the negative comments we receive.
It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    608
    462
    202
    132
See reviews for
170
991
39
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in March this year. We have never been to Harrogate before, and would certainly return, what a beautiful town. The Yorkshire Hotel has seen better days, but we had a comfortable couple of nights. The rooms do need a refurbishment, but it was clean and warm. The shower was great, with a lot of power from it. The breakfast was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. We walked up to the 5th floor, where they were setting up for a wedding, great views from there, take your camera!

Didn't venture into Betty's tea room, a bit pricey! but found a great Wetherspoons, which is bit further down the hill from Betty's in the Winter Gardens, what an unexpected surprise we got when we walked in, it is absolutely lovely, so of course had to stay for a wee aperitif. We shall return to Harrogate and would return to the Yorkshire Hotel as it is very central for everything, and we enjoyed our stay very much and we even managed to secure the very last parking space at the end of the hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a great stay with us and how much you had enjoyed breakfast. I certainly take on board some of the other feed-back you have given thank you for providing a balance review of the Yorkshire.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.


Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night. Very convenient central location. Reception was very friendly, welcoming and efficient. The room was ok - clean and comfortable - just generally a little tired but definitely acceptable. Bathroom was spotless and shower was great. Bed was a little uncomfortable and our room was at the back so there was plenty of noise from the late night revellers at the bars opposite so overall not a great nights asleep but hey-ho!!!!. Parking was a nightmare - we had to park streets away which was a little inconvenient.

Overall the hotel is great value, great location and clean and comfortable so I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as our room over the back alley was very noisy late at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I was delighted to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours. It gives me particular pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset. I am sorry that you found car parking a "Nightmare" we do only have limited car parking and is on a first come first served basis. It is however worth stating for other readers that there is no need to rush down at 8am to feed a meter as you can in fact purchase a ticket from the machines the evening before that starts from 8am. It is also worth noting that car parking on meter is free from 6pm on a Saturday night and all day Sunday.
I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay excellent location comfortable rooms plenty of hot water decor a little tied.excellent food good sausage at breakfast staff very freindly limited parking but we got a space both days ideal for shops and pubs definitely go back

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frenchie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours. I certainly take on board some of the other feed-back you have given thank you for providing a balance review of the Yorkshire.
As always It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night, the stay itself was fine, bedroom comfortable with nice views out over Harrogate. A decent shower, which is always a welcome surprise and breakfast was plentiful. But it's true that people really make a place. When I checked in, Katie was the girl on reception and what a breath of fresh air, so friendly and chirpy. I had a problem with the wifi which she happily sorted out, and basically couldn't do enough to make my stay good. Thank you!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours.
It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as well as particular individuals who have provided outstanding customer service.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Got a good deal through Buy A Gift, great location but not enough parking, if you manage to get a space, don't move your car as you won't get it again:)
Hotel and room was clean if a little dated. Breakfast is a buffet and you can ask for extras. Staff friendly and helpful, overall no complaints....just don't think I would have paid full rate

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPsaucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a good stay and that you had enjoyed breakfast and that you felt looked after by the team.
I certainly acknowledge your comments related to car parking but I have stated previously that we do only have limited car parking and is on a first come first served basis. It is however worth stating for other readers that there is no need to fight for car parking. There are other option and the reception team are more than willing to offer several suggestions.
I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a two night stay at The Yorkshire Hotel, excellent reception and waiting staff, room we had was clean,spacious but needed a bit of tlc, bathroom was clean and efficient although shower head was too heavy for the stand and kept falling down. Breakfast was ok, nothing special but if you requested anything different staff were accomodating. hotel is in excellent location and if you are lucky parking is free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WW58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. Your honest feedback is certainly welcomed however it was disappointing to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I admit some of our product is in need of updating and hence we working through a redecoration programme.
It always gives me great pleasure to read positive comments about the team as they are our greatest asset.
I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yorkshire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorkshire Hotel

Property: The Yorkshire Hotel
Address: Prospect Place, Harrogate HG1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yorkshire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorkshire is perfectly situated in the heart of Harrogate, with everything you need being within walking distance, opposite Bettys Cafe Tea Rooms. Harrogate train station,and the Internatioanl centre is an easy three minute walk away making the hotel an ideal venue for events held at the HIC.The hotel’s Hg1 Brasserie & Bar, has a high street style and is very popular with both our guests and the local residents of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yorkshire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate
The Yorkshire Hotel Harrogate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing