We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 48% below average rates

The price you found is 48% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$91
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arden House(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$92
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grafton Boutique B&B(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$90
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$57
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Arc Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$90
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$85
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveler rating
355
735
546
250
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
735
546
250
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbetty's tea roomsold buildingfourth floora bit tiredcentral locationfire alarmfantastic locationcentre of townup to datenight breaklarge roombars and restaurantsevening mealbuffet styleshort breakplenty of choicebed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,554 - 1,559 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

At first it looked as though we couldn't get parked outside the hotel but on enquiry a very friendly receptionist came to our aid. The room was clean and spacious and afforded a good view of a parade of trees decked with fairy lights in the evening which was delightful.You can not visit Harrogate without at least one walk round the Stray so we did that then walked through Valley Gardens to Harlow Carr - that was also a pleasant little walk.At breakfast a young lady was run off her feet as everyone seemed to arrive at once but she coped admirably. The evening meals were delicious and our waiter was friendly and amusing.We greatly enjoyed our stay and would not hesistate to return

Room Tip: Room on the 3rd floor facing the front of the hotel was extremely quiet
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 454chimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us; it is always great to read comments such as yours and hopefully dispels some of the negative comments we receive.
It always gives me great pleasure to read comments about the team as they are our greatest asset
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location and a grand old hotel.The communal areas are tastefully decorated, the Hg1 bar and dining room both excellent. Staff were superb - every single one was welcoming and helpful. The dinner we enjoyed in the restaurant was superb. Would highly recommend this hotel. We got two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on first night for £130 which is pretty unbeatable. Of course, that meant there had to be a catch and that was that the corridors and rooms were exceptionally creaky and the rooms were tired and in need of renovation. We also were rudely awoken at 2.30 am by the two ignorant guests in the room above us who made such a racket I had to call reception who, to their credit, sorted it out. Not the hotels fault of course. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website.
I was delighted to read that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us in particular your comments relating to the team .
I take on board your comments relating to the quaility of some rooms and we are in fact part way through an in house redecoration programme.
I do hope you choose to stay again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Wednesday 6th March 2013 and Thursday 7th March 2013 as I was attending the Elex Show in Harrogate. I had left the hire van at the Elex show and was with a colleague. The reception was very impressive and the staff very helpful and polite. Please be aware that the hotel has only 30 parking places at the front of the hotel which are allocated for guest use. This can be a first come first served issue and parking elsewhere is on the street where you can find parking spaces. The hotel is situated close to the centre of Harrogate and is in easy walking for the shopping areas. The room had been booked for me and was on a best available price (fully flexible) room only basis. It was a single room and the price charged was £49.00 with a contintental breakfast of £5.00. The room was not overly large but was adequate and there was an ensuite with a good shower in the bath. It had tea making facilities and free wifi. I did find that noise from outside in the street to be intrusive as I was disturbed by party people and drunks walking past in the street below. The room had single galzing and a casement sash type window. Also a lorry stopped outside at 6am and left the engine running for half an hour while the driver shouted in conversation to someone else. The hotel itself is very nice and is very ornate. The ceilings and stairs are very impressive as is the helpfulness of the staff. When I found that the remote control did not work in the room they had it fixed very quickly. The breakfast was very nice and all in all this is a good value hotel.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room which is furtherest away from the pedestrian area on the side of the hotel. The roads do go around the front and side of the hotel. Try and get there reasonably early for parking at the front of the hotel which you need a permit for from reception.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us.I am however sorry that you were disturbed by noise from the street it is unfortunate that our location is one of our greatest or worst assets depending to your point of view. I am extremely pleased you felt looked after by the team.
I do hope you consider using The Yorkshire again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Room 212 not a good view, couldnt sleep with window open,as the fans were outside window. Lights were very dim in room, and bathroom, and the noise of somebody walking in the room above was terrible they might aswell been in our room. On booking the room i did ask for a front facing room as i had looked at reviews on trip advisor so i would of thought we would have got a better room. Breakfast bar needs reorganising and no fried eggs only scrambled, It was in a great location and we did managed to get parked outside front of hotel, i would stay again but would wish for a better room

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank farmerswifey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments on the tripadvisor website. We offer a wide variety of room types and standard and we always try to offer the best value for money. We do try and honour most requests but as less than 30% of the bedrooms are front facing it is not always possible. After an investigation with my Duty Management team it is regrettable that your disappointment does not appear to have been highlighted or addressed by the Duty Manager visiting your room. I wish to assure you that if the Duty Manager had been made aware they would have endeavoured to provide an alternative room.
I also note your comments relating to breakfast we offer any egg types on request as stated on the table menu scrambled eggs are simply the option on the hot buffet.
It is always disappointing to read that someone has not enjoyed their stay for which I am genuinely sorry.
It is only through comments such as those you have made that we are able to improve our standard and service.
Thank you once again for your feedback
Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked a table at the Brasserie for 12 as was entertaining a client last night. The plan was to eat then watch the football in the bar area. The bookings lady was extremely helpful offering to reserve seats in the bar and sending on menu details etc (plus altering the booking a few times as we were being awkward!).

When we arrived at HG1 (the bar) we had a table waiting and the food & beverage manager could not have been more helpful or accommodating. Without us asking he advised that, as some of our party were running late, we could eat in the bar if we preferred (so as not to miss the football - Man U v Real Madrid if you were wondering). We could also order off the restaurant or bar menu.

He then proceeded to look after us very well taking drinks orders and handling all requests very efficiently. The food was served in good time and was all excellent.

Will certainly be booking again next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellamalacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had a great experience with us. In particular how much you had enjoyed your meal in HG1 and I was extremely pleased to read that you felt looked after by the team they are our very best asset.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews