We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of $110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$90
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arden House(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$92
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grafton Boutique B&B(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$90
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$57
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
$85
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Arc Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveler rating
355
735
546
250
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
735
546
250
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbetty's tea roomsold buildingfourth floora bit tiredcentral locationfantastic locationfire alarmup to datecentre of townnight breaklarge roombars and restaurantsevening mealbuffet styleshort breakplenty of choicebed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,560 - 1,565 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Yorkshire Hotel in Harrogate seemed pretty good from the outside, and the entrance hall was fine too. It was in a good location, very close to the station and to Betty's tearooms (but having said that, if you stay in any hotel in Harrogate, I don't see how you can be far from either of these points)! Once you braved the extremely rickety lift (or, after the first time, trudged up the stairs), it was clear that the hotel could do with a bit of love and attention. The hallways and the room were extremely dated and certainly didn't fill you with joy as you walked in. Everything seemed clean enough, and the shower was ok. If you don't plan to be in the hotel much, then it is fine, but I wouldn't go back if I visited Harrogate again. You could stay in a Premier Inn and expect a higher quality finish.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missus2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

I thank you for the time you have taken in writing your review on the tripadvisor website .I am sorry that your stay not an entire success for which I can only apologise. I admit some of our product is in need of updating and we are currently working through a redecoration programme.
It is only through comments such as those you have made that we are able to improve our standard and service.
Thank you once again for your feedback


Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Yorkshire on 1st and 2nd March. Despite concerns over parking in Harrogate we managed to secure a parking spot just outside the hotel. Staff were very friendly. We stayed in room 201 which was huge. More like a family room as a lounge with a a sofa that converted into a bed and two bathrooms as well as a large bedroom, Slightly let down by two single beds put together. Breakfast was included and self serve. A large vaiety of breakfast food available but this was situated outside the eating area, Food was not topped up and therefore ran out so needed properly organising. Only one toaster available so you had to queue. We were interested in checking out the cocktail bar that was advertised as being on floor 5 which opened at 6pm. When we got there it was closed and when we asked at reception were tolf that it was only open on special occasions so we were dis-appointed. Having said all of that it was in a great location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynehipkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was pleased to read that overall you had a good stay with us. I am however sorry that you were disappointed and felt let down by the style of the bed you were allocated it was one of our zip and link suites this style of bed is a widely used standard allowing the flexibility of both a double and a twin and not simply two beds pushed together.
With regard breakfast we regularly topped up the buffet but on occasion items may run out momentarily due to high demand and will be filled again in the time it takes the server to walk to and from the kitchen.
Thank you for your comments relating to the public cocktail bar this is located in HG1 on the ground floor and is open from lunch times and serves cocktails all day and advertised as such. The 5th floor cocktail bar is only available for private hire sorry only I am sorry for any confusion caused.

I do hope that you choose to stay again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had the most beautiful dinner on 15th February - the food, service and presentation were superb and we had a wonderful romantic stay at the hotel . The room was gorgeous and we had a truly unforgettable Valentine's 2013. Many thanks to all at the Yorkshire! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed your Valentines break with . In particular how much you had enjoyed dining experience and I was extremely pleased to read that you felt looked after by the team they are our very best asset.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked a mid week break and were very happy with the Yorkshire Hotel, the location is right in the centre with the famous betty's tea rooms opposite. The hotel staff were all very freindly and nothing was too much trouble, we took an upgrade for our room which was very spacious and on the front overlooking the park. Breakfast was a buffet style full english and our evening meal in the brasserie was fantastic, the staff were brill and cannot be praised enough. On a visit you should consider a visit to the turkish baths tuesday and wednesday mornings are mixed sessions which are discounted it is terrific value with a steam room 3 hot rooms aplunge pool etc weel worth a visit. Harrogate is a beautifull town and the Yorkshire is a good base. well done the Yorkshire ,thankyou.

Room Tip: A great central location, ask for an upgrade they have 9 upgrade rooms on the front. They have 35 car parking spaces outside on a first come first served basis, pass issued at reception.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joc1634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. In particular how much you had enjoyed dining experience and I was extremely pleased to read that you felt looked after by the team they are our very best asset.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I chose to visit Harrogate for a couple of nights away from home, as years ago we used to visit for occaisional shopping trips when stationed at RAF Leeming. We were made to feel most welcome on arrival. Our room on the Fourth floor, with a view including Betty's Tea Room and the Stray, was clean, warm and spacious. We had booked a 3 course dinner on our first night and this was tasty, well presented and filling. The Yorkshire Hotel is in a prime location for all the main attractions in Harrogate and most are within a 10 minute walk. The RHS gardens at Harlow Carr can be reached by bus from a stop just a couple of minutes walk away. If you are a real ale fan, then reference to the Good Beer Guide will reveal that 5 out of 6 pubs featured for Harrogate are again within 10 minutes walk. We found the hotel to be a friendly place to visit as is Harrogate, but then again it is in Yorkshire and we would have been disappointed if it wasn't.

Room Tip: If you want a good view then the front is a must but the higher floors will be less susceptible to traffic noise which is, in my view, fairly light anyway.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeppPiontek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews