We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,089)
Filter reviews
2,089 results
Traveler rating
370
742
555
253
169
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
742
555
253
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbetty's tea roomsold buildingfourth floora bit tiredcentral locationfantastic locationfire alarmup to datecentre of townlarge roombars and restaurantsevening mealbuffet styleshort breakplenty of choicea lovely staybed and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,879 - 1,884 of 2,089 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2011

although location good the Hotel is poorly furnished.Our twin room was dismal with poor lighting.The bathroom was huge which would have benefitted from a stool/chair to put clothes on.No fittings to accommodate glasses for teeth cleaning;these were at far end of bathroom.On the second night I saw an ad. in the Hotel saying if a meal is booked for 2 people worth £34 you would get a bottle of free wine.As this was not mentioned to us I asked at reception.It took some negotiating to get just one botttle of wine.You would think that I was asking for Moet and Chandon not just cheap plonk. On the positive side the evening meal was exellent,the breakfast adequate;compared to other Hotels breakfast limited but adequate.The staff appeared to be just doing a job.I would not reccomend the Yorkshire Hotel and will not visit in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenAccrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

I was disapointed to read your comments relating to your room having investigated this with my Duty Management team it is regrettable that your disappointment does not appear to have been highlighted or addressed by the Duty Manager visiting your room. I wish to assure you that if the Duty Manager had been made aware they would have endeavoured to provide an alternative room or at the very least offered a ‘gesture of good will’.
With regard to the dinning offer highlighted in your comments this offer is infact ' Subject to availability and maybe withdrawn at any time'. Regardless of this it would seem my team did try and appease the matter by providing a bottle even though the offer was not available. I am sorry if you felt they were being less than helpful in this matter and I am also sorry that the you felt the £15 bottle of wine you recieved was 'Cheap Plonk'.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Very good location. Within few mins walk from everything, shops, Betty's, Train station etc. very very average rooms. Our room was overlooking a wall which was shame considering the hotel is in the city. Amenities in the room were ok ( tv, heating etc) but did not have anything you would expect like bottle of water, shampoo etc. Single glazing and hence noisy as pub right under the rooms. quite disappointing overall.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abrols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for your honest feedback, we do offer a wide variety of room types and standard and we always try to offer the best value for money for a 3 star property. Up graded facilities are often available at an additional charge. I must apologise that you felt the view from the room that were allocated was sub standard but due to the age of the building not every room has a view of the garden areas and the original single glazing is part of this buildings period design . It is worth noting that we are a town centre hotel and as well as the convenience of such a location we are within one of the busier areasof nightlife.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

my wife and i stayed in room 214 last night and had a very poor nights sleep. one reason was the noise from the fans just outside the window. this is a very poor outlook. the main reason for the lack of sleep however was the very sudden and sporadic loud sound of the toilet pumping system. a sort of chinese torture at its worst. this continued all night. i discovered this morning that the drainage system is faulty by filling the bathroom washbasin and then pulling out the plug to wittness the water come bubbling back UP the BATH plughole bringing with it some 'gungy bits' and a much stronger smell of what we had been able to smell before ie 'bad drains'.
a previous review, at least one, mentions drainage or smells. it would seem that this problem has existed for a while.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

I thank you for the time and trouble you have taken in writing your review on tripadvisor, The problems you experienced within the hotel unfortunatley are isolated to 2 rooms in the entire hotel which have the system you describe it would appear that the system had broken for which I am truly sorry. It is my understanding that my team did offer you a 'gesture of good will' . It is only through comments such as those you have made that we are able to improve our standard and service.
Thank you once again for your feedback

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We visited this hotel on a four night package with Shearings. Normally Shearings use their own Bay Hotels, but this was a chance to try somewhere else, and we were not disappointed. Like all upgraded 'old' hotels, there has to be a compromise unless you knock it down and start again, but this hotel is really getting there. Our double room was reasonably spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and an en-suite, recently refurbished and producing plenty of hot water. There were many nice touches and we felt welcomed. Everything worked well with an up-to-date TV including all the digi-channels.
Our half-board food was mostly of a high standard with breakfast buffet style giving all the usual options and as much you like. You couldn't really expect individual fried egg in these circumstances, but scrambled was fine. The evening meal for us as a group was only served at 6.30 pm - fair enough, and we had three choices of three courses. Nearly everything was served hot and tasty, although chef had an off day when we had Spanish Omelette - ninety-five percent potato!
The staff were exceptionally pleasant and tried to please at all times. Some guests found the free wi-fi very useful and some marvelled at one of the lifts marked 'maximum six persons' - these would have to be very thin persons indeed.
The location could not be better overlooking lawns and flower beds, and more distantly, a valley with many trees. The famous Bettys Tea Rooms were just a stone's throw away and we soon found out why there is always a queue outside. Harrogate is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikea4167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. In particular your comments relating to the team ,it was a pleasure to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward welcoming you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The hotel is right in the centre and the staff are all lovely had an amazing nights sleep and great breakfast. A must is a turkish bath very chilling and fun everyone friendly and a good laugh ;-) ate in hotel restaurant £30 for 2 with a bottle of wine fab value. Night life is right on the doorstep and the choice of restaurants is amazing. Would defo go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champagnemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshiregm, General Manager at The Yorkshire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for your recent comments on the tripadvisor website. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us , it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Harrogate.

Nick Henry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews