We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful street. Big breakfast.”
Review of Sherwood Hotel

Sherwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sherwood Hotel
Ranked #24 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really friendly and obliging staff, fantastic breakfast ( my omelette was too big to finish ) nice rooms with a lot of little extras and one of the prettiest streets in UK. Stayed there with teenage kids and didn't get any complaints, that's always a bonus.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Really nice B&B, very clean room with good bathroom, free parking and only about 5 minute walk into town. breakfast was really good and filling from fruit to full english with plenty to choose from. Would use again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sue runs a lovely B&B and the breakfast was wonderful from the fruit to the full english, nothing is to much trouble. The rooms are clean and there is free wifi. If you are staying for business or for your holiday you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinchofsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Sherwood Hotel. It is in an ideal position on a quite road with plenty of parking. Sue is the perfect host. Our room had everything we needed for our 2 night stay, with a very large comfy bed, we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was first class with a lovely fresh fruit salad. We found it excellent value for the price we paid and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireYorkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great position ,quiet street 5 mins walk into town,lovely friendly owners,room and bathroom quite small but bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in! Breakfast top quality with plenty of choice,,could not fault this guest house and when we return to the lovely town of Harrogate we will hope to stay at the Sherwood again.
Alan & Tanya from Skegness.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 which was fine for us....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alanavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have everything you would expect as does the breakfast. Walkable into town and clean. However, wasn't the friendliest of welcomes, and it was so hot throughout the stay that it was uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Harrogate for 3 nights and came across this place on the internet. We decided on this place because it was off the main road on a residential street about a 10 minute walk from the centre. We phoned up to book and were offered a cheaper rate than we found on the internet so that was good. When we arrived we were greeted by the lady that owned it, she seemed very friendly. She showed us up to our room which contained the biggest bed ever, it seemed bigger than king size! There was a big window with a view out onto the street. She told us to excuse the toilet seat as it was her husbands choice, we had a look and indeed it was unusual - it was clear with guns and bullets in it! She gave us a little map and showed us some places on it and then gave us a parking permit (free on street parking). The bed was comfy and room was clean, but there was some staining to the bottom of the bed sheet. Breakfast was served in the dining room which was nicely decorated. Choice of breakfast on menu seemed a little confusing as it said full breakfast then listed some eggs and then said at the bottom "or toast". So it looked like you could have full breakfast, eggs or toast. So I asked for boiled eggs and I felt like they weren't very impressed with my choice (although they never said anything), but that's how I took the menu to read. The boiled eggs I asked for were done perfectly and my boyfriend enjoyed his cooked breakfast. This hotel is perfectly located for the centre of Harrogate on a nice quiet tree lined street and there is plenty of street parking. There is also free wifi and you get your own set of keys for the main door so you can come and go as you please. We'd stay here again if coming to Harrogate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acs1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#4 of 83 in Harrogate
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 83 in Harrogate
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#5 of 83 in Harrogate
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#3 of 83 in Harrogate
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Hotel

Address: 7 Studley Road, Harrogate HG1 5JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $84 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sherwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sherwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing