We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern elegance”
Review of The Grafton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grafton
Ranked #5 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Modern elegance”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

An elegant small boutique hotel. Cleverly & tastefully decorated with extravagant soft furnishings. We stayed in Room 16.

Breakfast was delicious with ample choice to suit all tastes. Hubby had a full English and commented on superb bacon and sausage.

Would certainly stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdiW-E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    99
    16
    6
    0
See reviews for
27
365
10
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed with friends for a two night stay. The rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable. The drinks were replenished every day. Breakfast was delicious and fleshly made to suit your requirements. First class service

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikiRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed one night and booked room 16 as a treat for my wife's birthday

the hotel is well situated within easy walking distance of the main shopping area and conference centre, parking is on the road outside with a disc - so no problems

the room was large, warm and very clean with a very comfortable huge bed (comfortable pillows) and a separate seating area which proved useful and the WiFi worked well

In the well appointed bathroom (water drinkable from the tap so the notice goes) there were plastic cups instead of glasses which we've never come across in any B&B or hotel we've stayed in (especially a boutique one) - I would have hoped with the weekend rate for bottled water in the room

We ate our evening meal at BED which is only 7-10 minutes walk away opposite the conference centre and well worth a visit

The curtains behind the sofa didn't appear to meet when pulled together (or we couldn't manage to close them) - it wasn't a problem but in the summer with the light it may prove so

Breakfast was fine with reasonable choices - it took longer than hoped to order tea and coffee as other people who had arrived after us had their order taken before us - didn't bother us but may bother others - the only other hiccup was that one of the small jars of marmalade had already been part used (no way of telling when so just picked an unopened one from another table)

so minor hiccups/observations which didn't detract too much from our stay

Room Tip: pick the excellent deluxe rooms just not at the weekend rate if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avro10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraftonHarrogate, Manager at The Grafton, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review & delighted to hear your overall stay was very good. We would like to comment on some of the points you raised;

We will look in to the option to provide bottled water in the rooms; Due to some accidents with glass tumblers in the en-suite bathrooms we have opted for hygienically wrapped disposable plastic cups; In this room the windows have blinds with dress curtains, so not intended for curtains to fully close; We apologise the waitress didn't take your order first, this must have been an oversight; In future we'll double check our small jam jars to make sure none have been used.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here on a visit to Harrogate. It is well situated for all places of interest and shopping in Harrogate. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had in a lovely bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meboDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Your owners and hosts Monica and Mark will give you a warm welcome and show you to your modern room with very high quality fixtures and fittings. The bed and breakfast accommodation has the feel of a modern higher end 4* hotel. Far more character than your high street chain hotels though, highly recommended for business or leisure trips alike.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Grafton on a rainy sunday at the end of October. Not sure how long ago since the place was re-furbished but it was immaculate.

As it was our anniversary we splashed out on the ‘large suite’ which was lovely. Great big bed, sofa, flat screen TV...everything you’d expect from a multinational chain but in a modest B&B in the outskirts of the town centre.

We were greeted on our arrival in the room by wine and flowers (Id have to add that these were pre-booked at an additional cost but were very well chosen by our hosts)

We walked into Harrogate in the evening for a meal and found the hotel to be just the right distance to walk (about 10 minutes maximum to get into the centre)

Breakfast in the morning was exceptional. Well presented dining room, friendly waitress and delicious food.

My only slight criticism would be that our room, although definitely big enough to be described as a suite, I would not really describe as ‘large’ and made me wonder if the room just described as a ‘suite’ was just a double room with a smaller sofa. This did not detract from a fantastic stay though.

Room Tip: The 'large suite' is lovely and good value for money but not specifically that large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our room(31) was spotlessly clean & had a well appointed en-suite you could hold a party in.
The bed was sooo comfortable .
Lovely touches,nice toiletries & ample tea coffee etc.
The only downside was waiting 25 minutes to get a pot of tea at breakfast.With only one waitress trying to serve 18 diners,she still remained calm & polite
I would recommend this hotel & would definately visit again, 5 minutes walk from the centre it's in a freat spot

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulanerDewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grafton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grafton

Property: The Grafton
Address: 1-3 Franklin Mount, Harrogate HG1 5EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grafton 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grafton is one of Harrogate's most elegant boutique b&b's. Our chic townhouse setting is just a few minutes' walk from the town centre - close to Harrogate International Centre, restaurants and shops, but far enough away to offer peace and tranquility to our guests. With recently modernised rooms and a warm, friendly atmosphere, we provide the perfect blend of style and intimacy. Enjoy luxurious decor, flat-screen television and complimentary high speed wi-fi access - features designed to enhance your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Grafton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grafton Hotel Harrogate
The Grafton Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing